We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
41
45
12
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
45
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews contact reception modern hotel natural light by foot corner room nice surprise located close breakfast buffet place to stay the hotel staff scrambled eggs patients design university beds sink conference
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We were invited to stay in the hotel so the rating I made just based on the experience excluding the price :)). It was a little bit odd to me to go to the 4th floor to check-in and then go down to my room. The interior design is modern and friendly with patients, especial the toilet. Guests can use the laundry room on the 2nd floor for free by using their room card. The staff were friendly, and they expected us to manage things ourselves, it is fine for me but maybe not for somebody who has to pay for the stay. Overall ok!

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank linhfom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

This is an hotel that is located close to the University of Uppsala, and not that far away from the city center (probably 15 to 20 minutes walking). The staff at the reception are tremendously helpful, professional and yet at the same time calm and accommodating. The hotel is very quiet and the rooms are spacious enough to relax and rest, with a contemporary decoration and a cool feel to it. The hotel requires cards to enter the room corridor and the hotel door which is welcome and provides a sense of safety. The breakfast has plenty of variety - buffet style - and especially the bread is of the highest quality (not many places in Europe where you can eat bread as good as there - perhaps in Portugal). The hotel is also very clean, and the breakfast place which is close to the reception, has relatively comfortable chairs and tables with windows that allow for the natural light to come in, making it a great place to work. In sum, I strongly recommend you to stay at this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pumbainjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The overall stay was quite nice. The rooms were clean and fancy, the breakfast buffet had a lot of options, the internet was fast in all places of the hotel and the hotel staff was very polite and helpful. The only negative that I have to mention was the distance from the hotel to the city center. It is a walking distance of about 20 minutes - not so far away but not easy to walk with -3 degrees outside and frozen-slippery streets. By taxi is about 10 minutes and the cost is about 15€ (one-way). There is no smoking area in the hotel and if you want to smoke you have to go outside of the main entrance and cross the street. Smoking is only allowed at the other side of the street because on the ground floor of the hotel there is a Clinic with patients.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The hotell is fairly new. With reception in 4th floor.. strange layout, have to use key card on every door. Very prison like and far from a feeling staying at a hotel. Reason is that the hotel only have one staff at reception during night I guess.

The hotel rooms are OK size, but we did pay extra for a bigger room, but they are not the same as seen on their Web page. So, kinda feeling tricked that way..

My wife work at a hotel as a asistant housekeeping maneger, so she know a thing or two about clean rooms. And they are clean, but they can use 3 to 5 more minuter per room to make them spotless, e.g. spots and stains all over that can easily be removed with a dry cloth. And not to forget that they had empty soap dispensers, c'mon cleaning staff...

The hotel room do not have a house phone, asked why and got a answer the hotel management did not want that when they opened the hotell, e.g. the staff talking to the guests don't know what to t
answer them, or explain why we don't have phones in the rooms. So, you have to walk down to the reception when you need help, and being a hospital hotell open for public guests also, they should have phones in the rooms!

Asked why we only have one channel on the TV, they asked me to do a D.Y.I fix, unplugging TV from the "box" thingy and wait 30 secs, they did not ask to assist us right away at all. They want us to take care of it ourself first, then talk to them the next day if not fixed... Really...? That is not hotell service at all, and never seen that on any hotels I have stayed in, from low bush hotels in Asia, Africa or other places.. they all find ways to try to help out. But not at this hotel. The business layout is a self running or self sustained hotell, meant to be for guests that are in and out, but they have nothing on their site saying so, in fact, they are giving us the impression to be a ordinary hotel with good standards towards service and hospitality.

Breakfast is just bread, beacon, eggs, cerials, that's it.. Very simple and OK on a low budget hotel, but for what we paid for 5 nights, it is not (APROX 9000 NOK)

If you expect service, don't stay here. If you want a simple, fairly clean room and without service, by all means, book.

One thing:
My impression is that the staff do their best, although some are not trained to do their best in hotel politiness. Not rude, just unaware on how to aproach guests in fashionable matter.

Overall ok room to stay at, just to bad it is so hard to get stuff done or get in touch with the staff when you need them due to lacking phones on the rooms.

As a patient from Norway, attending specialist health care, and just 80 meters (aprox. 74 yrds) from the hospital it is convenient for me to stay here. But next time we will look for another hotell before we stay here again. Not scared away, it is just the fact I know we can get more for our money at another hotell. A price at NOK 6000,- is more a correct price, e.g. we paid 30 percent to much for what we got, or did not get to be more correct.

Room tip: Reception at 4th floor, strange layout. Close to the hospitals if you are a patient. You get better hotels for the prize of this one..
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Nice & quiet hotel which is a short 10 mins stroll into town. Near the castle, botanical garden & university library. Simple design and perfectly comfortable. The restaurant is very decent. Upsalla is a compact university town so a short visit of 2 days is adaquate to see everything.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sudokuace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews