We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Architectural Iconocism”
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sign
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The Clarion Sign hotel is very near to the Arlanda Express, in a relatively bustle free area and yet not too far away from many of the Stockholm sights. The outside of the building is interesting and commands a good position on the south side of a grassy square.

There are many comments on Trip Advisor regarding the style and features within the building. Although the room I occupied was small, it did have most of the things available for a comfortable stay. The room was quiet but too warm for me - I found it difficult to sleep because of the room temperature - the air conditioner appeared to be ineffectual. There are recommendations on Trip Advisor to request a park side room for the view - on my visit the receptionist asked for an additional Euros 20 for one of these rooms.

Some of the room features were style orientated rather providing an effective and functional facility. Each floor has different chairs in the rooms; on the 6th floor the chairs were stylish but uncomfortable. The lights above the washbasin are bright but cast a shadow over your face when shaving. There was no safe in the room. Most irritating was the obscure approach to providing space to hang clothes; I was there for 5 days on my own but with a partner the lack of space would have been a problem.

The breakfast was OK but the layout of the room and the number of people using it, particularly at the weekend, gave it a hello campers atmosphere.

The staff were good. Helpful and cheery they are an asset for the hotel.

The hotel is not luxurious but is pleasant to stay in whilst it is still relatively new.

Room Tip: A park side room has the best view but you may be charged extra.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antarctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Room Division Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am very sorry that we could not satisfy your stay until 100 %.

If we were aware we had fixed aircooling problem and also ensured that you have received clothing rack for your wardrobe in the room. Most important we had been able to offer another room with other designed furniture which would be more comfortable for you.

Regarding our breakfast room we are looking at solutions to how we can get more personal atmosphere in our breakfast room, thanks for your feedback.

The above is only explanation from us and no excuses, and we thank you for your feedback once again.
If there is anything I can do please do not hesitate to contact me directly on my email address below.

Many thanks in advance.

Hakan Acikyol
Room Division Manager
Clarion Hotel Sign
hakan.acikyol@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,607)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Sign
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,145 of 3,608 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel was excellent, staff friendly, breacfast very good and location superb. The only minus comes from the fact that the pool and sauna were not free for the hotel guests. 20€ entrance is way too expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Hi,

Thanks for your review. Have a nice day and welcome back!

Best regards,
Charlotte Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Good location and Nice rooms.

Caotic breakfast! To many people. Hard to Find a table. They couldnt manage to clean the tables for new guests.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thank you for your feedback from your stay at Clarion Sign.

I am sorry to hear that our breakfast buffet didn’t live up to your expectations or the experience we want to mediate. I am though glad to be able to take part of your feedback because it’s of high importance for us in our job to improve our product. Our goal is of course that our guests will leave us happy and satisfied and that our breakfast gives them a good days start. Again I am sorry that we didn’t succeed with this that day.

I am though glad to hear that you liked our rooms and I hope to see you as our guest soon again!

Best Regards,
Charlotte Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Stayed here by default due to booking error at another hotel. Breakfast was busy but with a large selection. No room noise from adjoining rooms. Bathroom door didn't shut properly & offered little privacy due to large area of glass between bedroom & bathroom .A little walk to the old town which seemed longer at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monsoon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Hi,
Thanks for your review. I hope to see you as our guest soon again!
Best Regards,
Charlotte Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My wife and I stayed there for two nights---s part of our Scandinavian holiday. Excellent location---walking distance from Central Station---excellent bus and train connections to anywhere !

Good room--though rather small---and good views. The lobby and the frontage are very pleasing and comfortable.

The buffet breakfast is pretty good---reasonably wide choice even for vegetarians.

Unlike many other hotels, and gym, spa etc. are located on the top floor---giving a blue-sky view through the windows ! Much better than the basement facilities !

Service at the Front Desk is quite friendly and fast---including the luggage cloak room facility which is handled very competently.

Definitely worth recommending to friends and others---good value for money.

Room Tip: Due to rather high occupancy, largely depends on one's luck to get the best rooms. But worth tr...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundararajan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thanks for your review, I´m really glad to see that you had a nice stay here at Clarion Hotel Sign!I hope to see you as our guest soon again!

Best Regards,
Charlotte Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#43 of 154 in Stockholm
2,872 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 154 in Stockholm
2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,297 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Stockholm

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Address: 35 Oestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $234 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing