We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Akranes HI Hostel(Akranes)(Great Value!)
USD 115
USD 97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laxarbakki(Akranes)
USD 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laxarbakki Guesthouse(Akranes)(Great Value!)
USD 92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akranes Rooms(Akranes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
372
140
45
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
140
45
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubnorthern lightswhale fjordgolden circlevilla romancewake up callthe main hotellambgreat viewsitting areabreakfast and dinnerfjord viewunderfloor heatingself cateringblue lagoondining roomenjoy the view
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Loved our time here. First trip to Iceland and really did not know what to expect. Hotel is a good drive from the airport (almost 2 hours from Keflavik airport and an hour and 20 mins from Reykjavik). The drive is spectacular, so it really was not an issue for us (take the long way around the fjord instead of going through the tunnel -- you'll save $10 and the scenery is just beautiful). We arrived super early as our flight landed around 4:30 AM. Check in was 3 PM and our room was not ready but we were invited to have breakfast (at no additional charge) and relax in the hotel lounge. Room was ready by 11:30 AM - super early and very appreciated. Breakfast was included in the room charge and it is delicious -- eggs, bacon, fresh baked bread, cold cuts and cheese, pastries, varieties of yoghurt, cereals, fresh fruit, salmon, pate and crudite. You are a long way from anywhere and Iceland is EXPENSIVE so eat the breakfast! Room was super -- worth upgrading for the view of the fjord. Our room was bi-level, tastefully decorated and very cozy (heated stone floor in entry way and bathroom then hardwood throughout). Ample storage. Comfy beds. Fridge and coffee/tea maker. Robes are provided. Check out the hot tubs for an amazing view. The staff were friendly and helpful. Wake up service is available for viewing Aurora Borealis. We will be returning and might check out the villas next time. Just lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gaynor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Our best hotel of six in Iceland. Nice location, staff very kind and helpfull, room very nice decorated, hotel interior charming, restaurant perfect. The hotel isn't cheap, but comparing with others, worth to pay more.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stt161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

I must preface this review by saying that we spent 2 nights here, just after spending 2 nights at another top quality hotel in the South, so this may be a bit harsh on them ... The location is well away from any main attractions, which may well be what people want and the view across the fjord from our villa was fantastic, with a different mood at different times of day. Sitting outside in the hot tub under the stars with a cold drink was lovely even if the Northern Lights didn't make an appearance for us. So dark and quiet. The darkness is an issue in the villas however, as there is no form of lighting at all to guide you up to the main hotel at night - thank goodness iphones have a torch! The main building itself is a large corrugate clad monstrosity from the outside, but it's welcoming and quirky inside. It was probably bad luck that the 2 nights we stayed the place was virtually deserted and there was no atmosphere whatsoever (not even any background music). We looked at the menu and it may be fine, but nothing on it attracted us enough to try it. The breakfast was a decent spread with lots of options, but lukewarm fried eggs seem to be the norm in Iceland (strange). The villa itself was ok, but not what you would call luxury, and bearing in mind our booking was B&B, one would have thought there might actually be some tea/coffee in the villa - but nothing, rather odd and stingey. The staff were all very young and rather tentative, but friendly enough. I've given a 4 star rating but really it's a 3.5 star to me.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 282andyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel is a great location away from city lights. Hotel room was clean and staff was friendly. Breakfast spread was good. Bar staff seemed a little inexperienced but staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel has great views and located a few miles off route 1.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anne Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

I have to say that the stay was pretty nice. We stayed in one of the Villas with amazing view over the Fjord and the Atlantic. It was fantastic laying in the private hot tup watching the northern lights above!!! The villa has a very comfortable living room and a very well equipped kitchen. Big cosy bed and very nice bathroom. We had a very good cocktails and dinner at the restaurant and the staff was extremely tentative. I am definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fuglarnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews