We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection in Paradise - ideal place to repair...”

Review of Ban Mekkala

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Laem Set, Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Cescie
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfection in Paradise - ideal place to repair and restore”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I can say without any hesitation that my stay at Ban Mekkala was the best holiday I've had. A large group of 11 of us stayed here over Christmas and New Year and the house quite exceeded all of my expectations. Beautifully situated in a quiet and peaceful part of the island, the house was tranquil and luxurious in equal measures. Separate sleeping quarters gave us the privacy we needed but big communal spaces meant we could comfortably relax together. The house has fantastic facilities, including one of the most beautiful swimming pools I've ever seen, and the moment you step off the property you find yourself on an exquisite beach, which is calm and unspoilt.

What made this holiday so spectacular was the staff. Every meal was cooked for us by Tum, who aside from being exceedingly charming, was a master in the kitchen. I'm still dreaming of his Papaya salad! Coco, Sai, Kai and Eak were a joy to be around, always smiling and making this gorgeous house seem even more idyllic. But it was Fai, the villa manager, who elevated our stay to pure perfection. She was always ready to answer any questions we had and made sure we had everything we needed at any given time. Thank you to all those wonderful people who made this a holiday to daydream over during the long English winters!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon h
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best, most relaxing and luxurious holiday of our lives”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

11 of us spent 2 weeks over Xmas and new year in this wonderful villa by the sea in the quiet south of Koh Samui. Beautifully designed with care and no little artistry, this is a simply fabulous place to unwind, rest, heal and restore. Lots of spaces to gather communally or read on your own, the inviting sea before you, the infinity pool is quite fabulous and, at around 20m in length, is able to accommodate lap swimming.

What raises this villa from the merely fabulous to the simply sublime are the charming, helpful and thoughtful staff who discreetly tend to your every need: the fabulous cooking of Tum the chef; the lovely cleaners Sai and Kai; the helpful driver Eak; the cheerful and ever smiling Coco who tends the garden; but rising above even all of these wonderful people is the delightful Fai, the villa manager, who made our holiday the success it was by her patient answering of all our many questions and requests we bombarded her with on a daily basis. Thank you Fai. Thank you Ban Mekkala for the lingering memories.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the location and the staff
Liked least: I can't think of anything - at a pinch the bedside lights weren't the best for bedtime reading
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSLovesTr...
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Crystal Villa is one of the best Koh Samui has to offer”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had an amazing time at Crystal Villa. We had a group of 10 girls and everyone enjoyed our stay at the villa. The view is amazing (with glimps of sunset) as we are on the hill top. The pool feels like an infinity pool with great view. Most importantly, the staff are all very friendly and excellent cooks. We went out for a couple of meals and still felt the food at the villa are better than the food at the restaurant, so we ended up eating at the villa most of the time. Great way to spend your vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cooking
Liked least: Wish the shower in the bathroom is a bit stronger. Can't really take bath as it is either all cold water or all hot water. Too many light switches in the bedrooms but it didn't really bothered us that much.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocketsci...
Mission Viejo CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Cusine, Facilties and Staff”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My extended family of 9 stayed in this wonderful Villa for one week in June 2014. This turned out to be the proverbial "vacation of a lifetime".

The Villa and staff exceeded our high expectations. The Villa manager, Fi, and her staff responded to all of our needs and desires. We had virtually all of our meals at the Villa, and I must say, the Thai and western food was absolutely superb. We decided not to rent a car, and instead used the Villa driver and van for excursions on the island. This was a really good move, and I'm glad that I did not have to drive in sometimes hectic road conditions. Fi accompanied us on all trips, including several to a tailor, where we all had custom fitted suits and dresses made.

The outdoor cinema, which uses a projector and a large roll down screen, is terrific as we enjoyed movies most evenings via our iPhones and iPads using Apple TV.

Before arriving at the Villa, we stayed several days in Bangkok. We never saw a military person or a demonstration, and always felt secure. Bangkok hotels and restaurants were almost empty, and we were treated like royalty. In my opinion, this is a wonderful time to visit Thailand.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and staff
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham_zi...
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This villa is a very rare find....amazing beachfront which is perfect for long walks and a lush and spacious property perfect for a holiday get-away. We stayed with three other couples and all of our children....relaxing and many activities at your fingertips. The living area both near the kitchen and beside the pool is very comfortable with friendly staff who are excellent cooks. We look forward to returning!! Many thanks again

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing