We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best health oriented spa resort”
Review of Kamalaya Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kamalaya Koh Samui
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best health oriented spa resort”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

2012 will be my 4th year of returning to Kamalaya. I went there in 2008 to detox suffering with exhaustion in between jobs. Once i was there I simply had to come back. The health program is amazing, the staff and their smiles are something I miss the moment I get back on a flight, the available sports and alternative medicine treatments just great. I could not recommend this place enough. Going back in March for my annual ritual! It has been a five year journey for me so far, but the result is that I am healthier and feeling better, as every year I learn something new that I apply to my daily eating and lifestyle routine. Check out the healthy eating recipes on kamalaya's website as well, if you thought vegetarian is dull, you would be very surprised! Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mpivanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    68
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
98
159
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Reached Kamalya hoping to be another good place, we reached late in the night and checked in, our hopes were not changed yet. The staff has left spinach soup, whole wheat bread, salads and fruits for us in the room, incase we felt hungry - as the dining hall was closed when we reached. This moved us and we knew this was not just another good place.
The place started growing us on us with every passing moment. We went for the Tai Chi class and then again for water aerobics, we were not part of any program. They still has enough to offer the complete day. Then we headed for our body compostion test and it turned out to be an eye opener with a long discussion with the consultant. Just how easily we can change our life style was the outcome.
Kamalaya not only is great for treatments, but also its health food, location, ambience and the warm staff. The small touches which make a great difference. The GM welcomed us in the morning and was there to see us off. Go there it will change your life style for ever - healthy living will become your top priority.

Room Tip: If you can afford please take the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vyan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

It was my third time at Kamalaya. The first time I went with my husband, second time with husband and daughter, and this time alone. Each time was wonderful, but this was the best experience. I think it’s great for solo traveler, good for couples, but not the best for families. I stayed at the standard villa for two nights, which has a huge veranda with two day beds and great ocean, pool, and garden views. It also has a great outdoor bathroom and shower. The landscape is so beautiful, and you can find peace and perfect view from so many corners. The hotel was designed with perfect harmony into nature. It has the most amazing steam sauna build into a cave. Three small dipping pools on hilltop, a few steps higher than the previous one and with perfect privacy and views. It’s a perfect place to de-stress, detox, and be by yourself. You will feel like a new person after a short stay there. You also have the option to meet with fellow travelers by chosing to dine at the communal table. The staff are super nice. When I asked for late-check out, they let me stayed in my room until as late as I needed without any extra charge. I checked out at 5:30 PM! Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: villas with beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meghen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

After a recent personal energy crash, I knew I needed something to recharge my batteries and give me necessary time away from my real life to rest, recharge, and negotiate strategies for myself to handle stress in my real life. I wasn't sure where to do this but I thought I would give Kamalaya a try.

I arrived and was greeted promptly at the airport for a ride to the resort in comfort. Upon arrival, I was checked in and given cursory information about the resort, its offerings and activities. They could have given more of an orientation as I was a bit confused about how and where to get meals and some general protocols for a wellness resort. But no worries - you figure it out soon enough.

The room had all the comforts you need - comfy bed with a pillow menu and optional mattress topper (highly recommended!), speaker for my ipod and plenty of electrical outlets. I bought an internet pass for 1500 THB which was a bit steep considering I ended up rarely using internet as I was so busy with activities, journalling, spa appointments, etc. These activities were self-imposed as it would have been just as easy to relax in my room, at the beach and do nothing all day but read and relax. But I wanted to learn some new stress management strategies such as different types of yoga, attend presentations by visiting practitioners, and take advantage of their terrific spa, including the services of their on-site Traditional Chinese Medicine practitioner, Dr. Song. I had my full share of options and enjoyed learning yin yoga, some new breathing techniques for relieving anxiety, and qi gong - my current new and much-loved strategy for stress release.

The wellness centre was spectacular. I live in Bangkok where you can get a massage anytime, anywhere for only a few hundred Baht. But largely the quality of these massages is hit-or-miss, with the emphasis on 'miss'. I have been injured several times by 'therapists' who had little to no training and well- it's not at all worth the low price tag. At Kamalaya's resort, all spa services were top notch. Every treatment was a hit - really impressive team who are patient, sweet, and have seriously strong hands to massage out the kinks of my trouble spots.

The resort is built on a a cliff and the architecture is really impressive. The resort consists of about 50 buildings - lots of accommodation rooms, several restaurants, two yoga salas, a presentation hall, wellness centre which has no less than 50 treatment rooms, reception, etc. but it is so well designed, when you look out over the resort towards the sea from the dinner area, you just see a few rooftops here and there. The buildings are built to be part of the environment - many buildings incorporate the landscape , such as for example, boulders on the cliffside jut into the shower room in a treatment room. It's all very organic and makes you feel you are just part of the landscape yourself. Very beautiful and very cozy. The cliff, while beautiful, can be steep! I didn't expect the amount of walking up and down hill that I did but I welcomed the exercise! I wear a pedometer usually which tracks stairs climbed and I found that the walk from the beach to the Yoga Pavilion where the morning classes are held is equivalent to climbing a whopping 14 flights of stairs. The walk from the breakfast and inner area is equivalent to 5 flights. The walk from the lunch place to the yoga pavilion is 13 flights. You get a lot of exercise hauling yourself up and down and around the resort but really - is that such a bad thing? It is a wellness resort. That said, someone with bad knees would be really miserable here.

Overall, my stay was great. It was exactly what I needed and I would return. The only cons were 1) a terrible shower in my room which constantly went from freezing cold to scalding hot. This was never remedied in my stay so I ended up just showering at the Wellness Centre after my treatments anyway. 2) Lack of an orientation upon arrival leaving me a bit confused my first few hours there. The pros were numerous: 1) I feel so much better. 2) I ate healthy food and enjoyed eating things I never would have thought I liked such as beetroot and ginger. 3) I slept like a baby. 4) I had time for me - time to read, to journal, to reflect, to learn some new things. 5) I discovered qi gong - I'm hooked. I also discovered the wisdom of Dr. Song - he was terrific. And he unkinked my neck which has been kinked for several years now despite numerous 'treatments' at numerous doctors to remedy it.

If you've got the means and the knees, I highly recommend this place. It was my Christmas present to myself and it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Claxhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Super de-stressing spa. The yoga programme was terrific (I am a beginner), and the spa services were top notch. The spa is classy, in spite of being in tacky Ko Samui. I would love to go back every year to relax and be pampered.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princetondartmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
15.6 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
11.7 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
19.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
3.3 km away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
15.6 km away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamalaya Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamalaya Koh Samui

Property: Kamalaya Koh Samui
Address: 102/9 Moo 3, Laem Set Rd, | Na-Mueang subdistrict, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Price range (per night): $262 - $540
Hotel Class:4 star — Kamalaya Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Sawasdee so you can book your Kamalaya Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamalaya Koh Samui Hotel Laem Set
Kamalaya Hotel Koh Samui
Kamalaya Spa Koh Samui
Kamalaya Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing