We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveller rating
374
512
144
24
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
512
144
24
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar american bar art deco tallest building top floor jugend style historical hotel beautiful room small bathroom nice stay the heart of the city single room mini bar superior room excellent location breakfast was excellent breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017

This hotel has become our favorite whenever we're staying in a hotel in Helsinki. Once again, this was the perfect choice. The location is very good near everything in Helsinki and close to public transportation (bus, tram, train and subway) if you want to explore further.

We arrived at the hotel very early before noon. However, we were able to get a room as soon as we arrived. We had requested a room in the lower floors due to sometimes crowded elevators. The room was located on the same floor as the reception. The room (solo up queen) was spacious and clean. There are soft drinks (2 pcs), coffee, tea and hot chocolate that are included in the price of this room type.

The hotel was full the night we stayed there but there were no lines anywhere (reception of breakfast). The breakfast was very good. I would recommend to try the oatmeal as it was really delicious! I topped mine with some blueberry soup and fresh berries for a yummy meal. If you want to have something more, the choices are endless; bacon, eggs, fresh locally baked bread, fruits, cakes, cheeses and so on. Coffee and tea are served at the table.

Room tip: Lower floors are better if you want to avoid the sometimes crowded elevators. If you want a view, choose higher floors.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MinnyHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torni-Management, Reception, Essi at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this great and detailed review!

We are so happy to hear that we are your favorite hotel! That is a very great honor to us. I guess that it is the great breakfast you discripted as well as the location and service that makes us the best place to be.

We are already waiting to see you again! Let's make your next stay even better.

Kind regards,
Essi
Front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

hotel is a interesting older tower building located in the center of helsinki.
Had the art deco room on the 11 floor which gives a perfect view, is slightly more expensive then the normal room. shower is not ideal but room is big enough, has a coffea machine, and wifi works great.
Breakfast is rich, ipad orange juice is
Interesting twist in getting a juice.
Do try the bar on the 14 floor, small but the view is very good, and go to the WC there, you will find it interesting. Drinks are not cheap but this is valid for the whole country
Overall, i enjoyed my short stay

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank zdaati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torni-Management, Reception, Essi at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and giving us such a great review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location, perfect view room, Ateljee Bar and the breakfast as well. Hopefully your stay in Helsinki was a success overall.

We hope that you will come to visit us again!

Kind regards,
Essi,
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Perfectly located in the heart of Helsinki but still on a relatively quiet alley Hotel Torni has an interesting history to say the least. Maybe the most (in)famous period was the aftermath of WWII as the allied control commission, led by Red Army officers, took up residence in the hotel, but there is much more to add to the story of this beautiful building.

The hotel - once the highest building in town - is architecturally stunning and the views from the rooftop bar are still best in town. Upon arrival you have a chance to choose between two types of rooms: Jugend (art nouveau) style room and one that represents functionalistic design. We chose the former and were quite happy with it. The breakfast was well above average, too.

All in all it's definitely one of the most intriguing hotels in Helsinki (trust me, I've seen more than a few of them). This place might be too much if you're looking just a place to sleep but for a romantic weekend trip it’s definitely worth considering.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasikuikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torni-Management, Reception, Essi at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review. It is so good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and figured out our amazing history as well.

Isn’t it funny how the hotel is so centrally located but still so quiet and excellent for relaxation?

We welcome you to come again Solo Sokos Hotel Torni!

Kind regards,
Essi
Front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

I cant tell about the hotel, but bar atop is must-see. It small and stuffed but servers nice drinks (I recommend gin and tonic) and you can get off to circle gallery (around most of the bar) with beautiful view on either blizzard or Helsinky harbour. Both worthy to see.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ondra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Quirky and individual - a special place to stay.
From the Ateljee bar at the top of the tower to the excellent buffet breakfast- this is a well situated hotel for a weekend break.
Yes the rooms can be a little small but the rest makes up for it.
We will stay here again when we next visit Helsinki.

Room tip: Ask for a large room - go for the superior grade.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Littlehavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torni-Management, Reception, Essi at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review!

We are so glad that you enjoyed our uniqueness.

Did you know that we have different kind of rooms available? They all have different decorations. Maybe you would like to try the other rooms as well. Or at least we could find you a bigger room for next time.

We are already waiting for you!

Kind regards,
Essi,
Front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews