We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza in Iceland!”
Review of Bazilika Reykjavik

Bazilika Reykjavik
Ranked #165 of 565 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: USD 6 - USD 25
Description: Feeling hungry? Stop by for great food for moderate prices. We offer you a pleasant experience accompanied by * excellent pizzas prepared in a traditional wood fired oven * excellent fish and chips made with fresh fish from the ocean * juicy burgers * our special meat and vegetarian dishes See you in Bazilika !!!
Restaurant details
Description: Feeling hungry? Stop by for great food for moderate prices. We offer you a pleasant experience accompanied by * excellent pizzas prepared in a traditional wood fired oven * excellent fish and chips made with fresh fish from the ocean * juicy burgers * our special meat and vegetarian dishes See you in Bazilika !!!
Reviewed 3 September 2018

On 3rd Aug, 2018, we were hesitant to go either to this place for pizzas or Shalimar for Indian food ( we already did that) located just opposite to this place! There was one name board in front of this place which said " Come in and try the worst pizza that one guy on Tripadvisor ever had in his life" ! ( I have the photo of that board, but dont know how to post a photo here!)

So, that was really pulling us to this place! When we went around 2 pm, it was fully crowded. We ordered one Vegetarian 16 inch pizza! It was very delicious!

So, we walked out with a determination to post in Tripadvisor, that we ate a very delicious pizza in Iceland!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Qwelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caglar C, Manager at Bazilika Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Qwelt,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review.

We are happy to hear that you liked the pizza unlike that "ONE GUY ON TRIPADVISOR" :)
We don't like that one guy. We like you, you rock!!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

I visited this restaurant after reading the comments and they are right: The pizza is the best one I have eaten in Iceland. The prices are not cheap, either but I think it is the main problem of Iceland. It is not sustainable, the goverment should find a solution to this. And also nice and kind stuff.

Thank Mete O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caglar C, Manager at Bazilika Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Mete,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy to hear that you liked our pizza.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

The pizza was good and very similar to a brick oven style. My husband order a burger which was small and unappetizing, extremely disappointing since it was close the $25. It was literally slight bigger than a McDonalds patty so I would not recommend a burger. A lot of people seemed to also order the fish and chips but my daughter thought that the batter on the fish was just a little too thick. Overall, I would say stick with the pizza and you will have a good meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travelmadchen487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caglar C, Manager at Bazilika Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear travelmadchen487,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Our pizza is not similar to brick oven style, it IS baked in the brick oven :)
We are happy to hear that you liked it.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

I had salad and pizza both very nice. Bit pricey but pizza is very nice Italian oven style which I really like! Salad was refreshing! Chef reccomend fish and chips-they looked good too.

Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caglar C, Manager at Bazilika Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Joe,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy to hear that you liked the pizza and the salad. Please try the fish next time :)

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Our hotel was across the street from the restaurant in the center area of Reykjavik. We were hungry and tired from our trip, so we decided to try it. The restaurant is small and quaint. It was busy, but we were seated quickly. The fish and chips were absolutely delicious. The fish is so fresh and is so much better than any fish and chips you can get in the States. The pizza we had was also delicious. For those of us in our party who did not drink beer, we were offered Appelsin, an Icelandic orange soft drink. It became our favorite thirst quencher.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caglar C, Manager at Bazilika Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Martha,

Thank you for your great review.

We are very glad to hear that you liked the fish and chips. You are correct, our fish is daily fresh from the ocean :)

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bazilika Reykjavik also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Bazilika Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing