We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An idyllic retreat”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Elsdon, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heidi S
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“An idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in April 2014

Townfoot Cottage provides a wonderful escape from the city. The living space is cosy and welcoming, but also has a bright and uncluttered feel. Everything you might need is to hand but there is also room to settle in. We were traveling with an infant and we appreciated that there is ample space for extra items such as a travel cot, car seat and pushchair. The beds upstairs had lovely plush duvets and provided a delightful night’s sleep.

During our stay we took advantage of the location and explored Elsdon's Motte and Bailey and St Cuthbert’s Church. Later we took a scenic walk to Darden Lough. We also enjoyed just staying in the cottage, relishing the peace and quiet. The cottage owner lives next door and is readily available but we noticed that they walk to and from the main house using an alternate gate, so as not to disturb us. These sorts of thoughtful gestures helped make our stay perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for your comments. This property looks perfect to help you escape the hustle and bustle of the the city. We hope your young child had a lovely time! It's fantastic that you had a chance to explore the beautiful surrounding area. It's always nice when the owners are so thoughtful and it can really help to make a good holiday into a perfect one. Let's get you booked in for another escape to the country soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Reviewed 6 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gerry H
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Townfoot Cottage for a week last fall and were very favourably impressed. The cottage is well-equipped for any weather: there’s an effective central heating and hot water system and a marvellous wood-burning stove in the sitting room that we used in the cooler evenings.
There are also board games, Freeview TV, DVD player with a selection of DVDs, and a small library of novels. We were blessed with a warm sunny week and got in some lovely hill walks in the area. There’s a little-known local walk up to Darden Lough that’s well worth the effort with panoramic views from the lake at the top of the hill. All in all we had a fantastic stay at the cottage. It was perfect for us and we will be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable cottage and the out-of-the-way feel of its location
Liked least: Having to leave after just one week!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Reviewed 18 December 2009 for a stay in February 2009
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Good taste and location
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing