We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hellsten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hellsten
Ranked #35 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Charming hotel in an old building where the style of the “ancient days” are well kept. Very helpful and serviceminded staff.
Seems as if there are many different rooms. We got a small, charming room in the top floor, while others in our group had huge rooms with draped king size beds, stove and sitting area. The bathroom was also small, but nice.
Great breakfast, but hair in the milk and in the butter the last morning made it a bit unappetizing. I also found some long hair between my two pillows when I came to bed the first night – which made me question the cleanliness.
A very quiet area, but the walls were not at all soundproof. We could hear when the guests in the room next door walked on their floor or talked in the corridor.
If you’re looking for a hotel different from the “sterile” and “A4-type”-hotels, this is definitely the right choice. All in all an interesting and charming experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room with a draped poster bed if you want something extra spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norskgjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    417
    132
    41
    11
See reviews for
95
430
102
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We booked at Rex Hotel,but were upgraded to Hellsten,4 star hotel.Even bathroom was small the confort of the room was very ok!Very warm atmosphere,excellent staff:reception,bar&restaurant!Excellent live jazz concert!Good location!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tkokkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks with work. Hotel is nice and personalised, in good central location 10 min walk to Drottningatan (main shopping st), friendly staff, really good breakfast.
The only drawbacks are that the gym is only ok and the rooms are tiny with no storage facilities.It is therefore quite expensive for you get.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor from breakfast room, as rooms look out onto breakfast room.avoid single rooms as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COCONNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We booked this as we were visiting Stockholm for a city break.
The hotel is in a good location about a 25-30 minute walk from the main shopping area and waterfront, or alternatively a very short metro ride.
Check in was quick and friendly. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was good and the free internet access in the lounge was a big bonus.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
523 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

This hotel is definitely not worth what you pay for. My single room was the smallest room I have ever stayed in (even during my student years). A tiny bed that was all. Not even if this would have been a monastery or a small hotel in Tokyo it would have been okay. Yes, it was clean and yes it is centrally located, but this does not make up for the size of the room, the poor service, and the price. Finally, the website with it’s big room, nice bed, etc. is very misleading!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GothenburgProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHellsten, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Professor Gothenburg
I have read your criticism on my hotel. I would like to know more about your visit to Hellsten, because I cannot recognize what you forward in your review. You are angry because you feel the room you got was too small. But you have booked a small single room and you got a small single room. All our rooms are of different sizes, since Hotel Hellsten is in an old building and this is clearly stated on the website.
What puzzles me is that you did not come forward with your dissatisfaction to the reception during your visit and informed them you were not happy with the room. They would have done all in their capacity to give you a better room. That is our policy. We do not want an unhappy guest to leave my hotel. You did not give us a chance to rectify your impression.
I am apologising for the fact that you were dissatisfied.
At the same time astonished to hear that you complain about bad service. I cannot take away your individual impression, but I must contradict you. This is not what most other reviews on Trip Advisor reveal. Nor is this what you read on the guestbook in our lobby which is full of praise for the excellent service my staff is said to give.
And just a short note on your comment on furnishing in the room; besides the bed, all rooms are equipped with a writing desk and two chairs. The bathroom is dressed by a slate stone and they all have telephone inside. Free internet and free breakfast is part of our service.
Per Hellsten
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
#17 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Vasastan
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#62 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#25 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#52 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#49 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hellsten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hellsten

Property: Hotel Hellsten
Address: 68 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price range (per night): $154 - $310
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hellsten 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel in the centre of Stockholm. Close to everything with quiet and intriguing rooms. Hotel Hellsten attracts exciting guests from all parts of the world. We who work here want to ensure that your stay in Stockholm is both successful and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hellsten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing