We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room at competitive price; OK place to stay”
Review of Guesthouse Dyngja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guesthouse Dyngja
Ranked #3 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The room was clean and the place was quiet. We slept well, although darker blackout curtains would be helpful. Potential guests should understand clearly that the bathrooms are shared (in our case, three guest rooms had to share one bathroom). The breakfast was so-so, and had the least food and variety of the four places we stayed in Iceland. There was little help or awareness of gluten-free needs, so my wife made do with what we had brought. The owner who checked us in was professional and courteous, although not particularly warm. It's a home business and she was businesslike. Based on costs in Iceland, it was reasonable value and it met the most basic requirement of a good place to stay - a good night's sleep in a clean, comfortable, safe place. Would I recommend it to friends? Yes, probably, while making it clear that one must share bathrooms and the breakfast is so-so.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #2, which probably was among the better rooms - close to the bathroom, but quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parabopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Dyngja
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

This place is well maintained and hosted by friendly people. The location is excellent with a number of restaurants to choose from and right next to a picturesque harbor. There were a plenty of parking spots behind the building,

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank radk745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Such a lovely house, with a good kitchen And shared bathrooms. Great views over the harbour. The owner is a great guy, also a motobike lover, so we had a connection there! Everything was really super!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank franca620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Awesome wee place with dedicated and caring owners. The room was modern and clean as was the place in general. The restaurant recommendation was top notch and I loved the record player in the communal area. Iceland is way overpriced but at least this place had the quality to lessen that sting slightly unlike many of the other hostels we stayed at!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We did not have the pleasure of staying at Guesthouse Dyngja. We arrived around 9 PM and the door was locked. We did not see any info about hours for check-in in our booking confirmation. We called the phone number provided at booking and could not be connected. We sent a message through our booking site, but did not hear back. We were lucky to have found a hotel nearby that had last-minute cancellations.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deirdre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hofn hotels
12.1 km away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
0.9 km away
Hotel Hofn
Hotel Hofn
#3 of 4 in Hofn
506 reviews
5.9 km away
Arnanes Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.4 km away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
319 reviews
6.2 km away
Seljavellir Guesthouse
1.5 km away
Milk Factory
Milk Factory
#1 of 19 in Hofn
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Dyngja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Dyngja

Address: Hafnarbraut 1, Hofn 780, Iceland
Region: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range: $119 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Dyngja 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Guesthouse located right by the harbor in Höfn, a fishing village on the south eastern coast of Iceland. Höfn is at the roots of Vatnajökill, the largest glacier in Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse Dyngja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing