We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Location”
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sign
Ranked #54 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2008

The Clarion Sign is a brand new hotel located centrally in Stockholm. It is a four minute walk from the station and the Arlanda Express that connectes you to the airport in 20 minutes. The area around the hotel is being regenerated, so for the next year or so, it will be a bit of a building site. It is located in a square which is also being renovated. The railway line runs behind the hotel, but none of the rooms over look this - though the spa does.

In relation to the rest of the city, it is on the edge of the shopping district, so not totally central, but Stockholm is compact so you are into the shops in a few minutes and down to the waterfront and the old town in about 10 minutes. The smart part of town is about 15 minutes walk - all very easy.

The hotel is very 'IKEA', very light, bright clean and clinical. The staff were excellent, very friendly and accommodating and always smiling. Rooms are very comfy (comfy beds) and a great bathroom, much bigger than normal hotel bathrooms, with a 'wet room' type shower, bath, double sinks etc.

The ground floor is very openplan, with breakfast room, Aquavit restaurant, bar lobby, all running into one. Breakfast is excellent - accoomodating all nationalities eating habits!

This is a conference hotel in the week with excellent meeting space and close to the city congress centre. As a visiting business person this hotel would not disappoint and for weekenders it is also a good choice - really what else would yuo need?

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank Swisst123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,270 of 3,768 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2008

A brand new hotel in the centre of Stockholm, but its surroundings are still a construction site.

The hotel itself is chic and classy, although pretty standard if you are used to conference hotels.

I looked forward to using the advertised roof pool when I arrived here, however it turned out you had to pay (as a hotel guest!!) 195 SEK to take a dip (equals 40 USD).

On Monday morning I politely asked for a late checkout, it could be arranged, for a fee of SEK 100 per half hour...

After spending 3 days in this hotel I just feel like they are trying to rip you off every chance they get, everything costs extra and the room was already expensive. The staff is not attentive or friendly, and treat the guests here as sheeple. For the price of the rooms here you can find plenty of charming stockholm hotels with a nicer service level. All in all I have just had a bad experience staying here. Clarion Sign, while only months old, already has bad karma.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank piroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

A mere 5 mins walk from the Central Terminal, this hotel was very convenient for us who had to catch an early flight in Skavsta as the bus leaves from the there. It is also mere walking distance to the tourist areas of old town etc so location wise it can't be beat.

The hotel itself exudes chic and beautiful people lounge in its sleek restaurant, bar and lobby to the point it seems crowded most of the time! We didn't get a chance to try any of the food or drinks though unfortunately..

The room is ultra-modern with flat screen tv, one-touch door locks, snazzy rain shower, chic reading chair, nice fluffy towels and the bed is unbelievably comfortable - only things are the room is small and we had the courtyard view which meant looking into other rooms across the courtyard!

Since we had an extremely early start we didn't get to try the breakfast as the kitchen has not opened by then but the hotel was kind enough to specially prepare some cereal and fresh fruits. Nice guys! Goes to show how the staff were friendly and courteous - we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnChiongLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

When we were in the hotel the last week of June, 2008, we looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor and it made interesting reading. Different people have different likes and dislikes. My wife and I both really liked this hotel. It is a block and a half from the Arlanda train shuttle from the airport (at the last Arlanda exit, cross the street and take the sidewalk just next to the building. At the end of the block, after walking on the temporary wooden walkway, you can see the hotel to your left). We liked the rooms, and we loved the buffet breakfast - whatever you like to eat for breakfast is on the buffet.

The room was a little sparse but that's the Swedish look. The TV was wide screen and HD, the room was very clean and the bed comfortable - for me those are the "Big 3" in rating a hotel. I also liked the free Wi-Fi connection. One reviewer was not impressed with the Aquavit restaurant in the hotel, neither was I. Here's a tip. Go up the street to the left of the hotel one block, turn left at the first corner and straight ahead is Monks Cafe - a nice little local place with something like 500 beers in stock and good food and friendly service. The hotel does not have a snack bar, but they do have 24 hour room service.

The staff could not have been better or more helpful. Should we return to Stockholm we certainly would stay in the Clarion Sign.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank richshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

A lovely and very modern place, wonderful service and a great room, but---

We do not understand the use of frosted glass AND clear glass between the room and the bathroom.

Why?

We have been married 52 years, but one does want one's privacy.

We used the Aquavit restaurant the night we arrived from Copenhagen by train. Fine food, but extremely expensive. I was never too terribly impressed by the Aquavit restaurant in Manhattan and did not come to Stockholm for more of the same.

Breakfast buffet was great. Employees of the hotel teriffic and helpful.

Great Expense Account Hotel for people who do not know the difference between Quatar, Manhattan and Stockholm

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tveskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#44 of 155 in Stockholm
2,988 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 155 in Stockholm
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#58 of 155 in Stockholm
1,399 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Address: 35 Oestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $191 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing