We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay at Hamragil”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Akureyri, Northeast Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bartv1440
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Hamragil”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had an amazing time at Hamragil. The cottage was perfect for our group and we enjoyed the hot tub very much.
A very special thank you to Jon for his quick replies, occasional weather forecasts and being such a nice guy in general!
If you want to go to Northern Iceland then Hamragil is the place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2018
Many thanks for this very nice review on Hamragil. I myself just don't like to be honoured so much, it's just my job, what I'm doing. Like it says in the good ol' book: treat the others like you would self like to be treated:-).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heikowuen...
Claussnitz, Germany
1 review
“Excellent house!”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We booked Hamragil for our first week in Iceland to discover the northern area. The house is located in a perfectly nice landscape. If you like it lonesome and silent with great nature, this is your place. The house is big, with plenty of space, very well equipped, nice and clean. And the hot tub is simply awesome!
The contact with the owner was very nice, friendly and helpful.
We would not hesitate to book it again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Thank you for this review, which actually says everything I would have wished to hear or see:-),
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnAir6900...
1 review
“Anytime again!”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We, a family of five, spent twelve great days in the Hamragil cottage. The cottage is very spacious and suits perfectly for bigger families, or even small groups. With all its appliances and amenities it is very well equipped, incl. internet access! Sufficient closet space is available in all rooms as well as there were sufficient towels and bed linen.
The cottage’s location on the foot of the mountains, between the birch trees and close to the creek is really picturesque, the surrounding mountains are creating beautiful views on each time of the day. The main road #1 is close by; however, this isn't a disadvantage. As there is a little hill between the cottage and the road, cars are not visible and almost not audible, any remaining noises are drowned by the creek. The unpaved access road to the cottage is partly steep but in a good condition, only under winter conditions I believe a 4WD car is a must. The three cottages in the neighbourhood are out of sight, no disturbances from there.
The geothermal hot tub looks new, is neat and clean and works perfectly; filling or draining is just by a simple button operation indoors. The water temperature cannot be adjusted but is set to a comfortable value. Compared to other locations in Iceland, the typical smell of the potable water seems less intensive in this cottage, is actually negligible.
The cottage was clean, there was no overdue maintenance and the surrounding yard was neat and tidy too.
The owner is very helpful and friendly as well as swiftly responding; potential issues (if any) are tackled immediately. We really had the feeling to be warmly welcomed here, which was not only because of the Prosecco on arrival. The provided cottage information package includes directions and is useful.
The cottage’s location is ideal for day trips to the Akureyri fjord, to the Myvatn area with its numerous natural attractions as well as to the coastline near Husavik.
Anytime again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
What can I say but thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnooky5...
Wales, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful home away from home”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Hamragil for 4 nights during our Iceland adventure. Jon was very helpful in answering a myriad of questions from me and the directions couldn't have made it any easier to find the house. The house is equipped with everything you could possibly need – which was perfect since we made most of our meals while we were there. Relaxing in the hotpot, enjoying the solitude and incredible scenery, created the perfect end to each day. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, solitude, views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you. In our attempt to offer quality, both reg the houses and our service, such a response has been our aim all the time, Very pleasant to hear it's working out!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location, excellent property”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Spacious, comfortable, well-equipped property in a wonderful location. The owner was extremely helpful and everything we needed was in place. It is very well situated for trips to Myvatn, Husavik and Akureyri, but also a lovely place to be in its own right if a rest is what you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and space in the living area
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Many thanks for your review. I'm happy to see that you recognize what we've been trying to do by selecting and outfitting of our houses: to make these also just comfortable to stay in and enjoy at the days when you're doing nothing:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing