We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Older Hotel”
Review of Hotel Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #68 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Esplanade for four nights in early August 2011 and we were delighted with the ambience, the spacious rooms, the views, and the breakfast buffet included in the room price. The hotel is ideally located within a block of a major bus and tram stop and it is two short blocks from the heart of Stockholm's upscale shopping district. It is a modest walk to old town and many museums, restaurants, and tourist sites. We would happily stay here again when visiting Stockholm. This is an older hotel in a grand location that is, however, a bit past its prime. But for those who enjoy smaller hotels and great service, the price is right and the rooms are amazingly large and comfortable. The hotel is a short cab right to the Arlanda express train to the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street tend to be a bit noisy, but they also have the best views. There is much les...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeKWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Esplanade
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

We want to give this hotel a wonderful review but we can't. We loved the great location, the cute courtyard entrance, the wonderful curved staircase, the gorgeous original stained glass everywhere, the helpful (though a little icy) reception people, and the sauna! But the guest room we stayed in was ...dreadful. :-( The cheap, mismatched furnishings, soiled wallcovering, absence of aircon/fan, street noise, and dowdy 1975 bathroom made us wince. Our recommendation is to pay the extra amount for room 10 or room 14 and really enjoy this grande dame. Otherwise, don't waste your money .... :-(

Room Tip: Choose room 10 or room 14.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This old fashioned hotel is old school in the best of ways: welcoming, helpful, cozy and delightful. My husband and I found it through an Uppsala friend, recommended as a place that Swedes like. We could have not been more pleased. 38 rooms (on ground and 1st floor--no elevator, but staff helps carry up luggage), some with Strandvagen/water views and balcony, others overlooking the courtyard. Nice sitting rooms and free WiFi and computer. Moreover, the staff would print out documents (free) and help with reservations--everyone seemed to try to make our stay as pleasant as possible. This is not a modern hotel, but it is well kept and immaculate. Ostermalm is the best of locations, having stayed in noisy Gamla Stan before (and never will again!). Breakfast was superb, and could be eaten outside or in. The clientele tends to be Scandinavian, something we really like. You don't feel like a tourist, but like a seasoned guest.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NonnaBegonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

f you want something different the the ordinary chainhotel, this is the place for you! We had a huge room facing cornerview of Strandvagen. This ment closing the windows at night to enable some sleep. Due to the lack of aircondition it gave us some hot nights. But who cares the room was full of charm with old furniture but new beds, the extrabeds for the kids were great and very comfortable. Plenty of space even if we had a dubbelbed, two extrabeds, a sofa with two armchairs and a desk. Tv on the room and a nice bathroom.
Breakfast was like having it at a friends house, small breakfastroom and no prepacked, sliced cheese.But it has everything you can possibly need for breakfast. There is a guestcomputer in the tv-room downstairs.
Location is great with walking distance to Djurgarden witch meens you don´t have to wait for the crowded bus nr 47. The tram and the bus run on Strandvagen just outside the hotel so you can make your own choice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sommarcatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I only have positive things to say about my stay at the hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room was very cozy and clean (everything looked new) and the breakfast delicious. I booked the smallest single room, but they bumped me up to a larger room with a queen-size bed without any extra cost. I will surely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan_Norlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#69 of 154 in Stockholm
723 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,579 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
330 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Stockholm

Been to Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade

Address: 7A Strandvaegen, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#47 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $209 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing