We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for New Year's Eve”
Review of Scandic Triangeln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Triangeln
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Everyone gathers at the Opera House for New Years Eve and the Hilton is just a couple blocks away. It's location is great for seeing the sites in Malmo and close to an ethnic neighborhood and the train station. Right next to a shopping mall. Parking is 16 euro/day, in a covered garage. The hotel is fine - nice, with good bathrooms, the staff accommodating. Internet is NOT free, nor is the breakfast. There are a few english-speaking TV stations.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaroldsMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 377 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

I have stayed at the Hilton Malmo in mid December for my birthday weekend.

Hotel itself is tired and would do with some refreshing.
Rooms good size but nothing special, although bed was really comfy.

There is no swimming pool or spa which you would expect in 4* hotel in the city center.

Restaurant is small and overpriced, not enough too choose from.

All staff really friendly and helpful, especially Petra at reception and Markus in the bar.

Overall a good hotel with great location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rokokoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Location is at the end of the main shopping street and close to the city center. The hotel looks pretty old from the outside, but everything is very well maintained inside. Great view from the room and excellent service from the reception, where the receptionist actually called the room after check-in to check if I knew that I could get a cheaper rate through my company. Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasperbrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I was in town presenting at a conference in this hotel, so it was a natural choice. Only 15 minutes form the Copenhagen airport: the Triangeln Station is virtually 5 min walk.
Good service, large room with a nice view over the city, smooth working wi-fi and above-average breakfast. The bar closed rather early and the restaurant was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannythyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMalmoCity, Front Office Supervisor at Scandic Triangeln, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Thank you for taking your time to write a comment about our hotel.

We are very proud of the breakfast restaurant, in my opinion, it is fantastic.

I'm glad that you had a good stay at our hotel and I am truly sorry that the restaurant was a bit of disappointment

Regards
Lottie // Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Sorry, but this is not good enough.

Inexperienced (trainee?) reception staff, who have no clue if they should answer the ringing phone or tend to the 13 people in line for check-in (not arriving at the same time).

Rooms are very nice, but questionable hosekeeping staff as the bathrooms are NOT clean. My collegue next door felt exactly the same.

Bar/Restaurant staff are friendly until you ask for anything out of the ordinary. What Bartender in an International Hotel doesn't know how to make a simple Bloody Mary??? "Excuse me Sir, is that gin and tomato juice?" Hello!!!!!!!!

No, there are other Hotels with better prices, location and service in Malmoe.

Room Tip: Lower Floors. The elevator is scary, noisy and quite frankly sounds like it's falling apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 747FAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMalmoCity, Front Office Supervisor at Scandic Triangeln, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Hi

I am sorry that you did not find your stay to be of Hilton Standard. The trainee you mentioned at the front desk is exactly this, a trainee who is here to observe and to learn, and is not supposed to do things unsupervised.
I am glad that you found the room to be nice and I find it unfortunate that both you and your college was unhappy with the housekeeping department.
And yes of course the bartender should know how to make a "bloody Mary" and for this I am truly sorry.

Best Regards
Lottie // Front Office Supervisor


Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 36 in Malmo
999 reviews
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 36 in Malmo
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Triangeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Triangeln

Address: 2 Triangeln, Malmo 211 43, Sweden (Formerly Hilton Malmo City)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Malmo
#6 Family Hotel in Malmo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: $157 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Triangeln 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Malmö’s vibrant city centre, Scandic Triangeln is ideally located for you to enjoy all of the attractions that Malmö has to offer. Triangeln Train Station is just around the corner from the hotel, conveniently connecting you to both Copenhagen Airport and Malmö Airport by train and bus. Our hotel features 20 floors, providing you with fantastic views of Malmö city. Guests can avail of complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel, 24 hour service, gym and sauna facilities and access to parking under the hotel. Looking to indulge in a more luxurious experience? Book one of our relaxing spa treatments in the comfort of your own room. Our restaurant serves up everything from street food inspired dishes to classic cuisine with a contemporary twist. Alternatively take time to unwind in our intimate and cosy lounge with something to drink from the bar. If you feel like exploring the charming city of Malmö, why not borrow one of our bicycles to take you easily around town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Triangeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malmo City Hotel
Hilton Hotel Malmo City
Hilton Hotel Malmö
Malmö Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing