We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Great location, nice rooms and free wifi. It is a nice choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magarutoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    413
    151
    30
    4
See reviews for
94
237
123
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed two times there. Last time stayed at Executive floor. The rooms are good, lots of amenities. They gave me free WiFi vouchers. Go to McDonald's for breafasts, if you wanna save (3 minute walk across the railway station square). I recommend the hotel restaurant for dinner, decent food, price and service. The business corner is accessible for free with your room keycard, you can print your boarding passes there if printer cartridge is OK. In my case it was empty so I had to email boarding passes to reception and they printed it for me. The location is perfect, so if you want to tour the city on foot, this is the best choice. Take your room key, your bathrobe and slippers to access the sauna in the morning or in the evening (open until 10pm). They do not mind if you ride the elevator from sauna to your floor dressed just in bathrobe and slippers but the new guests will stare at you with round eyes until they try it themselves. :-) The sauna cools off pretty fast so use plenty of water onto the stones, if you sauna-mates do not mind. The aircon is strange, you actually cannot hear it and it takes about 30 minutes until you feel it works. It does not really blows in lots of fresh air but it is OK. I never experienced such type of aircon in my life. If it rains outside, take a free umbrella next to the entrance but beware of strong wind that can break it easily. In general, quite a nice choice, I recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evgeny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Have been staying at this property since it opened. The hotel is just now gaining some "soul", but it could be improved.

Agree with other review comments:

- Executive Room is a better choice accommodation,
- FinnAir bus departs and arrives in plaza across from hotel,
- Central location to train station and metro is important for travelers,
- Not stupendous but very good property within Holiday Inn hotel chain,
- Amazingly quiet rooms, considering is sitting above regional and long distance train tracks,
- Close to shopping at Sokos and Stockmann, as well as Forum and Kamppi centers,
- Kitchen is nothing to reroute your travel plans for.

I have found the hotel staff unusually friendly and helpful. However, sometimes the restaurant and bar staff are less than hospitable. The bar tends to have hours that seem to want to prevent a guy from having an evening beverage.

There is a lack of a sun-facing patio, which is important for spring/summer guests. But there is the sports bar with "terrasi" aroudn the corner and train station plaza has a couple of bar terraces setup in the warmer months.

For me, the sauna is also an important feature of a Helsinki hotel. I have had problems with the hotel staff on upkeep of the mens' sauna. Some idiot got the hotel to paint over the window in the sauna! The sand timer and thermometer in the sauna cabinet are broken. The sauna controller seems to shut off the sauna stove earlier than 22.00 scheduled end of evening sauna. There are never enough towels in the sauna because too many "foreigners" use them in sauna to sit on rather than provided stack of paper sauna towels. HOPE THE HOTEL STAFF READS THESE REVIEWS!

Room Tip: 1. Room 209 is regular room with sauna in the ensuite bathroom! 2. Ask for room with shower or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yrlesru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vehmas, Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you for your review and detailed comments. I am happy that the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel has been your home away home such a long time. As a real frequent traveler of our hotel you have a great opportunity to evaluate our service and products. Many thanks for your comments and compliments. We will always appreciate feedback and want to use them to get our service and products better. Nice to notice that you are also a fan of sauna, which is very important matter to all Finns. The sauna in our hotel has a special always-ready-to-use stove, being then more ecological and energy saving. This may not be very familiar to all of our guests, so we will look for a way of giving more information about this to our sauna visitors. Thank you and welcome back soon again.
Your sincerely, Timo Vehmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed at the Holiday Inn city centre recently, and must say, it's nothing disastrous or outstanding.
It's a pretty standard Holiday inn, with comfy rooms, and a decent sleep, despite being right in the centre of the city and next to the train station.

Check in service was pretty slow as they didn't seem to have enough staff working, but this could be just a one off experience.
The breakfast was nothing special either, with very rubbery scrambled eggs and overly greasy bacon. but there's a few different dishes to pick from, so most should be able to find something ok to eat.
There was a very small fitness centre in the basement with one of each of a few different machines.

All in all, an ok hotel, I would be happy to stay again (assuming my more favoured Scandic Simonketta is sold out again).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotripper_cph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I booked this Holiday Inn hotel because of its central location as seen on the website. I was advised by the hotel staff to take the Finnair bus from the airport, which proved to be an excellent suggestion. It only costs 6.20 Euros and the last stop is the central railway station which is a stone's throw from the hotel. The hotel despite its dark exterior, has a very pleasing interior and friendly staff, who seem to be very well-trained to provide great service. Due to my priority club status, I was given an upgrade to a very nice room, as well as free internet and a drink at the bar. Breakfast buffet was very good and free. The staff were very helpful in all respects.

As areas of improvement, the gym is in the basement and my suggestion is to expand it if there is space. Also, when I asked about vegetarian restaurants in the area, the ladies at the reception had no idea. Although they tried hard to find, it was clear that this was an unusual request. As a global hotel chain member, they should be better prepared for such requests.

Otherwise, I give this hotel an 'A' rating.

Room Tip: Become a Priority Club member and try for an upgrade to the executive floor -- it is great! And, co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ravi4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price range (per night): $151 - $320
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, lastminute.com.au and Wotif.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing