We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Hilton but it's got some problems.....”
Review of Scandic Triangeln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Triangeln
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I will start by acknowledging the good points of the Malmo Hilton: professional & friendly staff, a nice gym on the top floor overlooking the city and it's conveniently located in the city center close to many stores, restaurants and cafes. The nightly rate is what you would expect for a Hilton: around $200/night/person including breakfast, which was first-rate. However, there are two things that this hotel needs to work on: 1) There is a bit of decay in some of the furniture. In my room, for example, the some of the wooden doors were noticeably chipped at the bottom, which did not create a good impression. 2) They need to provide free wireless internet access throughout the building. Wi-Fi is no longer a luxury item, as even very modest hotels offer it at no extra cost. At this Hilton (and probably others in the chain) they bill you around $25 per day for Wi-Fi. The managers of this hotel would be better off rising the nightly rate to $225/night if they need the money rather than surprising guests with that fee once they are arrive and they no longer have a choice. This is about public relations because nobody likes to feel nickled and dimed, even when you are travelling on your company's expense account. When I booked my stay here I expected above average quality and I got some of that, but there were also problems and therefore I will be avoiding the Hilton chain for a while.

Room Tip: If you still want to stay at this hotel, ask for a room in the upper floors to get a good view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Born_yesterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 382 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Nice hotel. Good, friendly service from Lottie when I arrived- offered me the wifi code rather than having to ask for it (or in the case of most Hiltons pay for it). Rooms were fairly basic as with most Scandinavian hotels but certainly sufficiently equipped. Lots of power sockets, etc. Iron was a bit annoying, kept leaking water and almost tore my shirt in 2! Bathroom was very basic- again, this seems to be more common in the nordics. In the room there was water, crisps, snacks etc which you have to pay for but are convenient.

Views from the lifts were impressive, its around ten minutes walk from the hilton over to the central station via Gustav Adolfs Torg and is close to Triangeln, which is a closer station from Copenhagen.
4/5 is a bit high- maybe 3.5, but overall absolutely fine for business travel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Not a huge amount to say about the hotel itself as it's a fairly typical modern Hilton, much the same as you would find in much of the world. Location is great for the train across to Copenhagen and pretty central for Malmo but it's the customer service that has prompted me to write this review. From arranging a babysitter prior to our arrival to the greeting at the front desk all the staff we encountered were incredibly friendly and helpful. Some noisy neighbours could have ruined the stay but the management were excellent in their prompt dealing of the situation. If only all big corporate hotels made this much effort.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt70380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMalmoCity, Front Office Supervisor at Scandic Triangeln, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Hilton Malmö City.

I am happy that you got exceptional service from the Front Desk Team. I promise that I will forward this feedback.
I am truly sorry about your neighbors, it was me working that night so I recognize your problem.
I hope that we will get the opportunity to have you as a guest soon again, welcome back to Hilton Malmö City!

Regards
Lottie // Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We ran a VIP event for around 50 of our top customers at this hotel and overall it was very good - the rooms were comfortable, the events facilities were good and the restaurant and bar were well run. Service was better than other hotels I've stayed at in Malmo.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relax_calvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Right next to the new train station and shopping centre at Triangeln.
Hard to find any problems with the hotel at all. Nice lobby, nice staff, nice room.
Small downsides are very small in-room bar/fridge (cooling any drink you bought elsewhere is tricky) and no bathrobe provided.
Nice view of Malmo if you get a room a few floors up.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMalmoCity, Front Office Supervisor at Scandic Triangeln, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your visit.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

if you need space to cool your drink another time when you visit us just ask the front desk staff and they will help you.

Have a nice day and welcome back to Malmö

Lottie Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 36 in Malmo
999 reviews
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 36 in Malmo
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Triangeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Triangeln

Address: 2 Triangeln, Malmo 211 43, Sweden (Formerly Hilton Malmo City)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Malmo
#6 Family Hotel in Malmo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: $156 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Triangeln 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Malmö’s vibrant city centre, Scandic Triangeln is ideally located for you to enjoy all of the attractions that Malmö has to offer. Triangeln Train Station is just around the corner from the hotel, conveniently connecting you to both Copenhagen Airport and Malmö Airport by train and bus. Our hotel features 20 floors, providing you with fantastic views of Malmö city. Guests can avail of complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel, 24 hour service, gym and sauna facilities and access to parking under the hotel. Looking to indulge in a more luxurious experience? Book one of our relaxing spa treatments in the comfort of your own room. Our restaurant serves up everything from street food inspired dishes to classic cuisine with a contemporary twist. Alternatively take time to unwind in our intimate and cosy lounge with something to drink from the bar. If you feel like exploring the charming city of Malmö, why not borrow one of our bicycles to take you easily around town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Triangeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malmo City Hotel
Hilton Hotel Malmo City
Hilton Hotel Malmö
Malmö Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing