We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long walk and faulty elevator”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Norra Bantorget
Ranked #87 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Long walk and faulty elevator”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The location in central Stockholm is great! Just a short walk, and you're in the main shopping streets in Stockholm. Some of the rooms in the hotel, however, are located in a rather odd way. I had to take an elevator (which only worked half the time) up several floors, then walk through zig-zag corridors, and take another elevator, and walk another corridor to get to my room. I got a nice room with excellent view, though. Got good nights' sleep as well, even if the hotel is located in central Stockholm. Breakfast was included and of good quality. The hotel is located near a conference centre, which was perfect for me, attending a conference be held there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    343
    276
    86
    36
See reviews for
170
236
71
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alesund, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Nicely located in a quiet area, yet close to the main shopping area and not far from Gamle Stan, Djurgården and other attractions (walking distance). Impressive breakfast, nice rooms. Very comfortable beds :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norwegian000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Definitely the best part of this hotel is the in this hotel is the location, it is really close to city and it is easy to access the transportation.

The hotel itself is not the newest and the rooms are pretty old, and they have not been remodeled lately. Hoverer they serve the purpose and we had got time in Stockholm. There are so many things to do there, time was just flying.

Breakfast in the morning was typical Scandic breakfast, no big complaints.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linköping, Ostergotlands Lan, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Good location, close to the city centre and the train station. Nicely decorated lobby and a tasty breakfast with healthy options.

Their web site tell about the rooms being designed with inspiration from the 50's and 60's OR newly designed rooms with a view over the roof tops of Stockholm. Well, I wonder where I ended up then... My room felt old and a bit worn, although clean. The view was a joke, all I could see from my window was a sloping roof and large pipes. Nothing else. There was a constant noise in the room, as if someone was having a shower. Woke me up during the night and I'm a person that usually sleeps through anything.

The chair is to low compared to the desk, so it's impossible to sit there and work. There was no wall socket close to the bed. There's no hair conditioner offered, and the shampoo smells weird. The shower has no 'pressure', as with many of the environmentally friendly but useless showers you find these days.

This was a room to (almost) sleep in and a roof over my head. Nothing more.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilnius
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I would call this hotel "Motel Scandic" because I felt like in the old motel. Room was good in size, clean but other things were unacceptable: elevator all the time was used by staff and I was waiting for 10 minutes for going to 4th floor to my room, breakfast terrible: avarage food with the few corn choices, scrambled eggs but uncleaned tables, no waiters and no space for sitting, brrrrr... I do not recomend this hotel for anybody because you will feel similar like staying in the train station which is not far from there...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lescol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#28 of 154 in Stockholm
455 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#40 of 154 in Stockholm
375 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Klara
Scandic Klara
#70 of 154 in Stockholm
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
1,515 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
#89 of 154 in Stockholm
530 reviews
Norrmalm
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#93 of 154 in Stockholm
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Stockholm

Been to Scandic Norra Bantorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Norra Bantorget

Property: Scandic Norra Bantorget
Address: 15 Wallingatan, Stockholm 111 24, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price range (per night): $167 - $339
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Norra Bantorget 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the central Stockholm hotel, Scandic Norra Bantorget, within walking distance of Stockholm's best shops, theatres and attractions. The hotel has a great location in Stockholm. The hotel is close to Stockholm's top sights, great shopping opportunities, popular restaurants, plenty of entertainment and more. The popular spa, Centralbadet, is located just around the corner from the hotel and Stockholm's Central Station with airport buses, trains and metro are within walking distance. At Scandic Norra Bantorget you can enjoy a delicious meal in our cosy restaurant or if you just want to relax with a drink, you are welcome to our bar. During summer, you can enjoy the sunshine from our terrace. Borrow walking poles and head out for a brisk walk around Stockholm, we also have bicycles for you to borrow in the hotel's reception. We offer free wireless Internet access in all hotel rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Norra Bantorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Norra Bantorget Stockholm
Scandic Norra Bantorget Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing