We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment in Denmark”
Review of Scandic Front

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Front
Ranked #36 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A disappointment in Denmark”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Spent 3 nights at this hotel and relative to the price and the way that it was marketed as a boutique, upmarket hotel, I was really disappointed. The hotel seems to now be trying to sell itself as a family hotel, so there were kids running up and down my corridor at all hours of the day and night (and the rooms had thin walls), babies screaming at breakfast, and parents fighting over the only child seat. I was there on a busy weekend, and there was the equivalent of a rugby scrum every morning for breakfast, with about half the seating available for the number of guests. Breakfast was delicious, though, when you could get it without being knocked into or it being cleared away when you went to get a coffee refill. The staff at the front desk were helpful. But it was annoying that one of the few lights in my gloomy, seen-better-days room wasn't working, and nor was the safe. And annoying that I had to get a new wi-fi code each day. The balcony attached to my room was nice but not used in the weather. The location was close to Nyhaven, but a little far from everywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    360
    233
    114
    47
See reviews for
189
332
34
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was one of our most interesting hotel stays - and I mean that in a very positive way. The hotel has a chic vibe - great lighting and decor with an energy in the lobby that spills into the bar, lounge and restaurant. Very helpful staff who booked several last minute tours for us. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on. We were in an executive queen room....which had a staircase (2 floors) and a balcony. A very expensive Nespresso machine - (top of the line). It was lacking a touch of luxury - the bathroom towels were not plush, but fine - no help with luggage upon arrival. All of this was mostly forgotten with the great location and helpful staff!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedan2900, General Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Ann R

Thanks for your kind review and I am happy to learn that you appriciated the team!

The luxury we try to focus on is to allow you to bee yourself and feeiling great.

Kind regards
Johan Åsell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We don't usually pay more than EUR 100 / night and this hotel normally costs EUR 150/night at least. However, we had two free nights with Scandic hotel points earned from my husband´s worktrips. My husband has stayed in a lot of Scandic hotels in Sweden and Finland. He said that Scandic Front was one of the best of Scandics he has stayed.

The building has been totally renowated some five years a ago (you can find some wear and tear). Rooms and lobby are modern and cosy.

We got superior room with king size bed. The first room was just behind the old elevators which were noise. We complained and got another very silent room. We didn't have seaview but it didn't matter.

The bed was the super! When we came back home we missed Front king-size bed...

The breakfast was the best! So comprehensive and delicous! They also had a machine to prepare fresh orange juice by ourselves, which was great. I want to thank the hotel for free additional breakfast in the first morning which is was not included and not normally offered (We checked-in already 8.00 AM). On Sunday late morning there were a lot of people on the breakfast but we found a free table. On Monday morning the breakfast room was nearly empty.

The only disappointment happened with the dinner during check-out day. We had checked from the reception that we can use our vouchers for the dinner. After the dinner the waiter said that one of the voucher has been expired and the waiter didn't believe what we said. He was rude. We had to talk in the reception to get the other voucher used.

We also used sauna, which was not renovated and not cosy at all. However, sauna is not the thing in Denmark, so it didn't matter.

The location is excellent, near to Kongenst Nytorv metro Station with direct access to the airport. There were nice little Chistmas market nearby in Nyhavn and sightseeing boats also departed from Nyhavn.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReikoSan_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedan2900, General Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear RaikoSan_Finland,

Thank you very much for your review and valuable feed back! So nice to here that you enjoyed the stay and found the hotel and breakfast excellent!

Sorry to learn about the experience with the voucher, I will take action about this.

Kind regards
Johan Åsell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in November. Hotel was in a fantastic location just by nyhavn, decor was nice and the hotel was clean throughout. We stayed in a executive queen room over two floors with a balcony...really nice. Room had two flat screens, one on each floor, nice furniture, espresso coffee machine (nespresso) and a nice clean bathroom with heated floor. My only complain was breakfast time. Food was great, buffet style with lots of varied options and lots of organic food. The problem lied on the service and the space where breakfast was served. The breakfast room is the same as the hotel bar/restaurant which has not enought seating area let alone tables for everyone. I counted one girl who had the job of clearing up all the dirty dishes clean tables and lay clean cutlery and glasses etc. this was clearly not enough for an hotel charging these prices. It ended up being stressful going down for breakfast every morning. But I would still recommend this hotel and hopefully the management can sort this chaos out!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedan2900, General Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Fernando...

Happy to receive your feed back on your stay with us and I am glad to here that you liked our rooms.

I also appreciate that you share your breakfast experience and I will make sure that we address this immediately, breakfast should be relaxing and not a stressful event.

Thanks again for your review.

Kind regards
Johan Åsell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicenza
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Hi my tripadvisor friends!!!!

just coming beck from copenhagen and i write the review......

Wonderful city......and very chic......i can think to live there in the future!!! :)

The city is not big and if u rent a bike u can go and see all without problem......and also is not dangerous because most of the people use it!!!!really a few cars around the center.....

about the hotel:
desck: 7+: people are really young and they are courteous.......
breakfast: 7 sweet and salty.....
room:7 no noise...clean.....non to much artificial light!!!the bathroom was also clean and u find all
gym:ok
bar:ok
position: 8.............5 min. by walk from the tube station (directly from airport)kongest nytorv...and also 3 min. by walk from the famous street nyhav.....5 min. by walk to the center streets...so very very and very good position!!!
internet: 10!!!!is free!!!!

from the next review i ll put picture also

eniy the trip
Alex

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alelove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedan2900, General Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear alelove3,

Thanks for your kind review we appreciate that you took the time to give us feed back on your stay!

Kind regards
Johan Åsell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Phoenix Copenhagen
Phoenix Copenhagen
#38 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,244 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
260 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,160 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Skt. Annae
Hotel Skt. Annae
#51 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,410 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#27 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Front

Property: Scandic Front
Address: Skt. Annae Plads 21, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price range (per night): $240 - $533
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Front 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Front hotel is set opposite Copenhagen's contemporary Opera House and has a Danish design, mixing luxury with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Front Copenhagen
Scandic Front Hotel Copenhagen
Front Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing