We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
129
54
17
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
54
17
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area every other day harbour front small bar cobbled streets good points not hesitate to recommend this hotel yogurt small hotel bit boring water front bars and restaurants walking difficulties good size fresh bread room key hidden door
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I'll keep it easy:
GOOD POINTS
- friendly and helpful staff
- very clean and safe
- ample free parking for hire car
- good central location

BAD POINTS
- bed was like sleeping on a concrete floor, felt bruised as it was so hard and the pillows were far too high and not flexible. I always bring my own pillow but this was useless on a rock hard bed
- noise from mopeds whizzing past room at 4am irritating
- very small awkwardly shaped bathroom
- breakfast was very poor. Greek yoghurt and honey were nice but bland biscuits and low quality ham and cheese disappointing. Orange juice is cheap cordial so resorted to buying own juice and tomatoes

OVERALL
Would rather have paid a bit more money and stayed somewhere like Skopelos Village. Rates are very expensive for what you get (10 euros for breakfast)

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

The Ionia Hotel is in an excellent location in Skopelos town, only a 5 min walk from the harbour. Our room was clean, but our bathroom and shower was very small and consequently the floor sometimes flooded. The staff were friendly and happy to help. As mentioned in a previous comment, the continental breakfast was repetitive, hard boiled eggs, bread, yoghurt and honey, tinned peaches, and biscuits every day. But overall it was a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Stayed at the Ionia hotel in Skopelos Town 26th May to 9th June 2010 booked as a package with Thomas Cook. This was our first visit to the island of Skopelos and we chose it because we love Greece.

We had an early flight from Manchester (07:40) to ensure that we did not have to spend our first night in Skiathos. After a 5 minute transfer from Skiathos airport to the port we had 2 hours to wait for our ferry (Flyingcat 5). You are dropped off at a taverna on the port promenade where you can leave your luggage but we decided to walk along the waterfront with our luggage and had lunch at a taverna of our choice.

The ferry crossing to Skopelos was very comfortable and took 1 hour with one stop on the way at the port of Glossa. After arriving at Skopelos we waited a short time for the quick mini bus transfer to the hotel arriving just after 17:30.

The Ionia is situated on a small road used by the occasional car but more frequently by motorcycles, some of these could be quite noisy. There was a small supermarket less than a minute from the hotel. The sea front could be reached down hill in less than 5 minutes.

All the staff at the hotel where very friendly and the reception would help with any questions you may have. The Ionia was exceptionally clean and it did look as smart as it does on the hotels web site. The small bar was relaxing to have a drink in and exchange holiday experiences with other guests. The pool was quite a good size but going from the shallow end soon became quite deep finishing at a depth of 2.8 meters. There where only 14 sun beds but saying that we always managed to get a sun bed as people did not seem to stay all day by the pool. As well as the sun beds there where also quite a few deck chairs and tables and chairs.

There was quite a good spread for breakfast. Two juice (bit weak), coffee, tea, one cereal, peaches, Greek yoghurt, honey, bread, jam, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, cake, biscuit and basket of fruit. It kept us going until the afternoon but we did get a little tired of it as there was never any variation.
Reading through the hotel web site I notice that there is mention of a snack bar & restaurant. Neither of these where available during our stay, we did not see a snack bar and what I assume would be the restaurant was where we ate breakfast.

Our room was on the 3rd floor and looked the same as the picture on the Ionia web site home page. There was a side sea view from the balcony. The room was comfortable with Air Conditioning (free, unusual for Greece), small fridge and TV. Bedding and towels where changed every other day. The bathroom was good with hook for the shower and a shower curtain (something you don’t always get in Greece). You did have to be careful not to let too much water out of the sink at once or your feet would get wet!!! That could be why there was no plug, but being clever we pack a plug. Not so clever in this case!!! Safe deposit box was available at reception for 1 euro/day.

Skopelos Town had many narrow and hilly back streets that where great to discover. We found people in the town to be very friendly. As a rough guide the town has 20 plus restaurants and probably a similar amount of bars. Our favourite restaurants where Kamata, Englezos, Molos (all towards the long jetty), Alexander (close to hotel) and Finikas (pass town beach, turn inland before reaching Skopelos Village hotel then follow signs) food was very good and view across to the town fantastic. Our favourite bar was Mercurius, great place to chilled out and looked out over the port. Ask reception for a Skopelos map as all these places are marked.

Skopelos Town beach was not very inviting due to its proximity to port. The closest nice beach was Stafilos. When we arrived the bus service was infrequent so we walked to Stafilos beach but this took us 1 hour 15 minutes. Once June arrived the bus service became more frequent. Quite a few people in the hotel hired cars for most of their holiday so they could easily travel to different beaches. The beaches we visited where mainly coarse sand or pebbles. We liked Stafilos and Milia beaches because both where clean and had somewhere on the beach to buy a snack lunch. We where disappointed with Kastani beach (Mamma Mia beach) as it had quite a bit of litter on it, what a shame. It was worth a visit to Aghios Ioannis chapel (Mamma Mia church) for the amazing setting.

We hired a motorboat from the Hotel Narkissos in Panormos (rent a boat Panormos BLO). For a days rental the cost was 80 euro, 30 euro had to be paid in advance as a deposit. We where then asked to pay 50 euro deposit for the fuel as that was the fuel tank capacity. When we returned the boat and the tank was topped up we had used exactly 50 euros of fuel! There where only a few secluded beaches that we found that could only be reached by boat. We did not feel the days rental was worth spending 130 euros on.

The transfer back to Skiathos was on the first ferry of the day at 07:15. We had a couple of hours to fill in before transfer to the airport. This was not a problem as we wandered around Skiathos Town and had a relaxing breakfast.

The weather was a bit unsettle during our stay. Several days the sky was quite grey and cloudy, two evenings there was heavy rain. It is a very green island! It was hot when the sun shone.

We can certainly recommend Skopelos and the Ionia hotel for a friendly, laid back, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank w-spoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel in June 2010. The hotel was small, friendly and very clean. We stayed on Bed & Breakfast with Thomson Holidays. Set back from the main area of the town, it catered for mainly older couples. The pool area was small, very clean and the pool was adequate for cooling off from the searing heat. There were also plenty of shaded areas for a relaxing read.
The rooms were basic but adequate, and hot water was more readily available in the evening time.
Skopelos itself had lots of winding streets to explore and the usual array of souvenir shops. Not many bargains to be had though, There were lots of pavement cafes around the harbour area and some little restaurants were to be found off the beaten track. Our recommendations would be Englezos towards the far end of the promenade, where the owners young son, was a delight . There was always some freebie with your meal - Garlic Bread, Coffee, Brandy, Creme Caramel or Cherries - we also ate at Rodi & Alexanders, where the food was typical Greek Cuisine .
Our favourite place for coffee & brandy was Tkika near the port entrance, which was where we also purchased freshly made sandwiches for lunch at a reasonable price.
Our experience financially was that Greek prices have probably risen by 10% since last year.
All in all a pleasant stay, with the only downside being the resident Mosquitos ( kept at bay with Avon Skin So Soft Green! ) and the masses of scooters that buzz around the narrow streets and through the pavement cafes.
We booked a trip to see the island on Odyssey for the Sunday we were there, but this was ruined by the reservation of " the best seats" by a Norwegian Rep for her clients! ( The old towels on seats trick must be catching on!). The plastic chairs us Brits were last with were not safe and two of them actually broke, but fortunately not causing massive injuries.
The journey home was long and hot - on the 7.15am ferry to Skiathos for a 4pm flight and having to leave your luggage on a pavement outside a street cafe in the harbour area.
Breakfast in Skiathos was the best! Try Dinos just up from the harbour - where good old Greek hospitality will await you!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank susan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

On our second trip to the island we were pleasantly surprised with the Ionia Hotel. The rooms were spotless, cleaned thoroughly every day. Bed linen changed every other day. The hotel was conveniently situated in the town, but was quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay ther again. Excellent value for money.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
5  Thank TJWOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews