We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
3
6
16
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
6
16
8
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2018

So far it is the worst experience from all of my trips. First of all, the hotel is very old fashioned - everything seems out dated and worn. Secondly, it was the first time when I had a sleepless night. The neighbors behind the wall were partying all night, one of them got sick and then I understood that the walls are paper thin. I was staying just behind the wall but my colleagues who lived in the end of the corridor told me that they also heard the noise very clearly. Breakfast was also very limited. However, plus is that they have quite good wifi, it was convenient for even watching Youtube on the TV.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasterOfDisaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Stayed here on my recent trip to Helsinki because I had a discount code for Scandic website. Without the discount, I don't think this hotel would have been worth the money. Everything is old and worn out, there's no adjustable AC in the room or a fridge/minibar to keep anything cold. Walls are pretty thin. I was woken up by people talking in the corridors.

The location is quite convenient, quiet area but right next to a tram stop so it's easy to move around. Breakfast was ok, but much more limited than the usual wide variety Scandic-affair. Tables didn't get cleaned up so dirty dishes would pile up on the tables as guests left breakfast. Not ideal since the breakfast room is small and there's a limited number of seats.

For any claustrophobics out there: the elevators here are super narrow and small. It's easy to feel trapped in if there's more people there.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanna2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Hotels are generally higher priced in Helsinki than in the rest of the Nordic capitals, but the standard are still often basic. This hotel has a more non-central location in the city and features a bit lower prices, but the experience has followed the price downwards.

The hotel is hardly noticeable from the outside and the lobby is far from spacious (but in this case it matches the experience of the rest of the hotel). I got a single room and it is very small. Obviously these room double as an extra 'suite' room as there's also a wall mounted, foldable, bed on top of the regular bed - and a connecting door to the nearby double room. Interestingly, that connecting door was open on arrival, so I could have used four beds - at least until the guests of the connecting room would have arrived.

The room is dated, ventilation can't do with the summer heat, but the noise from the street (trams) make it impossible to have the window open during night. Wi-Fi works well, though. Noise travels in between the rooms and from the corridor.

The bathroom is very small, but very clean.

Breakfast is disappointing even for Finnish standards. Yes, there's oatmeal and good, Finnish, bread, but everything fresh isn't fresh. Obvious that the few vegetables (tomato, cucumber, peppers) have been cut the day before (not sure why hotels don't think we notice and don't think we care). The room where it's served is in desperate need for renovation and fresh up. Gives a worn and dirty feeling, worse that the hotel rooms.

So, a bit better priced that other over-priced hotels in Helsinki, but still not a place you want to pay for staying at.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BizLeisureFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews