We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,906)
Filter reviews
2,906 results
Traveller rating
855
1,308
554
140
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
1,308
554
140
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews viking line market square city centre conference center big hotel breakfast buffet ferry terminal uspenski cathedral nice hotel family room decent size hotel is situated convenient location min walk double bed business trip visiting helsinki
Filter
Updating list...
1,421 - 1,426 of 2,906 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The hotel was comfortable, my room fairly small with a very small window but very quiet, the bathroom very basic but sufficient for my needs and breakfast was not a pleasurable experience - food piled high in containers, awful coffee at 10am, it reminded me of school! The hotel is however in a great location at the harbour, just a few minutes walk from the city centre and some great restaurants. It was also ideal for the large conference we were attending as the conference facilities are directly across the road. Would I stay at the hotel privately? - no, because I did not enjoy the impersonal atmosphere which is geared towards hundreds of hotel guests.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyTwoShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I spent a very comfortable 5 nights. Stayed in a family room so had a double bed and sitting area included. The room was spacious and airy with some nice touches (little porthole windows). The bathroom was a bit on the basic side, with just a shower and plain furnishings however, everything was clean and the free Wifi access for the duration of the stay was very useful. Breakfast was a good choice of buffet foods. And the location is just a short walk to the central harbour area. Despite the ferries from Stockholm moored next the hotel I didn't hear any noise from the port.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sapporolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Close to the harbour and brilliant marketplace, this hotel is close to the action. Our room was small but perfectly formed and very clean. Buffet breakfasts were comprehensive and included in the price but everything else was very expensive - especially alcohol - so be prepared to do without if you can't face paying 15 euros for a glass of wine and a small beer.
The Staff are very welcoming and there is free Internet access available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LainyNorthWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

This hotel is located in a section of the town close to the docks. It is easy to walk into town and visit the small market on the way. It is huge. The rooms appear to be either rather small or quite large and it is a lottery which one you get. I was travelling with my wife and we were allocated a small room but my single colleagues allocated a large room each? The rooms are simple with no tea or coffee making facilities in our room and a minibar but no price list available. The room was newly decorated and appeared to be very clean. The batheroom was OK with walk in shower but was a little dated. There is a telephone and free WiFi available but the main drawback was lack of wardrobe space. Our room overlooked the rear of the hotel and a not very busy main road which leads to the docks. There was a few large trucks passing and the noise can be obtrusive if you have the window open. Breakfast is a buffet with a good selection of hot and cold food butthere is not enough seating for all clients so there is an overspill into the bar area every morning. Drinks are expensive everywhere in Helsinki and this hotel is no different. 500 ml of beer is more than 7 Euro and most other drinks at least 6 Euro. We were a little started when sitting on the outside terrasse and a barman appeared and confiscated a drink from a colleague who had been given a bottle a of coke. The barman insisted that only drinks purchased at the hotel could be drunk on the premises. In my book this is theft but the colleague was too stunned to complain. Otherwise the hotel is OK and food and facilities adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

In 2008 it was my first visit there. Everything seemed so cool then. But 2 years later I demand much more and Grand Marina only has gotten worse.... The rooms haven't been refreshed, some of them were very hot during summer, because the A/C didn't work properly and windows were blocked. Breakfast is open for erveryone, you can even go in from outside. It is close to all biggest attraction in Helsinki, about 5 minutes to Uspenskin Katedral and Helsinki Katedral. I like the old atmosphere of harbour, because the hotel is located in such operational building. Anyway, it is not the best hotel in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacekg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews