We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a few improvements away from the 5 points”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just a few improvements away from the 5 points”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed there on business for a week,

The goods:
-The location, central, just around Tivoli garden, all the good restaurants and activities are reachable
-Room is big enough and clean, body lotion, body wash and conditioner are provided. had excellent sleep quality thanks to curtains that actually properly block any undesired light.
-Free internet connection
-Good breakfast buffet, selection of bread pretty impressive
-Staff is helpful
-Bike rental for city tour

The bads or to be improved:
-Bathroom: there is a bathtub, when you shower it s impossible not to wet the floor, since the glass for is only a quarter of the tub's length.
-Internet: in your room, you will only have a cable connection so if you have one of those devices who can only get wireless internet, you will spend time in the lobby
- Facilities: aren't the bikes for free at the Radisson blu a few meters away ?
- Facilities:The hotel doesn't have a gym which is ok, but then they sell you voucher for the gym around the corner, fitness.dk, for a higher price than the gym itself, I mean people, seriously!?
- Breakfast: for scandinavia's sake, where was the salmon ?

All in all, hotel is good for a business stay and very affordable by scandinavian standards

Room Tip: If you don't mention your last breakfast at the check out, they just won't count it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank einmal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    643
    399
    105
    33
See reviews for
233
484
72
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Floridian in Switzerland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

As you might expect with a Danish hotel, the styling is beautiful. Th room, though small, is well designed and well appointed. Very clean. The built in luggage rack very nice. Room service was great in the morning - I had originally planned for 8a (on the door hanger) but called at 7 to see if they could do immediately and they did with a smile.

Unfortunately, there was no movie channel (hello CNN and BBC!), no wifi in the room (it is in the lobby and they do have a cable in the room), the lighting was poor (except in the bathroom which was very good), and there were no outlets near the bed. All negatives for me.

The location is outstanding and the service was great - at check in, check out, and room service.

I would stay again but... will keep my eyes open for a hotel that offered the missing movies and wifi ...

Room Tip: rooms facing the main road can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ufgator27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed here for one night during a business visit. It´s a nice and modern hotel. The room seemed recently refurbished, and everything was clean and in perfect working order. Check-in was fast and efficient. Check-out a bit slow though. Breakfast was a buffet and was very good. Location is super central, with most of central Copenhagen within walking distance. S-train station right outside the hotel. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Thomsen, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Sirs!
Thank you for submitting your comments on TripAdvisor.com.
I am please to read about your satisfaction with the Imperial Hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Best asset of this hotel is its location. Coming from the Copenhagen airport, we just took a train to the central railway station and then walked straight to the hotel. No need for taxi! The standard room is simple. Pillows and cushion comfortable. Hotel television offers basic channels. Water heater coils for cooking tea was dirty. We had to rinse it several times to get rid of the slimy coatings on the coil. The bathroom/shower area was somehow dangerous to move around in, especially when the floor is wet. Would have been better if breakfast was included in the price.

Anyway, more on the positive side of the stay. Location once more was the biggest plus! We moved around freely in the city area knowing that our hotel is well-located. It's close to the Tivoli, the street shopping district, museums, train station. Price was relatively ok for a short budget trip.

Important tip when in Copenhagen: Take advantage of the Copenhagen Card! It's so worth it! You will never have a need for taxi and the card can take you places... as in literally! It's an "ace" for the top attractions. Just show your card and you are so much in. Just enjoy :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vict0randr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Thomsen, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Sirs!
Thank you for submitting your comments on TripAdvisor.com.
I am please to read about your overall satisfaction with the Imperial Hotel.
Unfortunately there is much lime in the water in Copenhagen, but we do our best to keep our kettles lime free. Your attention is appreciated and Housekeeping we will keep and extra eye on the kettles in the room.
We hope to be able to welcome you again at the Imperial Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,315 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#39 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,994 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#47 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,704 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#55 of 116 in Copenhagen
892 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Vester Farimagsgade 9, Copenhagen 1606, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price range (per night): $210 - $446
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no doubt that Imperial Hotel is much more than a tastefully decorated, modern four-star hotel in the heart of Copenhagen. That’s because for more than 50 years, the hotel’s vibrant international atmosphere has attracted both Danish and international guests with a passion for good food and drink.Whether your business schedule is packed tight or you have ample time for sightseeing, Imperial Hotel is the perfect base conveniently located just steps from Tivoli Gardens, Strøget, City Hall Square and Copenhagen Central Station.If you are planning a meeting or conference, you can leave it to us to create the ideal environment with professional staff in one of our six conference rooms of various sizes. In our newly refurbished restaurant, Ristorante L’Appetito, we indulge our guests with authentic Italian delicacies made from excellent seasonal ingredients, lovingly created by our talented chef and his Italian team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing