We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely beautiful and peaceful!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room, the sofa can be changed into a double sofa bed Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Living room, the sofa can be changed into a double sofa bed
Dining area
Living room
Kitchen
Large bedroom
Northen lights at Kalastaðir
Large bedroom
Bathroom
Bahroom
Smaller bedroom
Welcome - we are open for business
The cottage - view from the sea
Northen lights at Kalastaðir
Northen lights at Kalastaðir
Northen lights at Kalastaðir
There are 3 cottages on site
Kalastaðir
Northen lights at Kalastaðir
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Akranes, West Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Sw-Har
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful and peaceful!”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the larger cottage for just under 2 weeks. It is soooo warm and cosy and the view is amazing. It is very peaceful. We walked down to the beach and saw seals. We also travelled to Thingvellir, Geysir and Gulfoss which you can easily do in a day from the cottage (although we loved Thingvellir so much we went back another day too).
The hot tub is wonderful, very relaxing.
It was also reassuring to know that Brynja is not far away if needed but at the same time left us to enjoy the peaceful beauty.
You definitely need a car to get here, but the roads were very clear most of the time. There is a website to check the roads first before setting off for the day.
We would definitely recommend Kalastadir!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Dear Amelia

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again at Kalastaðir :-) You are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M
Bishop, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy getaway offers unparalleled calm and quiet”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking to get away from it all, the crowds, the traffic, this is the place to go! Although only 45 minutes outside of Reykjavik when you go outside and wander down to the short of the bay the only thing you can hear is - nothing- except for the wildlife (birds, which have an interesting non-chirping call). Very peaceful and relaxing. The cabin itself is also wonderful. The first thing that you note, at least in the winter when we were there, is how thoroughly and completely warm it is inside. We learned that free hot water abounds all over Iceland and in this cabin it is used for radiant floor heating throughout. No drafts, hot cold spots, just complete absolutely blanketing warmth.
We stayed in Cabin #3 which is said to accommodate up to 8... while that is true it would probably not be fun. It was just the two of us and it was quite roomy. There was another room we did not use, so 4 would be no problem at all. There are two couches with fold out beds (we did not try them) so I think that is how they get up to another 4. Anyway, the cabin easily accommodates 4, 6 would be ok but I suspect 8 would be doable but you'd probably get on each others nerves.
Another great feature was the huge hot tub (or 'hot pot" as translated there) outside. Owing to all the free hot water you simply turn a valve and fill it up with fresh hot water with each use (i.e. you don't have to heat a big cold tub up). Just make sure the dial says somewhere between 30-40 C otherwise if over 60 you can't physically get in and will have to wait for it to cool or drain and start over. When done, you just drain it all out. No waste, hot water is like air there! It does take about 30-40 minutes to fully fill it up though. This was like our own personal Blue Lagoon, temps were just below freezing while there but we could hop right in the super heated water.
Location is good as well, only about 20 minutes from Akranes where there is a grocery that we stocked up our first day and easy access to the top half of the Golden Circle.
Just a note, when we arrived it was a bit confusing where to go to "check in" - there is a house at the end of the driveway with a window facing out that looks like a service window... but that's not the owner's house, there is a sign a bit further down the drive that points to the left, but to what it is pointing you can't really tell at first, just drive down there to what looks like a residential home (which it is) and that is the owner's home.
All in all we had a wonderful time in Iceland and at this cabin and look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the unlimited heat and hot water
Liked least: minimal storage space for clothing if one plans to completely unpack luggage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Dear Greg

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at Kalastaðir :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee S
South Boston, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cottage on the fjord”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Very nice place and the owners were very helpful if we needed anything. The tunnel to get there is 1000 Kronos or 8$. If you do not want to pay or go through the tunnel You could go around the fjord but it is much longer. but if the weather is good and roads are not snowy or icy it is a beautiful drive the long way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seethewor...
England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A stunning cottage, for the holiday of a lifetime”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had the most amazing time staying at this cottage, views were stunning cottage was gorgeous and well heated! A fantastic place to view the northern lights (no light pollution) and owner was more than helpful. Good advice to grocery shop first. Fantastic private beech and awesome hotpot on balcony. I couldn't recommend this place enough. If your going to Iceland definitely hire a car and DIY your day trips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the remote beauty
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
1 review
“Only Place To Stay Near Reykjavik”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed here for a couple of days with the missus and loved it. I always pictured myself staying in a remote cottage in a place like Iceland and staying here was perfect. Only a short drive from the city and easily accessible. The owner was extremely helpful the entire stay, especially when we were stuck for car hire. She also stayed up to stupid hours of the night until we arrived safely, Sorry Brynjar :) All in all I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay away from the city with amazing views everywhere you look which are awesome to be experienced whilst relaxing in the hot tub.

*Tips*
You will 100% need a car to get here, however the roads are great and well marked, no risk in commuting to the property. This is a self sustained cottage, Bring your own food like we did not.
Have Fun :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: There was nothing I did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing