We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sad experience”
Review of Hotel LEGOLAND

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel LEGOLAND
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very sad experience”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Have you ever read the fairytail, of Hans Christian Andersen, The Emperor's New Suit? Well that was my feeling after checking out of the hotel at a special price of DKK 2,600 or USD 500. We had booked a Pirate theme room, the room was small for a family of 4 (children aged 2 and 5). The service was not very hands on or minded for the children. The facilities were sad eg. in one of the meeting rooms there were minituare golf course vintage sort. The big plus of this hotel is ofcourse the location and we we will be back for the Legoland Park - not for the hotel.
I thought that this was going to be a trophy hotel since Lego headquaters is right next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OneDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    469
    264
    106
    53
See reviews for
993
32
9
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We (Family of five with three small kids, mum & dad) stayed at two different theme rooms. Knight room first night and princess room second night (to ensure that all kids had a good memory).

Check-in & reception:
Excellent service. Friendly and efficient. Our room change request was handled efficient and in a friendly way. We received friendly instructions around hotel facilities, restaurants (the restaurants are very very poor especially the customer service is bad - see separate reviews) and children activities. Absolutely excellent customer service.

Rooms:
There was a fishy smell in the corridor and also in our knight theme room. The room itself was very small, dated but OK and the kids loved it. There is a treasure chest in the room with Lego in it which they loved. A small Lego City model was left on each bed for the kids and there were also descriptions of the different activities for the kids - a good job done here.

Our second room, the princess room, was only two doors further down the same corridor but was perfumed by a device on the entry door so the fishy smell was largely absent in the room.

The rooms were NOT clean. Both rooms had not been cleaned well and in the second room there was waste, crumbled crackers and dried in gummy bears under the bed (kids reported that when looking for a Lego part they lost while building).

Both rooms are identical with variation in the colors, carpet patterns. They both have a huge lego dragon on the wall (male in knight room respectively female in the princess room).

Bathroom is dated but relatively clean in both cases - the price for the room is extremely high for what it is but the hotel is conveniently located directly at Legoland with access throughout the day.

In summary we feel that the price was way too high for what it was and we would have expected the theme room to be a bit more than just a standard room with a bit of decoration - it does not live up to what other parks around Europe offer for the same or even a lower price hence the poor rating.

Hotel:
It is really optimized for kids and they loved it. There is mini-golf in one room, treasure hunt, model building competition and much much more for the kids to discover.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAJ9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Visited the Legoland Hotel A la carte restaurants with my wife and three kids.

Table reservation:
Went to restaurant to book table for same evening as recommended at check-in by reception staff. Restaurant was empty so went to buffet restaurant to ask. Gentleman told us to go back - someone was there (unfriendly tone), but no one was and he stormed ahead of us over and gave us the most frosty and unpleasant treatment while booking our table.

Dining experience:
Customer service was awful, rude and unfriendly. Food was good but seriously overpriced for what it was. Steaks were cooked to order but were nowhere near the level the price suggested they would be (meet not of the quality justifying the very high price). Restaurant was nice, cozy and decorated with Lego in a tasteful way. It had the potential to be great but it was absolutely not.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAJ9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed here with our child. The park is absolutely fantastic. The hotel is extremely expensive for what it is. We had an absolutely negative experience at the "a la carte" restaurant. Terrible food, terrible service. The rooms could be considered good for a three star hotel, insufficient for a four star hotel. What struck my attention is the fact that, while in Disneyland everybody from the staff is very friendly, here it is exactly the opposite. Bad reception, bad service at the restaurant, bad service at the shop. We bought the hotel in booking.com as a special offer all inclusive, just to discover that the same offer is available here, at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank giorgioeguiomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed at the hotel Lego and one night to visit Lego and. It is highly recommendable for families with kids. We have 6 and 4 year old sons. The younger one says it is his dream to live in the hotel. Dinner facilities are great. The kids have a room to play and both dinner and breakfast are nice. Normal rooms a quite normal. We had booked 3 rooms and for one of them we had an upgrade to a family room with a view over the legoland park. The room was very nice , it has Lego bricks and a shower specially for kids apart from the adult shower. Really sweet. If you stay at the hotel, you get a nice discount to enter the park and you can start before the park opens to other people which is great as it allows you to try attractions before it gets busy. Again recommendable if you want to visit Lego and with kids!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billund hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Propellen
Hotel Propellen
#5 of 13 in Billund
347 reviews
10.9 km away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#2 of 2 in Grindsted
120 reviews
10.3 km away
Filskov Kro
Filskov Kro
#1 of 2 in Grindsted
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Zleep Hotel Billund
Zleep Hotel Billund
#9 of 13 in Billund
440 reviews
18.7 km away
Sdr. Omme Kro
Sdr. Omme Kro
#1 of 1 in Soender Omme
40 reviews
0.6 km away
LEGOLAND Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LEGOLAND? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LEGOLAND

Property: Hotel LEGOLAND
Address: Aastvej 10, Billund 7190, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Price range (per night): $458 - $739
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel LEGOLAND 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your family to the ultimate experience - a mini-holiday at Hotel LEGOLAND(R)! From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO(R) features, fully themed bedrooms and play areas, and lots of kid's entertainment! Our hotel inspires imaginations and creates laugh-out loud memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel LEGOLAND reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legoland Hotel Billund
Lego Land Hotel
Hotel Land Lego
Hotel LEGOLAND Denmark/Billund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing