We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The holy grail of dining”
Review of Geranium

Geranium
Ranked #21 of 3,015 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$273 - AU$324
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Osterbros
Reviewed 18 October 2019 via mobile

There are only a few places in the world where you can have an experience which is equal to this. The venue is magical overlooking the park around the stadium, the service is faultless, and the food is exquisite. The skill & presentation is at the highest level.The wine list is excellent so if you can choose your own bottle rather than do the wine pairing which is a much more expensive option. It’s worth going to Copenhagen just to eat here.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank janescax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 64 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2019

It was my honeymoon trip with my wife and once we decided we were coming to Copenhagen we thought we would need to try one of the top restaurants there and I am so glad that we chose Geranium. Service was impeccable from start to finish, bumped into one of the staff while we were taking some photos at the entrance, did not hesitate and offered to take some photos for us and we even met the chef Rasmus Kofoed in person.

He was there to ensure that the food that was put up was up to standard. Personally, I have been to a few restaurants on the top 50 list and having been to a top 20 one previously, I have always wondered how are they going to up the game to blow me away. Boy was I surprised by the standard here in Geranium. Glad to say it was such an unforgettable experience and I will definitely be back again when I am in town.

Once again to chef Rasmus Kofoed and your wonderful team at Geranium, my wife and I are very appreciative of your efforts and service and hope to see you again soon.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank kennethgqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2019 via mobile

This restaurant is simply outstanding. The food is amazing with each course being delicious and innovative. Service was impeccable and the view lovely. Very expensive and worth every penny (or Krona).

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank larrynyc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2019 via mobile

On a short trip to Copenhagen for the first time, we had the good fortune to decide to book a lunch at Geranium. Wow. We were not disappointed! From start to finish we had an amazing time.

It felt a little odd to trek out to a football stadium but once inside the restaurant you forget where you are. With glass surrounding you there are wonderful views out over parkland or down to the water. The restaurant decor is pared back, clean and relaxing. Tables given a good distance from one another and are large so there is plenty of space on the surface.

Rasmus and Søren, the owners, were there and highly visible. One front of house and one in the kitchen - an open kitchen at the far end of the restaurant where you can see everyone working in quiet harmony. Most of the time the chef responsible for each dish will come to serve at your table and describe the ingredients in front of you.

The food, the food was incredible. The beauty of it, some dishes so beautiful it felt an absolute crime to disturb the plate. The construction of each dish. The range of ingredients. The textures. Just incredible. I wish I could add a photo of each but 10 is the maximum.

In a 17 course tasting menu you are unlikely to love every single dish, it’s only natural to find one or two that aren’t necessarily to your taste, but that was all it was - one or two. My friend wasn’t keen on the cucumber water which had snails eggs added at the table, just the thought of the snails eggs was enough for her. Personally, first time for snails eggs myself but they just felt and tasted like little spheres of slight saltiness you might have in a savoury dish, no problem.

There were standout courses for us - the cep soup starter was heaven, absolute heaven. Actually all the appetisers were interesting, inventive and delicious.

Of the main courses - we particularly enjoyed the hake, the trout and the pickled onion courses. A slight issue on the scallop red stones for us, the plate was so stunning to look at, the construction of each stone a marvel, but we felt you could barely pick up on the scallop as the beetroot overrode all other tastes. A minor point.

Desserts - again, all so beautiful. We both loved the Bite of Beetroot, and I particularly enjoyed “The Forrest” finding it refreshing and new. My friend loved the ice cream from beeswax and pollen, which arrived on a tray of pollen - how can you have so many tiny pollen sacks??!

We enjoyed several different wines and appreciated the assistance in finding what we were looking for. All the staff were wonderfully warm and attentive. We enjoyed the restaurant tour and time taken to explain the different areas operating within Geranium.

We couldn’t have wished for a better experience. Thank you everyone at Geranium for the obvious dedication and love you have for your work and the wonderful result that we were able to enjoy so much.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank christinacS7185JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2019

On a whim we decided to fly to Copenhagen to have lunch in one of world's best restaurants. It was no mistake and it will be the highlight of our culinary escapades.
From the moment we stepped out of the taxi and we were met outside the restaurant and led into the spacious, bright dining room with its 12 tables nicely spaced apart, the view from the 8th floor onto the surrounding area and the open work areas at the front of the room where some 10 chefs are bend over their work for the mis-en-place, everything was as it should be in a 3 star Micheln restaurant. The 16 courses are presented with sufficient time in between to enjoy the wine pairings. Even Rasmus and Soren, the 2 head-chefs appear at the table to explain a course. It is amazing how you can close your eyes and really taste all ingredients that are part of the dish. Everything is so beautifully presented, they look like still-life paintings that were created by the artists in in the front of the room. We enjoyed the break between main course and desert for a tour of the facility. A walk through the wine-cellar, the staff- meeting room and the main kitchen where the dishes are prepared, than sent to the dining room for the final presentation. The "excellent" ratings below do the place no justice, there is no proper word for this exceptional place.It was being in culinary heaven for sure....

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jokelijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Geranium also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Geranium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.