We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Varbergs Kusthotell
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice stay.”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed at the hotel one night in July.
We had a suite at third floor, kitchen, living room, bedroom and bath.
A bit tired decor but clean and functional bathroom. The 1306.
Our friends stayed in 1302 and they had a bedroom and a room with a soaking tub that had lighting from above, which shifted in distorting the colors. They also had a bright loop around the bed in the same colors. A bit strange but fun.

The spa was ok, not so relaxed spirit, many children.
A big minus was that there was no outdoor pool.
The beach was in itself very close, but everyone knows how cold it is in the water in the ocean.

The food was good in the restaurant but the service poor.
We had a buffet and there was no one who picked out the dirty plates so we had to put them on another table.
It did not seem like it was someone who kept tabs on what the servers were doing.

But all in all we had a very pleasant stay at the hotel.

Some improvements to the service, it would be even better.

Room Tip: Take one in the third floor, they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    133
    95
    32
    15
See reviews for
52
198
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed in the Comwell Varbergs Kurort looking for a relaxing spa experience for adults but what I found was a "Family Resort" crowded with running, noisy and screaming kids everywhere in the wet area of the SPA, the Hotel staff even put loud music in the area and give the childrens toys to better play in the SPA pool!!!!!

If you are looking for a SPA, you better look for another place as you won´t get the relaxing environment, specially during summer time. The building and the facilities are great, surrounded by an impressive nature, the signature treatments are very good and unique, and the dinner its also very good, but If I would knew in advance that I wouldnt get a relaxing environment I defienetely should looked somewhere else to stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANIELAORTIZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We spent an overnight at the Comwell Spa in Varberg. We have been there before some years ago when we tried the spa. This time we just had a dinner and the overnight. Arriving in heavy rain we couldn't take the lovely walk towards the city that we had planned. It follows the sea with a wonderful view. We instead started in the bar with a glass of wine. Very good service!
The room was situated in a new separate buildning 50 meters behind the main building.
Very nice rooms, beds and bathroom in highest standards. The only comment was that we needs to walk in the rain to the dinner, but free umbrellas were provided so no real problem.
We had prebooked the evening buffet which was a very nice experience. A wide selection of sallads and a good soup for starter and then two different main dishes to choose from. We tried the fish that was perfectly cooked but a little over salted. After that we found us to full to even try the cheeses and sweets - but they looked good.
The breakfast the day after was also in highest standards. I want to have a variety of yougurts, a good juice and a selection of fresh bread. All was there and also good coffee.
So I sure can recommend this, even if you don't use the spa

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_swedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed in a suite located in the main building - definetly a plus since you do not have to walk outside to reach the SPA area. The suite was nice with a kitchen area, living room section, separate bedroom and bathroomwith with a tub.

The SPA is nice but it gets crowded during the weekends. Since alcohol is served in the SPA the noice level has a tendensy to increase during the day so if you're lookin for a serene environment this it not the place for you. We had no treatments but bought the DIY "bathtour" with treatments and a guide how and where in the SPA to use them. A good way to use all of the facilities and get treatments for a small sum. We also tried out the "deluxe Sauna" which is a group activity that you pay a small extra fee for (100 kr). The sauna ritual with etherical oils and scrub was held in a sauna just by the beach and at the end of each session you could either take a shower or cool down in the ocean. A very nice experience that I highly recommend.

The biggest dissepointment was the food at the resort. In our package the evening buffé was included and I highly recommend that you upgrade that to an á la carte menue, an option that we didn´find out about until too late... The cold section of the buffé was nice but nothing special, the main course section was nothing special, it was food but nothing more. The desserts table looked really nice but unfortunately most of the desserts ran out before we had a chance to try them and they were not replaced. We had our reservation at 19.30 and many guests had reservations for the buffé later than us so that food is not replaced is unaceptable.

Overall an ok place but the best part is it´s location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

During Walpurgis Night 2012 my wife and I spent a couple of nights & days (29th Apr – 1st May) at this nice hotel & spa, situated at the shore right outside the enjoyable city of Varberg…with it’s cozy city centre and impressive fortress.

The walking distance, along the great walkway build next to the seaside between the hotel and the city, is approx 3 kilometers. You shall definitely make that stroll!
We even rented bicycles from the hotel for some hours (SEK 50:- for a half day) and made a long, nice bike ride along the coastline in the other direction. It can really be recommended.

The hotel is rather large, with some different buildings. We were accommodated in a rather new built house (“Apelgarden”) at the top floor. The room was a Superior room, and very nice. The bed and madras was of a very exclusive brand (“Carpe Diem”)…however a bit too soft according to our personal taste. We had a magnificent view over the coastline (however, looking over the largest hotel building parting our hotel building from the sea).

The indoor SPA area is very nice, with a number of different pools (hot/cold/Jacuzzi) and saunas to choose between. It is, off course, also possible to book (and pay for) different treatments.

At the Walpurgis Night we had the hotels evening buffet in the restaurant, which a great and large selections of different salads…and the main warm dish that evening; steamed salmon. A number of different other dishes were offered as well (desserts, cheese etc.)

Even the breakfast buffets were nice, however not the best we had at a hotel of this standard (according to my very personal opinion, the range of food was a bit limited).
Another thing to mention about the breakfast, is that - due to the fact that this was a national holiday in Sweden - there were to many guests at the same time in the restaurant.

The employees we met at the hotel were very professional (although some of them were a bit stressed due to all the guests).

Finally: We were very satisfied with our stay, and we will definitely like to come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homevalley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varberg
1.9 km away
Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
2.1 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
27.0 km away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
157 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotell Gastis
Hotell Gastis
#4 of 6 in Varberg
148 reviews
0.3 km away
Apelvikens Camping
Apelvikens Camping
#6 of 6 in Varberg
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varbergs Kusthotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varbergs Kusthotell

Property: Varbergs Kusthotell
Address: 5 Nils Kreugers Vaeg | Box 152, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 53, Sweden (Formerly Comwell Varbergs Kurort)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Price range (per night): $181 - $374
Hotel Class:4 star — Varbergs Kusthotell 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Varbergs Kusthotel. Nowhere is the spa tradition more important than at Varbergs Kusthotell on Sweden's west coast. There has been spa activity here for more than 200 years and the guests continue to pour in as much for the experience as for the innovative ideas. We believe that is one of the reasons we have received awards such as Europe's Best Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Varbergs Kusthotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing