We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Odyssey239282

Great location!

Review of Exeter Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 June 2024
We loved this cool boutique hotel near the waterfront. Excellent location in walking distance to lots of good restaurants including a top steakhouse and authentic seafood places. The front desk was helpful and the included breakfast was extensive. There's also a bakery open in the morning and a bar/lounge on site as well. Our only complaint was the size of the room which was a bit cramped. It's almost an hour from the airport and the driver they arranged for us never showed up, which cost us $190 in cab fare, so we recommend make arrangements elsewhere.
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Óskar Vignisson, General Manager at Exeter Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed our boutique hotel near the waterfront and found the location convenient for dining. We apologize for the inconvenience with the airport transfer, which we will address internally. We hope to welcome you back for a more seamless experience in the future.

Kind regards,
Óskar
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$509
  • Hotels.com
    AU$603
  • Vio.com
    AU$453
  • Expedia.com
    AU$602
0.5 km from Exeter Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$494
  • Expedia.com
    AU$619
  • Hotels.com
    AU$619
  • Agoda.com
    AU$495
1.0 km from Exeter Hotel
Free Wifi
AU$293
  • Hotels.com
    AU$319
  • Vio.com
    AU$272
  • Expedia.com
    AU$318
1.3 km from Exeter Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$331
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    AU$288
  • Destinia.com
    AU$285
  • Priceline
    AU$331
3.2 km from Exeter Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$372
  • Expedia.com
    AU$406
  • Agoda.com
    AU$346
  • Hotels.com
    AU$407
1.9 km from Exeter Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$296
  • Expedia.com
    AU$329
  • Agoda.com
    AU$253
  • Official Hotel Site
    AU$292
2.7 km from Exeter Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$370
  • Expedia.com
    AU$423
  • Vio.com
    AU$304
  • Hotels.com
    AU$424
1.6 km from Exeter Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$379
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$380
  • Vio.com
    AU$323
  • Hotels.com
    AU$380
1.7 km from Exeter Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$359
  • Priceline
    AU$359
  • Hotels.com
    AU$361
  • Expedia.com
    AU$361
2.9 km from Exeter Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$251
  • Expedia.com
    AU$269
  • Vio.com
    AU$221
  • Hotels.com
    AU$269
3.9 km from Exeter Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
626
181
30
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
626
181
30
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews industrial style bakery downstairs industrial feel great location old harbour cool hotel nespresso machine excellent hotel bread recommend this hotel great shower a great stay underfloor heating comfortable stay breakfast was delicious easy access blackout curtains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 852 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2024 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night after landing in Reykjavik.
Great location
Beautiful design (dark, moody vibe; relaxing)
Bathroom floor is heated
Shower pressure is good
Bath products were great/local
Heated towel rack
Juliet balcony with door that opened (slept with it open too)
Quiet rooms
Adjustable radiator
Super comfortable beds
Washcloths provided
Hairdryer provided
Fan in room (and quiet enough to sleep with it on)
Nespresso machine and electric kettle in room
Heavy blackout drapes worked great
Good location on the edge of downtown and near the harbor
Coffee shop, bar, and restaurant in the same building

Notes:
Street parking may or may not be available; we parked in the free lot about a 5 min walk away (they do have a small loading/unloading space in front of the hotel)
Rooms are small

Room tip: Parking might be an issue; we opted to unload luggage and park for free at a lot about 5 min walk away.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank samptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2024

everything super clean, the bakery is nice, reception staff is really kind. it was a good start into our holidays. we would come back anytime

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2024 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located within walking distance to the centre and activities. We stayed here for four nights as a couple. Check-in was quick and smooth.
Our room had a view over looking the harbour on the front. The room was lovely, very modern, it didn't have much storage, but that didn't put us off as we hardly spent any time in the room due to all the exploring and day trips we had booked. The shower was great, and the room also had underfloor heating. The beds were very comfortable.
Breakfast was served in the le kock restaurant, which we found okay. This turned into a bar/fast food restaurant on an evening. It was always busy, and we had some great cocktails and snacks on an evening. We ate once when we were in a bit of a rush coming back from the golden circle tour and only had less than an hour before we needed to get to our next tour of the northern lights, we explianed to the staff and they had hour oder out within no time.
There is also a little bakery that does some delicious bagels during the day.
The hotel staff were lovley and very informative in helping us find our way around the town.
I would highly recommend staying at the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2024

Very stylish hotel with a great bakery. Rooms were a bit darkly lit but I think that was part of the vibe. Spacious room with great bathroom products. Lovely sauna too.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank h3tgt28qow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2024

Enjoyed our stay at the Exeter (6 nights). We had a lovely room overlooking the beautiful and busy harbor. The hotel is close to most items on the tourist hit list for Reykjavik, has good restaurants nearby, the staff was helpful and courteous (we relied on their expertise to plan an afternoon at Sky Lagoon), and I had one of the best martinis ever at the hopping hotel bar. The room itself was clean and comfy, the bed and linens were high quality, and the decor was spare industrial-chic. As with most European hotels, the room was small, and that wasn't itself a problem. However, the lack of storage space made using the small room awkward. There is an open closet to hang a few things, but that's it. With two of us in the room, we had to stumble over each other's suitcases, dirty laundry bags, etc. Still, we managed but it would have been a more perfect stay if the room had a few drawers or shelves or a small armoire (there was space in-room for such) to store clothes and someplace to stow bags. Pack light!

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Batalina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews