We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ionia Hotel Skopelos
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Skopelos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We were a bit aprehensive of staying in the centre of a town as for the last 30 years of travelling to Greece we have always been on the coast/beach or tiny villages with a peaceful elevated sea view - we were so pleasantly surprised, not only did we have a fabulous view over the roof tops to the sea but there couldn't have been better location to be in.Ideally located for plenty of restaurants,bars and shops all within a few minutes, as is the walk to the port and bus stop - just 5 mins.There is a town beach which is a 10 min. walk but not really appealing, You will either need to hire a car/bike or quad or just get on the local bus which is so convenient and reasonably priced.
The hotel is more than adequate for a great stay, the cleaners work tirelessly to keep the rooms clean- towels and sheets changed every other day. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good with the usual continental choices, also nice scrambled eggs. The pool area is also really nice. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The only negative , there is no lift for those with disabitities, so ensure you ask for ground floor. Thanks to all the staff for an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: top floor facing the pool has great town/sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossyPembrokeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DimitraKalivioti, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Ionia Hotel Skopelos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Mrs flossyPembrokeshire ,

Thank you for your adorable and hyper motivating review!
We are delighted that you spent some nice time staying with us and enjoyed our services and facilities. Rest assured, we will have again the most sincere joy to taking care of you if your traveling plans will bring you back to Skopelos in the near future!

Kind Regards
Dimitra Kalivioti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

As i love looking out to a fantastic view, I had wanted to stay in a hotel in a more elevated position,. At the last minute however, my wife who is a little more discerning persuaded me to stay at the Ionia instead, simply saying ' trust me' As I planned to spend most of my holiday wearing shorts and because she mostly wears the trousers, trust her I did. What an inspired decision I made. The Ionia was perfect, centrally located, spotlessly clean, friendly and efficient staff, ample and entirely satisfactory breakfasts and a nice and relaxing pool area, all combined to make our five night stay very enjoyable indeed. Where the hotel is situated you are also just a two minute walk to two great watering holes, namely the hidden door bar and mercurious cocktail bar. Numerous restaurants nearby too. I did elect one day to climb the rather steep hill to look at a couple of the hotels I had previously considered staying at and they were certainly attractive options, , but duly returning to ' The Ionia' and my wife bathed in sweat, was judging by the look on her face not quite as appealing and enforced what we both already knew, that the Ionia was the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyGeekgouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DimitraKalivioti, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Ionia Hotel Skopelos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Mrs TonyGeekgouris ,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Ionia hotel.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the views from our hotel , the breakfast and the pool area.
We also appreciate your comment on the location of Ionia hotel.
Skopelos is indeed one of the most beautiful islands in Greece, quiet and peaceful with amazing views .
Thank you for choosing Ionia Hotel for your Skopelos vacation and we definitely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Best Personal Regards,
Dimitra Kalivioti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

just got back from this wonderful hotel of which we had visited two years ago and nothing has changed at all.
still fantastic Staff from the cleaner to the bar man (you going to miss me George) to receptionist and a special thank you "Sisi" who not only made us feel welcomed but also remember us from two years as did Alex on front desk and has a beautiful smile for everyone in the morning. room are cleaned every day along with all areas being sweeped every though we can never see anything the hotel is immaculate.

little note to the manager , please do a barbecue at least one day a week it is such a lovely area you have there to do it , also you have now put in a Jacuzzi that is not working please sort it.it seem like you are teasing people by having a lovely barbecue area and a Jacuzzi that is not working and maybe look at the bar prices as well.

overall we would come back just to see our new friends of all the staff.

thank you all xxx

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cliffordfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DimitraKalivioti, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Ionia Hotel Skopelos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear cliffordfamily ,

With this message we would like to thank you for visiting Ionia Hotel and for the time you spent on your review.
On behalf of our team and the management I would like to express our sincere appreciation for your kind words and we all hope to see you again in one of your future trips in Skopelos.

Kind Regards
Dimitra Kalivioti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We recently stayed for a weeks holiday and had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is fairly basic, but very clean and staff were very pleasant.
We were on bed and breakfast and were more than happy with the breakfast choice. Cheeses, cold meat , boiled egg, fresh bread, cereals, Greek yogurt and fruit. You helped yourself to whatever you wanted.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk down to the port and it should be noted that it is not suitable with anyone with walking difficulties as it is quite steep and cobbled streets. In saying that there are little shops to stop and browse and many bars and restaurants.
I suppose the only feedback I would give is it would have been nice to have someone help with the heavy suitcases. There was only a young lady on duty and although she could see we were struggling up steps no offer to get someone to help was given. Too be fair it is not a 5 star hotel so expecting a porter is perhaps unrealistic but I offer my feedback as a suggestion for not so able guests.
It was particularly hot during our stay and the air conditioning did not work effectively but again it did not spoil our stay.
Lovely small hotel in a good position and we would consider a return visit .

Stayed: June 2017
Thank sezayi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DimitraKalivioti, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Ionia Hotel Skopelos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Mrs sezayi52 ,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Skopelos and
for taking the time to write this comment.
It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time in our hotel & relaxed
throught your vacation.
Our staff-team is very well dedicated to their job and indeed have a great
result so please try to apologize her behaviour.
We would be delighted to welcome you again !!

Best Regards
Dimitra Kalivioti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Just loved our 2 week stay at this hotel. All the staff are extremely friendly and very hard working. The rooms have everything you need, air con and fridge included with just 1 euro a day for safety deposit box. We had a room overlooking the pool that was excellent for chilling out after a day around the pool or the beach. The rooms are cleaned each day with clean sheets and towels every other day which in our experience is extremely good. We stayed bed and breakfast that exceeded our expectations for a Greek continental. It included fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausage, ham, cheese, salad, bread ,cookies, jam tea coffee and juices.

The hotels position is just right, just a few minutes stroll down past some lovely boutique shops to the harbour front. The walk is not a problem like some reviews say and is about 5 minutes unless you stop off to browse in the shops. The shops stay open until about midnight so the less able can look on the way back up. There are also a number of eating places on the way down to the harbour offering great traditional meals. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and would go back if we visited Skopelos again. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F222HJvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DimitraKalivioti, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Ionia Hotel Skopelos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Mrs Vicky,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
We’re thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and found you the
service helpful, your room clean and complete and the pool ideal to relax.
We hope that you are doing great and that this tremendous memories of your Skopelos escape will last forever.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Personal Regards
Dimitra Kalivioti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopelos hotels
6.2 km away
Adrina Beach
Adrina Beach
#2 of 3 in Panormos
425 reviews
1.0 km away
Skopelos Village
Skopelos Village
#3 of 23 in Skopelos
357 reviews
0.8 km away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skopelos Town
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Rigas Hotel
Rigas Hotel
#3 of 6 in Skopelos Town
160 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Panormos Beach Skopelos
6.4 km away
Adrina Resort & Spa
Adrina Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Panormos
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Skopelos

Been to Ionia Hotel Skopelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionia Hotel Skopelos

Address: Hora, 370 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skopelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Skopelos
Price Range: $75 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ionia Hotel Skopelos 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In green Skopelos can Even when staying in the town of Skopelos to feel the magic of the emerald island. The amazing country with its traditional architecture, hospitable residents and easy access to the beauties of the island, ideal for an unforgettable holiday. The old part of Hora, 150m. from the port we chose to build the IONIA Hotel. Built in traditional style, on four levels so that all rooms have views of Chora. It is fully renovated in 2007 and features 47 rooms with spacious verandas, bathroom, air (cooling-heating), refrigerator, TV, pool, breakfast room, bar, snack bar, lounge, TV and parking. The impeccable service and traditional hospitality will make your holiday unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ionia Hotel Skopelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing