We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John S

This hotel feels like home away from home

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
Why did we stay at the Grandi by Center Hotel? Because we had stayed here before, loved it, and vowed to come back.

From its excellent location, to courteous helpful front desk staff, warm and inviting modern industrial chic lobby, terrific breakfast buffet, nice views from the 5th floor balcony rooms, and value, this is a hotel we hope to return to again.

Also, the brand new on-site spa is very nice.

This hotel is the perfect place to start and end each day of Icelandic adventure activities. The Grandi by Center just feels like a home away from home to us.

We recommend this hotel, and look forward to our next visit!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$477
  • Expedia.com
    AU$475
  • Agoda.com
    AU$344
  • Hotels.com
    AU$476
0.5 km from Grandi by Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$603
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$597
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$562
  • Hotels.com
    AU$597
0.8 km from Grandi by Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$383
  • Priceline
    AU$419
  • Agoda.com
    AU$358
  • Expedia.com
    AU$412
1.9 km from Grandi by Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$420
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$420
  • eDreams
    AU$392
  • travelup.com
    AU$506
0.2 km from Grandi by Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$494
  • Canopy by Hilton
    AU$495
  • Expedia.com
    AU$495
  • Hotels.com
    AU$495
1.2 km from Grandi by Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$403
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$396
  • Agoda.com
    AU$338
  • Official Site
    AU$363
3.7 km from Grandi by Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$492
  • Booking.com
    AU$492
  • Agoda.com
    AU$481
  • Hotels.com
    AU$492
1.3 km from Grandi by Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$478
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$478
  • Vio.com
    AU$427
  • Hotels.com
    AU$478
2.1 km from Grandi by Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$688
  • Hotels.com
    AU$748
  • Expedia.com
    AU$492
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$747
1.7 km from Grandi by Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
AU$384
  • Hotels.com
    AU$385
  • Hilton
    AU$385
  • Expedia.com
    AU$385
3.3 km from Grandi by Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
617
233
66
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
617
233
66
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews building work great hotel building site old harbour bus stop food hall reception staff nice breakfast minute walk northern lights harbour area perfect stay your luggage perfect location comfortable hotel blackout curtains beds were comfortable
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a clean, but very dated and basic hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was good and hot, but the dinner was overly salty and odd tasting. I'm guessing that they were not aware what it was supposed to taste like? That was our only meal in Iceland that wasn't good.
That's saying a lot, because I enjoy salty fare. The service was fine, but all of our dinner dishes were odd and didn't taste good to either of us.
We were too warm, even though the heat was off. I was only able to open the window by an inch, and it didn't do much to cool us off. That was so odd, as the weather was pretty chilly outside. Perhaps they had issues with people falling out a window at one time?
The shower was clean, the sheet and duvet clean, but we had twin beds that were not very comfy. They gave me extra pillows and a sheet when I called and asked for it.
There was a soap and a lotion dispenser by the sink that were pump bottles. That would have been fine, but I was unable to get the shower dispensers to work. I used my own products instead.
There was noisy construction going on all day outside our room, which could not have been helped I suppose. We were on the 2nd floor. The view was of debris and apartment buildings.
Restaurants and museums were all around and within walking distance.
Our cruise line booked this hotel as an extension, so I can't address the value.
I have no idea about the charges.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rivergoddess2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2024

WONDERFUL STAY. We just checked out after more than a week at Grandi. We travel a lot and have stayed in a great variety of hotels - some are exceptional, most are fine, and the rest are better just forgotten. Grandi is exceptional.

The Staff. Every member of the Grandi team was kind, efficient, and very good at what they did. The folks at the front desk were experienced professionals who kept the hotel humming and solved every problem quickly, like a late night alarm they sussed out and resolved in minutes. The kitchen staff were the best, doing the work of twice as many people. And the cleaning staff was very fast and kept our room and the hotel spotless.

The Rooms. The room had comfortable beds and linens, reasonable space for clothes, a handy mini-refrigerator, a small room safe, and a spacious desk made for a perfect space even in a standard room. The bathroom was efficiently sized with a partial glass wall enclosing the shower, and good quality shower wash and conditioner. Shower temperature and pressure were perfect. And the view from the 5th floor included Perlan and Hallgrímskirkja church.

The Hotel. Maintained very well and comfortable. Guests fill the lounge by the “fire” every evening and the bar service was excellent. Daily breakfast was excellent: cereals, skyr, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage and more, and the kitchen staff kept everything refreshed throughout breakfast hours. And the spa was amazing - hot tub, warm pool and sauna. This is a must get.

Our time in Iceland was made all the more special by this hotel and its staff. We can’t recommend Grandi and its wonderful team highly enough…!

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie232690
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mikaela Sesia, Guest Services / Front Office at Grandi by Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Julie,

Thank you so much for such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at Grandi by Center Hotels. We are truly delighted to hear that your experience with us was exceptional and that our staff, rooms, and facilities contributed to making your time in Iceland special.

Our team takes great pride in providing outstanding service, and it's wonderful to know that everyone made a positive impression on you. Your recommendation means the world to us, and we are grateful for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back to Grandi by Center Hotels the next time your travels bring you to Iceland.

Best Regards, Mikaela – Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2024

Stayed here on a 23 hour layover. Easy to walk to main attractions and restaurants. Would have been nice to have parking options on or closer to the hotel as it was raining upon our arrival and carrying our luggage down the street was not ideal. Friendly staff. Spa visit was great. Clean facilities with a minimalist design.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trailerparkgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mikaela Sesia, Guest Services / Front Office at Grandi by Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel conveniently located and that you enjoyed our friendly staff and spa facilities. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced regarding parking during your stay. As you noted, being centrally located in the city means that parking facilities can be limited. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an even more enjoyable experience.

Best Regards, Mikaela – Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2024

We had a wonderful stay at the Grandi.
Room was small, but very nice and clean!
Breakfast basic but very good! Coffee needs a little improvement.
Gym offers weights, treadmill and a indoor bike. I have not been to the spa!
Staff is very nice and accomodating!
Hotel is located near the habor and in walking distance to the "center".
Airport shuttle bus stop 3min from the hotel!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ww1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mikaela Sesia, Guest Services / Front Office at Grandi by Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your feedback regarding the coffee is duly noted, and we'll certainly look into ways to enhance this aspect of our service. Should your travels bring you back to our city, we would love to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay.

Best Regards, Mikaela – Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2024

This is just a lovely hotel. Very comfortable, very spacious room. We had a bathtub as well as shower which was an extra bonus! The breakfast was excellent and the spa was huge. Would be a five star review except the hotel restaurant had a very limited dinner menu - couldn’t find a thing on it to our taste. But the adjoining coffee shop served lunch as well as the usual coffee and pastries which was very convenient. It was a bit of a walk to downtown, but this hotel is convenient to Fly Over Iceland and a couple of other attractions. Excellent value for the price we paid!

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mikaela Sesia, Guest Services / Front Office at Grandi by Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Joanne,

Thank you for your kind review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the limited options on our dinner menu and any inconvenience this may have caused. Your feedback is valuable, and we will take it into consideration. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and providing an even better experience.

Best Regards, Mikaela – Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews