We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay, take you own curtains”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Camp Ripan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camp Ripan
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, take you own curtains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

The cabin was spacious with a kitchenette (fridge, electric kettle, mugs, wine glasses and corkscrew) and a parking spot. There was also a ski-box.
Breakfasts are served in a main building and there were fine however I have never seen pancakes (only placeholder for them) - maybe I was just unlucky.
There was also a swimming pool in the nearby, but it was too cold for me to swim (air temperature was about 16 Celsius degrees).

In the room there were only window blinds and no curtains, so during white nights it was bright in the room. Also because of the window in the entrance door.
Our shower cabin was leaking so we had wet floor in the bathroom during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlukow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    172
    53
    15
    5
See reviews for
104
148
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My six year old son and I stopped 2 nights at Camp Ripan at the end of an "Aurora Hunting" trip to northern Sweden in March 2012. I chose Camp Ripan because of its location on the outskirts of town (Kiruna) in the hope that any auroral activity would be less affected by the city lights, and also because from their website the Camp appeared to be child friendly and have plenty of activities.

Our cabin was relatively spacious with ensuite bathroom, a kitchenette, dining table, TV and sofa. The beds were comfortable.

The buffet breakfast had a decent selection of items. Dinner was very good - loved the Swedish Meatballs - but prices were quite high. If you're travelling with children, as I was, you might find it difficult to find anything they will eat from the dinner menu. They did not have a children's menu. I asked one evening if it would be possible to simply have some french fries, but the answer from the kitchen was "no". For adults though there was plenty to choose from.

On our last night we were treated to a magnificent Aurora. I'll post a photo showing how clearly visible it was even with the lights of the cabin in the foreground.

Overall, a nice place to spend a couple of days, although a bit on the pricey side I thought.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkabout59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

A group of 13 of us stayed at Camp Ripan overnight before moving to the ice hotel. We arrived around 1900. I booked direct through the hotel and also booked a table in the restaurant. Food in the hotel was lovely, prices are reasonable for the area. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We were all placed near one another rather than half of our party being separated. The accommodation was warm and clean.
Camp Ripan is approx a 10 minute walk away. The staff gave us clear directions. Kiruna is not large city but defiantly worth a look around.

I was unsure as i had read reviews, but Camp Ripan exceeded our party's expectations. We would have been happy to stay for longer at Camp Ripan :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We were advised that Camp Ripan was a decent place to stay and that the accomodation was equivilant to a four star hotel. What a joke if this is 4 star then I don't know where they get this from.
Mildew in the shower room, no teaspoons or any other cutlery for that matter. When we asked reception for teaspoons it was as if we had asked for a 24 carot gold ingot to be put in our room. Where people have mentioned upgrades they obviously are very easily pleased. I have never stayed in such poor accomodation EVER.
Rude receptionist. One good point was the bar staff who were polite.
People we met referred to the camp as Camp RIPOFF and I can only but agree.

Room Tip: Dont stay in Camp Ripan
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Camp Ripan! Our first night we were blessed with an early check-in, (one couple was upgraded), great dinner, and the northern lights. Each activity we planned was fun and exciting. One of the people in our group broke a leg 2 weeks prior and the staff were more than accommodating with respect to the location of our cabin and assisting with helping to keep the foot/cast warm and dry. The breakfast was a typical swedish hotel b'fast, nothing fancy...but plentiful and full of variety. The lunch menu is set each day so it's either take the 1 dish on the menu or leave it....we ate lunch twice and both times it was good and hearty. Dinners were fabulous! yes, they have a very limited variety, but what they do....they do great! Maybe for people not accustomed to prices in sweden it could seem expensive, but we were pleasantly surprised at the price for the quality! "best of sweden" dinner is not to be missed! all staff were friendly and helpful, since our train didn't leave till late in the afternoon, they allowed us a late check-out at 3pm for no extra fee. there is a small gift shop, winter clothing store, and snack store in the reception area. we plan on going back for a summer trip and once again next winter (hopefully with no broken bones). it's about a 10 minute walk to the nearest ica and the city center. we opted for the hotel to pick us up at the train station, 95sek per person. we had some miscommunication in our group and thought transport back to the train station was also planned, alas it was not. however, the hotel called a taxi for us and it cost 170sek for all 5 of us.....definitely use sverige taxi for a more economical transport to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cstroup77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
14.9 km away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.8 km away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
0.9 km away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Bishops Arms
Hotel Bishops Arms
#2 of 3 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Ripan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Ripan

Property: Camp Ripan
Address: 5 Campingvaegen, Kiruna 981 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Price range (per night): $183 - $325
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camp Ripan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Ripan is a comfortable and stimulating place, beautifully situated with the heart of Kiruna on one side, and the wilderness of Lapland on the other. This offers a wonderful contrast and the experience of having the nature right outside your cabin door is unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camp Ripan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Ripan Kiruna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing