We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, central hotel”
Review of Scandic S:t Jorgen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
251 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good value, central hotel”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The hotel is a really good position, in the center of the city. It is a classic Scandic hotel, with decent rooms and a good breakfast and lunch buffet

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    340
    150
    37
    23
See reviews for
213
176
67
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We enjoyed staying at the Scandic St. Jorgen very much. The rooms were great (clean and comfortable) and the location was right in the midst of bustling downtown Malmo! We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingNut1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night, booked for me by work.

I liked the location, which was very central. The area was pleasant and I went for walks in the evening and early in the morning. The breakfast was also good and the TV channels kept me entertained in the evening. Those were the good points.

At check in, the receptionist insisted on a 15% deposit for services (whatever they might have been), even though breakfast and wifi were included in the rate and there was no minibar in the room. I refused to pay it and to the receptionist's credit, no deposit was taken. I think this practice of unjustified deposits is unacceptable and is becoming more and more of a nuisance when travelling.

The room felt a bit dirty and old and it had a strange smell. It was adequate though and it had everything I needed, including an iron. The bed was reasonably comfortable. However, at 4am, I was woken up by the TV in the adjoining room. The guest obviously had to get up early, but this woke me up with no chance of going back to sleep. I had a long day ahead of me and I didn't like getting woken up so early.

The breakfast was good, with lots of choice of cold and hot food items including porridge.

I wouldn't stay again if I had the choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwincheekymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed one night at Scandic St:Jorgen. We payed 600 sek. for bed and breakfast. Very cheap I think. Lobby was very new and nice, we took the elevator to 5. floor and landed in 1980. It was such a surprice. A yellow surprice. Permanent easter. With a tube TV. But the breakfast was really nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schleins Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We stayed here for a conference and were very pleased. The room was clean and average-sized, the bathroom roomy, the staff helpful, the internet worked, and the breakfast was tasty. A good deal for the area!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0tL0stJustWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Scandic Malmo City
#14 of 37 in Malmo
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#11 of 37 in Malmo
1,249 reviews
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#20 of 37 in Malmo
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic S:t Jorgen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic S:t Jorgen

Property: Scandic S:t Jorgen
Address: 35 Stora Nygatan, Malmo 211 37, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price range (per night): $93 - $318
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic S:t Jorgen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic St. Jörgen's 288 rooms include a wide selection of rooms from fresh cabin rooms (rooms without window) and standard rooms to large family rooms and suites. Many of the rooms have views overlooking the shopping street and Gustav Adolfs Torg.In our newly renovated lobby restaurant, located in connection with the reception, we serve tasteful drinks and good food. In our shop we have salads and sandwiches for sale, and why not try out our popular shrimp sandwich?Scandic S:t Jörgen is located in the city center and you will find good shopping, culture and entertainment just around the corner. Malmö has plenty of museums with different directions – everything from art from the 20th century, natural history and sports to theatre, chocolate and the City tunnel. You can also visit the cosy Little Square or the trendy West Harbour, which are two popular gatheringpoints especially during spring and summer. The West Harbour is situated within bicycle distance from the hotel. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals. For families, visit the Funhouse or have a swim at the adventurous Aq-va-kul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic S:t Jorgen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic St. Jorgen Hotel
Scandic St Jorgen Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing