We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 396
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 194
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
9
40
20
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
40
20
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskyrthe ownerrecommend staying hereprivate bathroomfirst floorlocation is greatguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

My group reserved a family room for a one night stay. While the family room was not available, they did provide us with two rooms free of charge. Both rooms were nicely furnished and relatively clean. One issue was that there profile on booking.com advertised a free breakfast. When we arrived, we found out that the meal was no longer available. There was a kitchen area with free coffee and tea, but it did lack trash and recycling containers.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend booked this guesthouse for one night and we were glad to be gone!
When we arrived there was no one there, only a buzzer on the wall which we had to call to speak to someone. There was also a sign saying breakfast inc, which we thought was great! The lady who owns it didn't pick up the first time we rang, so we rang for a second time and she said I'll be a minute....! So we waited and around 10 mins later she arrived in her car (so obviously doesn't live on site). Another couple got there before us so she showed them in first, and when we went in there was no hello or welcome to Hofn, just "how would you like to pay"..... now I'm not being funny but that to me is rude! She didn't even show us to our room, just said it's up the stairs! So to be honest first impressions weren't good! I asked about the breakfast and she just replied that there was no breakfast included.... so I questioned the sign and just said "oh yeah it's old and needs to be changed" well duh! That's false advertising! We proceeded to go up to our room (which FYI the stairs are narrow and spiralling so hard to lug a heavy suitcase up), we walked in the room and thought the room lovely and we had our own bathroom which was also lovely! No issues there! We then went to the local supermarket and bought food to cook that night to only find when we got back there was no cooking facilities! Grr! Anyway the beds were comfy and spacious and when we woke up in the morning we went downstairs to have a hot drink (she informed us there would be stuff to make hot drinks) to only find no milk, no coffee, a few lumps of sugar no washing up liquid and to top it all off someone took some of our food which we had placed in a bag in the fridge the night before. This obviously wasn't the owners fault but that was just the icing on the cake! The strange thing is a man came out of his room and walked away somewhere else in the guesthouse and when he came back he had cooked eggs in toast..... where in earth he managed to cook that I don't know (was going to ask him but he was grumpy with us before so decided not to).
All in all this was a poor excuse for a guesthouse and really wouldn't recommend staying here! NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We were doing a Ring Rd. trip and winging it much of the time but always trying to stay in guesthouses. Out of all the guesthouses around the country in this price range this was the most disappointing. The room was sparce, tight, slightly worn, but clean. House setup made for noise when folks were out and about. Only saving grace was ability to walk around town from here. Proprietor was very kind as well.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank flaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Nyibaer Guesthouse shares a parking lot with Humarhofnin, a very expensive restaurant that serves delicious langostines. With the money you'll save by staying in this clean, friendly guesthouse, you can afford to eat there or at one of the other restaurants nearby that the proprietor recommends. Nyibaer can accommodate 22 guests. There are 5 rooms upstairs which share a nice large bathroom. The stairway is steep and narrow so ask for a first floor room if that will be an issue. The first floor has 2 rooms with private bathrooms and then 2 rooms that share a common bathroom that is partitioned off with 2 toilet and 2 shower stalls. 2 sinks are alongside the wall when you first walk in. It's cozy but doable. A continental breakfast was included, which wasn't indicated when I booked the rooms. That was a nice surprise!

Stayed: September 2016
Thank AdvTravlr54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable. The wifi is quick and reliable and there was also a tv in the room, not that we used it. Breakfast was good but similar to most guesthouses you'll stay in. The toilets are a bit unusual as there are unisex cubicles in the same room as the shower cubicles. They were clean and tidy though but it's worth mentioning. The host was very friendly and welcoming and gave us information on places to eat.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank besty0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews