We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,223)
Filter reviews
2,223 results
Traveller rating
588
1,123
409
77
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
1,123
409
77
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station floor restaurant excellent location same building top floor department store luggage room central location the heart of the city single room breakfast is served business trip junior suite breakfast room nice stay rooms are clean one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 2,223 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We stayed here for Worldcon 75. The location was one of the big selling points over the other event hotels. It was a typical European room -- small compared to the US, but plenty of space for the 2 of us, especially when we weren't in the room that much. We had a 9th floor balcony room, and those rooms will be slightly smaller. The proximity of the main train station (across the plaza), grocery store (downstairs, although you do have to go outside), and a variety of restaurants within a couple of blocks, was great. The breakfast was good every morning. The sauna (both men's and women's) was handy, as we were somewhat achey with all of the walking. We would come back if we make it back to Helsinki.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SJChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, receptionist at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear SJChristine,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. It is truly delightful to receive such a great review from you. We are glad to know that you had such a pleasant stay with us here in the heart of Helsinki.

You are always welcome back to Vaakuna in the future.

Best regards,
Tiina
reception
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Good location, nice room and good sauna. Best place, its near railwaystation and all restaurants , pubs, shops. Still rather quiet rooms until its in centrum. Breakfast place is nice (10th floor) and its good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 13jarip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Receptionist at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Daer 13jarip,

Thank you for your visit and your time to write this kind feedback.

I'm delighted to read this and we really hope to see you again soon!

Very pleasant autumn for you!
Kind regards,

Jarmo
Reception
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
00100 Helsinki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Stayed for one night. Great location! The busses and trains from the airport are just a few minutes walk away. The room was a one person room and it smelled awful. The interior was at least 20 years old and you could smell that from the carpet. I arrived so late that I had zero energy to go back and change. You could smell the cigarettes even though it was a non-smoking room. Breakfast was very average. This used to be a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lili S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for Your review!
I'm happy to hear that You enjoyed our location in the heart of Helsinki but I also apologise for the condition of the room. There shouldn't have been any kind of smell in the room so I would be really happy if You could please contact me by e-mail hilkka.lehtinen@sok.fi so we could investigate the problem in the room further.

We are keen on developing and improving ourselves and our services all the time so once more sincere thank you for Your review!

Best regards,
Hilkka Lehtinen
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

The rooftop bar is to die for, views over the entire city, al fresco and beautiful. Extensive drinks menu. The restaurant is really good. Limited choice but great food and wine. You would have to be mad to miss this one.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, receptionist at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Jim T,

Thank you for taking the time to write the feedback.

We are truly happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us here in the heart of Helsinki.

We hope to see you soon again as our guest. You are always welcome back to Vaakuna.


Best regards,
Tiina
reception
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We arrived in a blizzard. So a bonus is that this hotel is very close to the station. We were all wet and covered in snow on arrival in the hotel foyer. The staff were very efficient in sorting out the bedraggled guests arriving together and then dealing with the wet customers and wet luggage. We were in our rooms in very good time with our cases not far behind us. The negatives of this hotel are very small rooms and the beds are terrible. I actually fell out of bed twice before going to sleep because the beds are so bad. You either sink into the middle or the slope to the outside tips you out. My back did suffer from these terrible beds. An upgrade is needed quickly. The restaurant in the hotel was fine. We did not have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment. This hotel was apparently built for the Olympics in 1952. It is a bit outdated and reflects the era. Attempts to modernise some time ago are now themselves dated. The location is great but on the first night because of the snow storm we were kept awake a good part of the night by the snow plows clearing the square . It was not worth complaining as this obviously had to be done but be aware outside noise does impact. This is a reasonably basic hotel which I would stay in again if not for the beds

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Global802832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for Your feedback from last winter! It is nice to hear that You valued our service but however my sincere apology for the trouble with the bed. I would really appreciate it if You could be in contact with me by email at hilkka.lehtinen@sok.fi because I would like to more personally apologise to you and also I would like to know the room number so we could take care of the beds.

Once more thank you for this feedback - we are keen on improving and developing ourselves and our services!

Best regards,
Hilkka Lehtinen
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews