We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cottage in Akureyi”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Akureyri, Northeast Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Artus17
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice cottage in Akureyi”
Reviewed 26 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The cottage is quite spacious and offers everything you would expect.
What I really missed was more space to put things like books, computer etc, for example an extra shelf in the living room.
The weather was very nice during our stay, but out of two chairs on the terrace one was broken-we we’re three people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Thank you for your review and your tips, we will take care of these problems :)
Best regards
Benedikt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara S
2 reviews
“Cozy Cottage”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Viking Cottage. The cottage was well stocked with a beautiful view. It was nice to do some laundry during our stay. It was near to Husivik where we were able to go whale watching. I highly recommend staying at this cozy cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review Tara, really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuffty998
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We find Iceland a little challenging for us on three counts...mobility issues, vegetarian and acute shellfish allegy. However we love the country so much this is our sixth visit in 8yrs. So with a little care all three issues are very managable.
We choose ground floor, self catering accomodation where ever possible this covers all our needs. Viking cottages ticked all the boxes for our four night stay in the wonderful Akureyri where the stop lights on traffic signals are heart shaped.
Our cottage was all on one floor and has a good amount of space for 2 adults.We were glad to find out it was well equipped including a much needed washing machine However by far the best attribute to our cottage was the view over to Akureyri especially at night time.
Regarding the disability access - the step up from ground to patio is far too high it could prosper from an interim step making it ground,step, patio.
We had a problem accessing the TV it just kept showing no data found. We were invited to get in contact if we had any problems with the cottage but we chose to go without the TV it wasn't important enough to us to follow it through...but it might be to the next occupant .
We enjoyed our four days with Viking Cottages and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2018
Glad to hear you enjoyed your house and the view :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllyR82
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We were lucky enough to stay at Viking Cottages and Apartments for 3 nights recently. Absolutely loved it, it was perfect! Everything we needed, superbly finished with everything good quality. Hot tub fantastic and easy to use. Beautiful views over the water to Akureyri. Cosy cosy cosy! Only down side was having to leave!! We wish we owned apartment 15C! We will be booking again! Ideally you need a car for this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2018
Thank you for your kind review, look forward hosting you again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaLZ
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A cozy cabin with a fantastic view over mountains and Fjord”
Reviewed 9 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had the cabin for one week ca end of November. One week before our arrivals, Iceland just had gone through a huge snow storm. The whole landscape was just amazing.

The cabin is on a hillside with a fantastic view over Akureyri, mountains and Fjord. It was easy to find; and the access to house was also exactly the same as described. The night view over Akureyri was very nice, same as seeing polar sun got up every morning. Everywhere is clean in house, WIFI was fast and kitchen was well equipped. We did not use washing machine nor hot tub. However, it’s always handy to know they are available.

The communication with the owner was very efficient. All questions will be answered immediately. We saw northern lights and took a couple of pictures. It was magical.

We can recommend the cabin anytime!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2017
Thank you for your kind review Pamela, welcome back anytime :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing