We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Modern and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Location, location, location! Perfectly situated in central Helsinki in a modern and clean building, within walking distance of all of Helsinki, and good value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 470 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located next to the central rail station but rest assured there is no noise problem.

The rooms are spacious, large beds, very nice bathrooms and with everything you will need to have a pleasant stay.

Everything you might want to see on a leisure trip to Helsinki is between 5-10mins away. The national museum, the harbour, the ferry to Suomenlinna, the shopping streets, everything is just a short walk away so it is the most convenient location!

The only negative I have to add is the left luggage facilities, very disorganised and not secure so be careful if you leave any valuables. Pretty much anyone could walk in and grab a suitcase, I had left mine and walked in, took it, walked out, nobody even asked! This needs to be rectified before someone loses their belongings!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as the views are nice!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solo_Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This Holiday Inn is my favourite hotel when I'm traveling to Finland, for many reasons. I've stayed here more times than I can remember now, but always for a day or two. One of the reasons I prefer this is, of course, the location. A stone's throw from the Helsinki central railway station. The Finnair buses to the airport also start from here. Most of the sights & attractions of Helsinki are a short walk away (cathedral, harbour, esplanade). Another reason I prefer this place is that it offers decent sized rooms. After staying in cramped hotels in Tampere & Oulu, this one comes as a refreshing change. As for the service... well it had varied over the stays. During one visit the receptionist arranged for a special early packed breakfast when I told her that I had to check out early to catch my flight. This was really exceeding my expectations. While during another stay, I had to wait really really long for checkout, even though there were just 2 people/families checking out before me.

Room Tip: If you are a priority club member, you can ask for extended checkout upto 2PM.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DM_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great location if you want to stay in the middle of the city and get easy access to railway, tram, city buslines and airport shuttle. Many attractions are in a walking distance: house of parliament, art museums, city center attractions.This hotel is practically at the railwaystation yard. But still it is quiet! Our room was small, and hotel was not very tidy. We stayed two nights, and our room was not cleaned during our stay. Breakfast was nothing special, but ok.
There was corner with toys for children at the lobby, and in the main restaurant, a nice little detail! Personnel was polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nappinena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Location is very good especially if you should travel by any commuter train or bus. Also close to other sigjhts in Helsinki.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, but rather small.
The only dissapointment was the breakfast. I would have expected a little bit more selection from everything. It did not meet the expectation I had compared with other larger hotel in the Nordic countries

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wasabi69Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear wasabi69Sweden,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you mentioned the great hotel location and the good quality of your room. I was disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,174 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $176 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing