We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average but fine for those on a budget” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copenhagen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ascot Apartments
Ranked #60 of 115 Hotels in Copenhagen
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average but fine for those on a budget”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed at the ascot apart hotel with two friends. Our studio apt was for 4 adults - though I seriously don't see where the fourth one world have stayed as the sofa bed was teeny tiny : even by European standards. So, the good:
Great central location
Better value than a hotel (the city is sooo expensive so this is a big plus)
Helpful staff
Self catering facilities (again useful given how much eating out costs)
Good bathroom/shower.
The not so good:
Apartment was not terribly well cleaned and smelled strongly of cigarette smoke (as did whole block)
Uncomfortable twin beds in the tiniest dbl room I have ever seen. For once the sofa bed was comfier!!!
Noise alert: there is a dance music venue directly across the street every Saturday. The loud music & shouting was still going on when we were catching a cab to the airport at 6am.The worst I have encountered anywhere.

All in all very average.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1984travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    161
    75
    42
    32
See reviews for
156
71
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

The Ascot Apartments is very basic with dated decor. The apartment was clean and spacious in an excellent location.

The hall way smelt rather smokey and the apartment had a musty odour. The appearance was very dated and lacked any glamour.

The apartment wasn't as bad as I was anticipating, it was clean and warm a good place to rest our heads for two nights. However I'm glad it was only two nights.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessy2kn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

After reading some of the other reviews I wonder if there are two hotels with this name?

The hotel and apartments are obviously old and this is noticeable in the facilities and throughout the room. Getting around the hotel with a young child in a pram was virtually not possible because of all the stairs. Where there was a lift it was barely big enough for two people to stand in. This meant 2 suitcases, a pram, 2 people and a baby of 8 weeks needed 3 journeys up and down in the lift before we got everything into the rooms.

Upon arriving in the room it became apparent that the hotel had not renovated the rooms for many years, don't be mistaken by the Professional photos on the site!

The bed was a disaster, tilting inwards where obviously someone very heavy had been lying in the middle of the bed for several years. Kitchen utensils were dirty and the bathroom stunk of urine.

On checkout day they knocked on our door at 1100 and the maid asked why we were still there? 10 minutes later we were contacted by reception and told that we had 15 minutes to vacate the apartment or be charged extra. After 3 lift journeys we made the deadline.

I have no idea how this can be a 4* hotel? There must be different ratings systems in Denmark.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I was nervous about staying here but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and spacious. The sofa bed wasn't terribly comfortable but that is not surprising. We didn't cook but I did use the coffee filters and hot water heater. It was also nice to have a shower/bathtub arrangement, since the accommodations that followed on our trip (in B&Bs) were either wet bathrooms or uncomfortably small shower stalls.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JQKhitstheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

After the terrible night at hotel Propellen in Legoland we arrived to paradise, to Ascot Apartements. The suite had double space, triple quality and it did cost only half the price of Propellen. Suites were new and super for our party of 2 adults and 3 kids. Service and breakfast were excellent! We will go back next time, absolutely!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loves-to-travel358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#64 of 115 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#35 of 115 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 115 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#7 of 115 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#50 of 115 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#48 of 115 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Apartments

Property: Ascot Apartments
Address: Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen 1554, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price range (per night): $175 - $354
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Ascot Apartments Copenhagen
Ascot Apartments Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing