We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip on Iceland”
Review of Guesthouse Dyngja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guesthouse Dyngja
Ranked #3 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Tour around the most beautiful country in europe
15 days by car travelling step by step along the beauties of the Earth
From Reykjavik to the West Fiords, and than Akuriery, Myvatn Lake, East Coast, Glacier Lagoon

Room Tip: Bed and Breackfast
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Dyngja
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Great location right across the street from Marina with several restaurant options right there. We had a very nice, spacious room in the downstairs with a patio out back. There was a mini fridge in the room that contained food for breakfast and lunch to take with us! Highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bethany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Disappointed, the room was big but without any spirit, the breakfast was so little, all was organized to avoid us, we were put on the side, and had our breakfast, not a slice bread or ham no much, all was counted!
Not nice! without love!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank malikavvvvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This is a nice guesthouse right next to the bay in Hofn. The owners are also commercial fishermen who provide fresh sea food to local restaurants and the big fishing boat is within view of the guesthouse. In addition to the room they provided us with fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese and cold cuts enough for a nice breakfast in the room and to make a light lunch. It was a pleasure meeting the owners and learning about the best restaurants and about the the local fishery. We would stay here again and recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: Big bright bathroom and studio apartment on the lower level. Very relaxing and lots of free parking...
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ernest M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The room was clean and the place was quiet. We slept well, although darker blackout curtains would be helpful. Potential guests should understand clearly that the bathrooms are shared (in our case, three guest rooms had to share one bathroom). The breakfast was so-so, and had the least food and variety of the four places we stayed in Iceland. There was little help or awareness of gluten-free needs, so my wife made do with what we had brought. The owner who checked us in was professional and courteous, although not particularly warm. It's a home business and she was businesslike. Based on costs in Iceland, it was reasonable value and it met the most basic requirement of a good place to stay - a good night's sleep in a clean, comfortable, safe place. Would I recommend it to friends? Yes, probably, while making it clear that one must share bathrooms and the breakfast is so-so.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #2, which probably was among the better rooms - close to the bathroom, but quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parabopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hofn hotels
12.1 km away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
0.9 km away
Hotel Hofn
Hotel Hofn
#3 of 4 in Hofn
506 reviews
5.9 km away
Arnanes Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.4 km away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
322 reviews
6.2 km away
Seljavellir Guesthouse
1.5 km away
Milk Factory
Milk Factory
#1 of 19 in Hofn
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Dyngja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Dyngja

Address: Hafnarbraut 1, Hofn 780, Iceland
Region: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range: $119 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Dyngja 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Guesthouse located right by the harbor in Höfn, a fishing village on the south eastern coast of Iceland. Höfn is at the roots of Vatnajökill, the largest glacier in Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse Dyngja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing