We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
129
54
17
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
54
17
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area every other day harbour front small bar cobbled streets good points not hesitate to recommend this hotel yogurt small hotel bit boring water front bars and restaurants walking difficulties good size fresh bread room key hidden door
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The hotel is well run, very clean and the staff are really helpful and friendly. The pool area is small and I can imagine it gets busy in peak season. Our room was on the ground floor near to the main entrance and was quite noisey on departure and arrival days so if possible ask for a room on the higher floors or away from recepetion.
The bar is small but comfortable and offers hot and cold food, and coffees along with beers and spirits.
Breakfast was plentiful although it did not change all week it was still good and always fresh.
The hotel is midway up the town of Skopelos and the walk up takes you past small shops and restaurants through residential areas and up to the hotel. Going back down from the hotel takes you back to the prot and harbour which has many cafes and taverna's most of which look out onto the harbour side.
The walk to the harbour should take no more than ten minutes so if you like a walk and enjoy taking in the local scenery then this is the hotel for you, a really friendly place which I would definatley go back to.

Room Tip: The higher floors will have better views and you wont hear so much noise on departure day.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveH3330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DimitraKalivioti, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Ionia Hotel Skopelos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear Mr Steve H,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel!
We look forward to welcoming you back at Ionia hotel in the near future!

Yours sincerely,
Dimitra Kalivioti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Visited Skopelis in 2009 and stayed at the Ionia hotel and had a brilliant time, decided to visit the island again at beginning of September for 11 nights and had no hesitation after reading the reviews for the hotel to stay there again.
I emailed the hotel as I was concerned about some comments regarding the hardness of the mattress and requested a double bed so I emailed the hotel, Dimitra replied back almost immediately assuring me that a soft mattress would be provided, and we would be delighted with our room which was on the 3rd floor, had a double bed and with lovely views.
We was greeted warmly by Alexandra who we had a chat with then went up to our room. We where totally delighted with our room and the bathroom was a big improvement since our last stay.
We met Dimitra later that evening who welcomed us also and was very helpful throughout our stay giving up tips on where to eat and all where spot on!
All the staff are friendly and the maid (sorry I didn't get her name) who look after us did a great job of keeping our room spotless, towels and bedding are changed all the time
Previous reviews moaned about the lack of choice at breakfast, yes it is quite limited but it is a 2* hotel and I wouldn't expect more, what was there was fine, suppose a bit more fresh fruit rather than tinned would have been nice
The hotel is situated in a perfect spot, nice and quiet away from the main town but only a 5 minute stroll to the start of the town where there are many places to eat and drink.
Our first night was the only bad experience we had when eating out, once Dimitra had steered us where to go every meal was very good such as Alexandra's (our favourite and just a little walk from the hotel) Rodi,& Angelo's to name a few
Had a car for 8 days and lovely going to different places/beaches each day.
Kastani and Limoni where our favourite beaches, Glossa is a lovely place to visit also.
The island seemed to still be recovering in certain places from the bad storm they had in September 2015 which caused considerable damage but in no way did this spoil any part of our holiday

If we return to Skopelos which I am sure we will we will book the Ionia without hesitation

Room Tip: Higher floors get better view
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dollyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DimitraKalivioti, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Ionia Hotel Skopelos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dear Mrs Dollyden,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extended and adorable review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Ionia Hotel and we appreciate you giving so many details, especially regarding our service standards! The pure guest orientated mentality molds this “feel like home” scenery! Your recommendations on how to best enjoy your stay are outstanding and truly appreciated. Skopelos is for sure a great destination and has so much to offer.
It's great to hear that you felt most welcome and at home in our timeless residential atmosphere and the fact that you plan to return in the future is most satisfying to us.

Until then, thanks once again and best wishes!
Dimitra Kalivioti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Friendly and helpful staff - great location. The harbour is a short walk away, as is the bus-station (useful if you want to visit the beaches and do not rent a car)

The breakfast is ok and as expected. The outside bar is great. Rooms are clean and kept clean. Really quiet. Great value.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank haakonlorentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DimitraKalivioti, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Ionia Hotel Skopelos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dear guests,
We are pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a wonderful stay. It is our goal to have guests leave happy and surprised and think about their next trip back.

Kind Regards,
Dimitra Kalivioti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Two week holiday in Skiathos. Went on a day trip to Skopelos and fell in love with it. Happened upon Ionia Hotel and decided to stay for a couple of nights.
All of the staff were so friendly and helpful, and a pool and car park in the centre of everything.
Next time will come for our whole holiday, rather than just a short break.
Great breakfast, everywhere was so clean, and I can't say enough good things about Reception/bar/breakfast and room cleaning staff.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DimitraKalivioti, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Ionia Hotel Skopelos, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Mrs Louise M ,

Thank you for the time spent to post this review about your holidays in Skopelos and Ionia Hotel. We are very glad knowing that you had such a great holiday.
We try to do our best so as to satisfy all our guests.
We hope to see you again some time in the future.

Best Regards
Dimitra Kalivioti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Just returned yesterday from another holiday at the ionia hotel and it just keeps getting better and better our room on the third floor had nice views from the balcony plenty of wardrobe space and draws and electric sockets it was very very clean towels changed one day sheets the next etc the whole hotel is spotlessly clean great pool comfortable sun loungers and tables and chairs decent wifi great breakfasts if you need anything just ask at reception the lovely Alexandria and her lovely daughter Dimitria are so nice and so helpful in fact all the staff at this hotel are great cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank psd_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DimitraKalivioti, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Ionia Hotel Skopelos, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review posted and we value a lot the unbiased opinion of our guests giving us the possibility to improve our services and meet better our guests’ expectations.
Kindly be assured of our best efforts to provide top class service to our valued clients.
We would be delighted to welcome you again!

Yours sincerely,
Dimitra Kalivioti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews