We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 331
USD 279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 420
USD 396
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 330
USD 307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 301
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 194
USD 189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
USD 243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 342
USD 333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
9
40
20
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
40
20
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskyrthe ownerrecommend staying hereprivate bathroomfirst floorlocation is greatguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The owner was cordial and the accommodation was simple and that fitted the purpose of spending the night. Accordingly, breakfast was basic but tasty to provide energy for the next day of sightseeing. Location is good but maybe a sign pointing the guesthouse would be useful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Olenellus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Tiny room. I have ask for a double bed at the reservation and i get two single put together. Lot of water noises in the room.

Superlarket ham, cheese at the breakfast. We could expect some smoked salmon or more home made products. Some room doors are even in the breakfast area.

For 270€ the night even for Iceland this is not acceptable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank OuiOuiPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Location is great in the middle of town. Very convenient to restaurants and to visit sights in the area. You are requested to remove your shoes at the front door. There is a downstairs area where tea and coffee are available to make yourself. Breakfasts are not served, but you can take a very short walk to the Hafnarbuðin diner where you may buy a great breakfast. I stayed in room #3 upstairs. The room is small with no desk, and very little room for luggage. The room did have some cleanliness issues (see my photos) The window provides no view worth mentioning. The wifi access was excellent. The water closet was fine, but with no ventilation unless the sliding door is kept open and the room window is also opened. The shower water was hot and with very good pressure. The owner may want to consider angling the curtain rod into the corner instead of how it is currently positioned as the curtain would constantly stick to your body while showering. I was woken at 05:30 on a Saturday morning to the neighboring house blasting dance music. Hopefully, this this doesn't occur often. There is a television available in the room, but most channels are not available. This isn't really a feature.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Blushift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

My group reserved a family room for a one night stay. While the family room was not available, they did provide us with two rooms free of charge. Both rooms were nicely furnished and relatively clean. One issue was that there profile on booking.com advertised a free breakfast. When we arrived, we found out that the meal was no longer available. There was a kitchen area with free coffee and tea, but it did lack trash and recycling containers.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend booked this guesthouse for one night and we were glad to be gone!
When we arrived there was no one there, only a buzzer on the wall which we had to call to speak to someone. There was also a sign saying breakfast inc, which we thought was great! The lady who owns it didn't pick up the first time we rang, so we rang for a second time and she said I'll be a minute....! So we waited and around 10 mins later she arrived in her car (so obviously doesn't live on site). Another couple got there before us so she showed them in first, and when we went in there was no hello or welcome to Hofn, just "how would you like to pay"..... now I'm not being funny but that to me is rude! She didn't even show us to our room, just said it's up the stairs! So to be honest first impressions weren't good! I asked about the breakfast and she just replied that there was no breakfast included.... so I questioned the sign and just said "oh yeah it's old and needs to be changed" well duh! That's false advertising! We proceeded to go up to our room (which FYI the stairs are narrow and spiralling so hard to lug a heavy suitcase up), we walked in the room and thought the room lovely and we had our own bathroom which was also lovely! No issues there! We then went to the local supermarket and bought food to cook that night to only find when we got back there was no cooking facilities! Grr! Anyway the beds were comfy and spacious and when we woke up in the morning we went downstairs to have a hot drink (she informed us there would be stuff to make hot drinks) to only find no milk, no coffee, a few lumps of sugar no washing up liquid and to top it all off someone took some of our food which we had placed in a bag in the fridge the night before. This obviously wasn't the owners fault but that was just the icing on the cake! The strange thing is a man came out of his room and walked away somewhere else in the guesthouse and when he came back he had cooked eggs in toast..... where in earth he managed to cook that I don't know (was going to ask him but he was grumpy with us before so decided not to).
All in all this was a poor excuse for a guesthouse and really wouldn't recommend staying here! NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews