We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
5
2
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
2
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We stayed at the Renstierna Hotel with our friends. We were 6 in total and booked a room for 6. The room was OK. Enough space and the beds were good. Only a very, very small bathroom (more like a shower in a closet). But, there was another shower and toilet opposite of our room, so we could use that one as well. The toilet in the room was seperate from the "closet-shower", which is comfortable if your with 6.
The organic breakfast was perfect. Enough to chose from. OK, it was not a smörgasbröd breakfastbuffet, but what could you expect for this price ? If you want more
luxury and a big buffet, you do not book a hostel.
The staff is very nice and helpful. So if you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Stockholm, we would advise this hostel.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Irene012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We spent two nights in Stockholm this month, one night in a hostel in the old town and one night in this hotel. It was quite a long walk from the Old Town so probably not the best location for the train/bus station or for exploring the Royal Palace etc. It is in Sodermalm which is quite a trendy area of Stockholm with some cool shops and bars, but it is quite far from the main thoroughfare.

Plus points - the room decor was cool (giraffe print bedspread, shelves of interesting African-themed knick knacks), the bed was comfy, the room was clean and had an en-suite bathroom and satellite tv channels. The staff we met were all very friendly, and the all you could eat organic breakfast buffet of cereals, breads, juices, tea and coffee was very nice.

Negatives - Hotel is fairly noisy, there were a fairly large group staying when we were there who sat and drank beers in the breakfast room and played music until midnight, then went out to a club and came back and made a lot of noise at around 4am. Not the hotel's fault but no one made any effort to tell them to keep the noise down. Slightly out of the way location is a bit of a drawback. Major negative was the wiring in the bathroom - the e-suite is absolutely tiny and rather than actually have a shower with doors and a shower tray or even a shower over a bath there is just a shower with a thin curtain right beside the sink. When anyone uses the shower, the whole bathroom gets absolutely soaked which is a bit annoying, but beside the sink (literally about a foot/30cm away from shower) there were all sorts of wires just hanging out of the wall which seemed to be a nasty accident just waiting to happen. This was the only real drawback for me but it was a potentially pretty serious one...

Has the feel of a quirky, quite upmarket hostel but definitely (as with a lot of things in Stockholm) the price tag of a hotel

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maevedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2008

We left this placed with mixed feelings. We mostly booked here due to the positive reviews on this website, but it didn't quite live up to them. Maybe because we booked a double, private room rather than a hostel dorm room.

Our room was quite small, and there were skylights rather than windows. The bathroom was tiny (shower and toilet in one). The one very odd thing was that when one of the neighbouring rooms used their bathroom, a water pump in the wall would kick into action, and the gushing water made it sound like you were underwater or in a submarine. The was also a lot of noise through the door as people moved around.

There was no breakfast prepared on our first morning, and other patrons had left a note on the office door expressing their unhappiness. We left too early the next morning to see if there was some that morning.

Regardless of these things, the hotel was located in an excellent location. The staff were also friendly, and were particularly helpful in allowing us to have a shower before our room had been cleaned after we arrived later than expected.

So a weird experience - not a hotel I would rave about, but also not a hotel where I found any things that were particularly bad/unpleasant. It's just cheap and basic, which is always needed in a place as expensive as Stockholm.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

We stayed in a double room ensuite. The room and bathroom were small but looked freshly painted and were spotlessly clean. The staff was very helpful, and the breakfast buffet was much better than we expected. It was easy to find from the subway-the hotel had sent good directions. The beds were very comfortable. This was one of our best experiences staying in a hostel and we were very pleased overall.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pian0_teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

I stayed in the Renstierna for a couple of nights in May 2007. I found them when everything was booked in Stockholm. I booked through their website, where you have to give a deposit (around 12 dol in my case), and when I arrived I payed the rest.
I was little afraid because the hostel is quite apart of "everything", but it wasn't a problem at all. Just in the door you can catch several lines of buses wich take you everywhere (if you buy the 72 hours pass you can go everywhere!).

The place is clean and nice. I stayed in a coed 6 beds room, with bathroom inside and tv. The bed was very confortable, and they look very clean. Maybe the only issue was that the upper bed was quite high and the climbing could be challenging.

The rooms have lockers, but you have to take your own lock.

The (included) breakfast was great, and a very good plus in an expensive city as Stockholm. They have a computer with Internet for the guests, sometimes you have to wait, but nothing serious.

I would come back to this place again, is not expensive (a miracle in Scandinavia), clean, with good transportation, good breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Daniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews