We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Walt M

Not Fair Value

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 June 2024
We booked this studio apartment in January for a visit in May. We paid 1200 canadian for 3 nights. The writeup said the location was mostly on the ground floor for convenience.
We were below ground floor and looked up through the window up to a parking lot.
We thought for 400 a night we would get a view of Reykjavik. Very disappointing. We talked with the reception team on the arrival day. They said they would try to move us.
For 400 a night you will find much better accomodation than Reykjavik Residence Hotel. Walt and Maria.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Noisy parking lot out our window. Did not expect a parking lot above our basement window
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$397
  • Expedia.com
    AU$512
  • Agoda.com
    AU$391
  • Hotels.com
    AU$512
1.0 km from Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$465
  • Hotels.com
    AU$551
  • Agoda.com
    AU$450
  • Expedia.com
    AU$551
0.7 km from Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$452
  • Expedia.com
    AU$491
  • Agoda.com
    AU$418
  • Hotels.com
    AU$491
0.3 km from Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$428
  • Expedia.com
    AU$484
  • Agoda.com
    AU$413
  • Hotels.com
    AU$483
0.6 km from Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$332
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$334
  • Hotels.com
    AU$334
  • Official Site
    AU$290
2.2 km from Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$440
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$440
  • Agoda.com
    AU$416
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$354
  • Expedia.com
    AU$384
  • Agoda.com
    AU$328
  • Hotels.com
    AU$384
1.7 km from Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$354
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$355
  • Official Hotel Site
    AU$337
  • Hotels.com
    AU$355
0.3 km from Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
AU$295
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$296
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$296
1.9 km from Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$337
  • Expedia.com
    AU$382
  • Agoda.com
    AU$305
  • Hotels.com
    AU$423
2.9 km from Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (2,932)
Filter reviews
2,933 results
Traveller rating
2,446
384
71
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,446
384
71
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast basket fresh bread superior studio complimentary milk corn flakes bedroom apartment every morning washer and dryer coffee machine small kitchen yogurt main building full kitchen perfect location bus stop hard boiled eggs the main shopping street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 2,933 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2024

This is a super place to stay in Reykjavik! We stayed in one of the studio apartments and it was roomy, comfortable, and quiet. The location is great - so easy to walk everywhere, including one of the public swimming pools. One of the best things about staying there is the breakfast. Each day, a basket of cheeses, fruits, and jam will be left in the room, and in the morning, the most delicious loaf of sourdough bread will be delivered for you to enjoy. The staff members we met were very friendly and helpful. We were so glad we 'stopped over' in Iceland, and we hope to visit again. We would definitely stay at the Residence Hotel again.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainwalker512
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2024 via mobile

Convenient locations for walking to everything. I stayed in a few different units and each were immaculate, well appointed and comfortable with everything you need. Very quiet too which was appreciated after long days of seeing the sites around Iceland’s south coast.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2024 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant! Better than any hotel, close to everything, clean, attention to detail and just a perfect stay. We booked a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment and it was spacious. They provided milk, juice, sugar, coffee pods, hot chocolate pods. The kitchen was stocked but we were not cooking so did not use it. Bathrobes and high end toiletries. In short one of the best stays I’ve had and I travel a lot and my husband had premium status in many hotels. I would stay here happily again and so should anyone looking for a comfortable and clean place.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Papad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2024

Terrific, spotless, nicely designed studio apartment with kitchen. Well stocked with microwave, induction stovetop, coffeemaker, coffee and hot chocolate pods, tea, olive oil, cornflakes, milk and apple juice in the fridge. Bed was comfy with nice sheets, duvets and pillows. Open closet with drawers and hangers aplenty and electrical outlets where you need them. Modern tiled bathroom with shower and shelves to put your stuff. Location can’t be beat. Walking distance to everything in town: bakeries, coffee shops, Bonus grocery store, bars, restaurants, shops, waterfront - even the Sundhollin pool/hot tub complex! And less than 5 minutes from Bus Stop #14 Skulagata used by the tour/transportation companies. The only drawback in my building Lindargata 11 was occasional noise from other occupants coming through the halls and walls. Thankfully earplugs are supplied!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gumbo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2024

We stayed in "The Tannery" building for 5 nights and found it super-convenient. The room was good with a small, fully featured kitchenette and eating area (enough for two people). The building is only a couple blocks off the main walking streets with restaurants, the cathedral, concert hall, ... As an added bonus the Port9 wine bar is literally right downstairs. Nice little place to unwind and, as it turns out, drink with senior civil servants in the Icelandic government.

Each day they would place a "breakfast basket" (fruit, hardboiled eggs, cheese, yogurt, ...) in your fridge (assuming you bought that option) and then by 0800 deliver a large amount of very good bread to your door. This turned out to be super convenient and very tasty. There's also a grocery store about 2 blocks away.

Some tips. This "hotel" is really a series of rooms in different buildings within a block or two of the main reception location. Not a big deal but surprised us. Finding "The Tannery" (as they called our building) was a challenge as it's behind another building and there's very little signage.

Parking is a nightmare. We were lucky to be there over the weekend and a holiday Monday (free street parking and perhaps fewer people). It's not overly expensive but understanding where you can/cannot park and finding a spot can be a challenge and a fair walk away, especially if you come back later in the evening. Just something to be aware of -- I don't think any other hotel in the area would be different.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews