We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Local Seafood”

Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market
Ranked #9 of 575 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 16
Cuisines: Sushi, Scandinavian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Miõborg
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great ambiance, service and food. The presentation of the food is awesome. The smoke puffin appetizer is delicious and the fresh fish is a can't miss. For a couple expect to pay $100-150 USD.

***Let me preface the service across the board in Iceland. Don't expect non stop attentive service. Tips are not given in Iceland and the service depicts that. It is not a knock on the restaurant and the servers were extremely friendly, they just don't hover around your table like they may in the US. ***

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TBLJTiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 197 of 3,303 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Everything was so tasty! starting from the bread with dryfruits and butter, the amazing lobster soup, saumon and incredible cheese cake! The setting was also super cool and trendy and the service excellent. A place to go back to for sure!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Desh1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Fish Market restaurant.
The service is friendly and efficient and the food was wonderful, it is hard to find fault here.
Possibly my only criticism would be that the tables for 2 were too close together. At least in the downstairs section where we were.
If you are searching Reykjavík for somewhere a little special to eat , this is the place.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Suzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I were visiting Reykjavík and wanted a really nice meal, and the Fish Mrkt was a great choice. The sashimi starter was perfect to share for two and super fresh and well presented. The mains were perfectly cooked - my Ling was just right and the combination of flavors and overall presentation was top notch. The staff were attentive, discreet and well informed. Not cheap, but what is in Iceland ? So it was a fair price in the end.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank SeanJWestcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had the tasting menu and it was amazing. Highly recommend it!
The service was excellent!
This place is great for a romantic dinner.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heidaoskg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing