We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just fine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Just fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a small double room, #501. It was fine. Bathroom was spacious. Bed was comfortable and we had an interior view of the courtyard (which was no big deal in April). The Axel is very close to the train station in a safe area. Easy connections to busses, too. We did not eat the hotel breakfast since the cost was over $20/person, but instead grabbed some delicious pastries at the Train station. The area where the Axel is located is full of other 3 star hotels which provide a better value for the money. We could not get an internet connection for our IPad in the room and needed to go downstairs to the lobby. Staff was friendly, room was clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Cincy2,

When reading your review, we took a look at your other reviews of Copenhagen – and we have a difficult time making any sense of it… Were you in Denmark for over a month? Or were you in Denmark twice in the course if a month? And why did you choose the Axel immediately after a supposedly outstanding stay at a neighboring hotel? We´re confused.
If you would care to write to us with your booking reference at booking(at)hotelguldsmeden(dot)com, this would make us less uneasy. At the moment, there´s a lot of debate about the many ways that review sites can be manipulated, so we are extra cautious and have a lot of focus on this and other similar sites. We hope to hear from you – best from all of us at Axel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    547
    205
    57
    14
See reviews for
138
659
94
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ystad, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Staff is polite, breakfast is out of this world! Organic and Sustainable concept all the way through. Best stay in Copenhagen!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YParrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate hearing from all of you who have spent time with us, and really look forward to seeing you again.
Make sure to book on our own website next time, where you can join our Friends of the Family bonus programme, giving you access to all the best rates and offers.
Best from all of us at Hotel Guldsmeden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasted, Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I recently had a business trip to Copenhagen and had to stay over just for one night. The company I work for booked this hotel on my behalf and I am so glad they did. It's a little beauty! Superb, indonesian style hotel with wooden floors in the bedrooms along with pursian rugs, two flat screen tv's in the room (one in the bedroom and one in the lounge), complimentary bottle of red in my room on arrival which was much needed after a long day.

Breakfast in the morning was one of the best continetal style breakfasts I'd ever had, great selection of breads, cheeses, meats and good coffee.

Popped out for dinner in the evening and found a great steak resaurant just around the corner. Back to the hotel for a quick beer and bed.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay on a business trip. Perfectly located and close to the airport. I'll definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate hearing from all of you who have spent time with us, and really look forward to seeing you again.
Make sure to book on our own website next time, where you can join our Friends of the Family bonus programme, giving you access to all the best rates and offers.
Best from all of us at Hotel Guldsmeden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night and we liked it. Our room on the top was small but cozy and the bed is very comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpfull. The breakfast is really organic and tasty. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malinkajaninka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Our room was quite large and very comfortable. The hotel was very eco-conscious without compromising high standards. It was close to the train station and trendy areas.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loonie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate hearing from all of you who have spent time with us, and really look forward to seeing you again.
Make sure to book on our own website next time, where you can join our Friends of the Family bonus programme, giving you access to all the best rates and offers.
Best from all of us at Hotel Guldsmeden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#21 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price range (per night): $187 - $477
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing