We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
373
141
45
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
141
45
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubnorthern lightsgolden circlevilla romancewake up callthe main hotellambgreat viewsitting areabreakfast and dinnerunderfloor heatingself cateringblue lagoonsandwichdining roomenjoy the viewsplit level
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location was remote but more than made up for with the beautiful views.

We stayed at the actual hotel not one of the villas. The layout was handy having a little sitting area. The bed was one of the comfiest I’ve stayed on in a hotel as they had a memory foam topper I genuinely struggled to get out of it each morning as it was so nice. The only criticism of the room is it was a tad out dated and the handle rail leading up to the bed in the second floor was a bit noisy, sometimes you could hear the room next doors handle rail vibrating which was a bit annoying.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had one night in the restaurant, the food was tasty just a little expensive. We opted for bed and breakfast, some of the bits of hot food were a little cold. But there was plenty of bread and cheeses.

Overall lovely staff and good price.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

My family stayed in one of the villas at hotel glymur over Christmas and had an absolutely wonderful time! The villa is very well equipped. Two double rooms with en-suite. We also had an extra bed put into the living area which I believe was very comfortable. As it was winter, the colours were amazing and sitting in the hot tub looking up to the dark skies was wonderful. We had an Icelandic Christmas meal in the evening for £50 for 3 courses which is actually very reasonable for Icelandic prices. Wine and food is very expensive so a top tip is to buy your wines at the airport on arrival - tax free starting at approx £8 per bottle. The kitchen is well equipped for simple self catering and the whole place was very clean and cozy with it’s underfloor heating.

I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Aly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We recently stayed at this quirky hotel and we were most pleasantly surprised.

The rooms are a bit strange layed out, but we heard that this used to be a school and maybe that has something to do with is.

We were there for the Christmas buffet which was wonderful. So much variety of food and all of it extremely good. Service was impeccable as well.

But the next day we were totally blown away by the great breakfast buffet. Everything you could think of was beautifully served.

We will definitely recommend this place to our friends and family members.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Guide809432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Loved our time here. First trip to Iceland and really did not know what to expect. Hotel is a good drive from the airport (almost 2 hours from Keflavik airport and an hour and 20 mins from Reykjavik). The drive is spectacular, so it really was not an issue for us (take the long way around the fjord instead of going through the tunnel -- you'll save $10 and the scenery is just beautiful). We arrived super early as our flight landed around 4:30 AM. Check in was 3 PM and our room was not ready but we were invited to have breakfast (at no additional charge) and relax in the hotel lounge. Room was ready by 11:30 AM - super early and very appreciated. Breakfast was included in the room charge and it is delicious -- eggs, bacon, fresh baked bread, cold cuts and cheese, pastries, varieties of yoghurt, cereals, fresh fruit, salmon, pate and crudite. You are a long way from anywhere and Iceland is EXPENSIVE so eat the breakfast! Room was super -- worth upgrading for the view of the fjord. Our room was bi-level, tastefully decorated and very cozy (heated stone floor in entry way and bathroom then hardwood throughout). Ample storage. Comfy beds. Fridge and coffee/tea maker. Robes are provided. Check out the hot tubs for an amazing view. The staff were friendly and helpful. Wake up service is available for viewing Aurora Borealis. We will be returning and might check out the villas next time. Just lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gaynor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Our best hotel of six in Iceland. Nice location, staff very kind and helpfull, room very nice decorated, hotel interior charming, restaurant perfect. The hotel isn't cheap, but comparing with others, worth to pay more.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stt161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews