We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and good location”
Review of Scandic Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Copenhagen
Ranked #42 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Scandic Copenhagen is a big hotel tower having a good location directly in the city centre. As the hotel is located close (within a walking distance) to the main railway station it is easy to arrive to the hotel by train from the airport.

We stayed in a family room which was big enough for 4 persons (2 adults and 2 children). The room was also in a good condition. The room was on the lake side and, although it was only the 4th floor, the view was great.

Persons in the reception were really friendly and helpful. For example, a safety box in our room was left closed when we arrived, and immediately when I informed about this someone came to the room and fixed the issue.

Also, we had booked a Tivoli package including free entrance tickets to Tivoli. As we arrived early in the morning the room was not available/ready yet but a friendly person in the reception still gave us the Tivoli tickets in advance so that we could spend the day in Tivoli and then come back later in the evening.

Breakfast in the hotel was very good. Around 8am there were only few people in the restaurant but closer to 9am it became crowded and people needed to wait for a table.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better view (of course)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HSulander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miran K, Receptionschef at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear HSulander,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to give us feedback.

I am glad you liked the rooms, and thank you for the nice words about our staff. This means a lot to us. I am glad to see that we could help with the ticket in advanced, so that you could visit Tivoli. I trust you had a great time there.

I hope the rest of your stay in Copenhagen, was a success as well, and that you would visit us soon again.

I wish you a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 144 of 2,436 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

Smooth check in and check out. Attentive staff. Overall the hotel is in a need of a renovation. Breakfast was OK. Great location with walking distance to most attractions in the city. Hotels in general are expensive in Copenhagen for what you get. This hotel is no different.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miran K, Receptionschef at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Erik F,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to give us feedback.

Thank you for your kind words about our effectivity during check in and check out, and the nice words about our staff.

I hope you had a great time in Copenhagen, and that you would visit us soon again.

I wish you a lovely day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly situated near the lakes, Tycho Brahe Planetarium, Tivoli, the city hall plaza and the shopping area. We do like the small hotell better - however we got no problems to recommend this hotel to visitors to Copenhagen.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kjell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miran K, Receptionschef at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Kjell S,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to give us feedbak.

I am glad you liked our hotel and it's location. Thank you for the wonderful review.

I hope you had a good time in Copenhagen, and hope you will visit us again soon.

I wish you a lovely day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

For a hotel this size I have to admit that it is run quite efficiently. The lobby though always abuzz with conventioneers, families, and cruisers is large and has plenty of seating and efficient personnel running the desk. Check in was quick, the elevators arrive w/o wait time and the rooms are as advertised. The rooms are very Scandic in decor (some may say basic/bare bones), and the cost is no reflection on what you'll get for the money. The one night I stayed family rooms were priced at just over $400 USD/night

On the other hand, the highlight for us was the included quite extensive breakfast offerings. Coffee was hot, choices were plentiful and the buffet and tables are turned over with precision. I found all employees to be friendly, helpful and personable.

Our stay here was as expected. Not exceptional, but no disappointments either. Depending on the cost we would consider staying here again. The lake view and location were ideal, the staff were professional, the hotel room was sufficient, and the breakfast buffet was delicious and abundant.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank tropicaljannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miran K, Receptionschef at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear tropicaljannie,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to give us feedback.

I am so glad you had a good stay with us. I must thank you for mentioning our great staff and our wonderful breakfast. As for the price there are a few option for getting better rates. Becoming a Scandic Member and booking through our website will guarantee you get the best price available.

I hope that you had a good time in Copenhagen, and that you would visit us soon again.

I wish you a lovely day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The Scandic Copenhagen Hotel is only a short walk from the Central Train Station (15 minutes) and is located on the outskirts of the city center but still within easy walking distance of most tourist attractions but not the Little Mermaid or the cruise ship terminals.The lobby is very modern and with its large tooth like posts. It also had a small statue of the Little Mermaid..similar size and style as the original. There are lamp shades hanging from the ceiling which adds to the atmosphere near the lobby coffee/drink bar. We didn't have to wait for our 2 rooms to be available as it was after 3 pm and the staff was very polite, friendly, and professional. Our rooms on a upper level floor both had city views...you could also have a lake view. Our room was wheelchair accessible including the bathroom which met all the USA ADA requirements including roll in shower. The room was large enough for me to be able to turn around. The bed could be arranged for either two twins or one queen. Our son and his wife's room (adjoining) was much smaller. Think similar to a college dorm size which is the common European experience unless in a USA chain such as the Marriott. Both our rooms were clean, modern, simplistic but still functional and met all our needs. They have a fitness center that our son used and wished he had time to use the sauna. The bar near the elevators had a friendly bar staff and a wall of windows with birdcages hanging from the ceiling which added to the fun experience.We enjoyed some Danish beers after seeing the City Hall town square approximately 15 minutes away that had the historic city hall with clock tower, the mythical fountain, the large statue of Hans Christian Anderson, the Historic Stone Marker of distances from other cities, and another tall monument. The Tivoli Amusement Park and Gardens is a short walk from the hotel. We had a great night's sleep (but we were very tied after traveling and being up for more than 24 hours) on the mattresses and the hotel was quiet at nite and the blackout curtains worked well as it was still daylight when we went to bed..The breakfast was 5 stars...eggs, meat, cheese, dark and white bread...healthy bread, fruit, crepes, and of course Danish pastry. The bkft options were also friendly to the English/Irish and Asian guests as said by the other guests as we chose our food. You can buy postcards (for those not online) and have the hotel stamp the postcards on your bill if you don't have any Krones. Our one complaint was that the morning Concierge did not arrange a wheelchair taxi as we requested and then did not notify us of this which made us more than a bit concerned trying to get a taxi to take us all to the cruise ship. We were lucky but late but did not miss our ship. Also, you can get a late check out at 4 pm for an extra cost. A Hertz rental car agency is approximately two blocks away and did have automatic cars if booked in advance online. All of us enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel when in Copenhagen.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank StLTravelers314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miran K, Receptionschef at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear StLTravelers314,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to give us feedback.

I am glad you had a great stay with us, and I must thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff, our great breakfast, and our nice rooms. I am sorry for the oversight with the taxi, we will look into the issues and tight up on our procedures there.

I hope that you had a good time in Copenhagen, and that you would visit us again soon.

I wish you a lovely day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#23 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,287 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,658 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#75 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,039 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#35 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,571 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Copenhagen

Address: Vester Soegade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#31 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $203 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Copenhagen is located in central Copenhagen, with stunning views over the water and Copenhagen city, and close to attractions such as Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens.The hotel has recently been through a major refurbishment, which has been completed in June 2012. The hotel has 18 floors and is one of Copenhagen's tallest buildings with a bird's-eye view of the city and the famous lakes of Copenhagen.The new design is modern and trendy - prepare yourself for a journey of adventure - From above. The hotel will show the guest Copenhagen From Above.Scandic Copenhagen is also one of Copenhagen's largest conference centres with facilities including an extensive range of modern AV and IT equipment. Copenhagen attractions are right on your doorstep when you stay at hotel Scandic Copenhagen. Tivoli amusement park, Nyhavn and Stroeget shopping street are all within walking distance of the hotel. When staying with us at Scandic Copenhagen, you can relax with a drink and a light meal in our atmospheric lobby bar with mirrors and contemporary design. You can also stop by our relaxation area and unwind in the sauna or workout in the gym. We offer wireless internet access throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Scandic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing