We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
115
39
18
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
39
18
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building frozen lake ice fishing salmon aurora zone other guests fantastic trip small hotel wonderful hospitality camera settings breakfast and dinner an amazing place enjoy the peace open fire glass roofed hot chocolate lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Hotel Korpikartano is situated at the shore of a magnificent lake in the tiny place Menesjarvi, very near to the Lemmenjoki National Park. I would describe it as a "wilderness hotel". The rooms are very cosy, convenient furnished and very clean. Food and atmosphere are unsurpassed. It was like staying with family or friends. We stayed for a week, and then were already homesick from the idea of having to leave.

My husband and me travelled with two friends with wheelchairs, for whom two adapted rooms were available. On the terrain solid wheelchair-pushers were no luxury, but of course this is not the type of accommodation where you expect smooth and level tile paths. We considered the accessibility quite functional.

During our stay it was daylight 24 ours a day - which is usual in this time of the year in Lapland - and it was great sitting at the lake at midnight and watch the terns diving into the water to catch fish. The light than was silver coloured, which made the place extra special.

Besides staying at the premises and enjoying the scenery, we made several trips. We enjoyed making long tours along the numerous unpaved roads. Once on a course of over a hundred kilometres we met more elk (3) than oncoming traffic (2). And reindeer were on the roads everywhere. From the sight-seeing things we visited, the most impressive were the Sami-museum in Inari, and the reindier-rarm between the hotel and Inari.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
2  Thank Truuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Korpikartano consists of a manor house with several comfortable wooden rooms, and apartments in what used to be an old school building. We stayed in the manor, which is a bit more expensive than the apartments in the annex building. We received excellent service from the moment we arrived. Our room was comfortable with a separate bedroom, kitchen and a narrow sitting room. We did not cook ourselves, but there is a fridge and a stove. Korpikartano is situated on a lake (surprise!), which was 'warm' enough for my wife to swim in. With the help of the owners we canoed on the Lemmenjoki river in the national park nearby. The restaurant served a decent breakfast and also a healthy dinner. We also dined in restaurant Akhuntupa nearby. We appreciated the advice from Tara Arrela, the hostess and also from the man who bought the place many years ago now and turning it into a wonderful resort.
We missed wireless internet, which is apparently related to the poor phone service in Lappland.
The owners recently added an fantastic enclosed barbecue pit in the shape of a teepee, with deer hides on wooden benches and a pointed glass roof for a look at the sky. They are also in the process of completing another BBQ house for larger groups. We recommended to the hostess to make it clearer to visitors how to use the BBQ facility as we would have loved to take advantage of this. Overall, a great place to use as a base camp for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeroyPictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Con vistas al lago
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews