We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
129
54
17
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
54
17
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area every other day harbour front small bar cobbled streets good points not hesitate to recommend this hotel yogurt small hotel bit boring water front bars and restaurants walking difficulties good size fresh bread room key hidden door
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We spent one week at Ionia Hotel. We had a pleasant stay and the service was excellent.

We would call it a 3 star hotel, if we compare it with other hotels in Greece.

Negative:
1.The shower was not properly cleaned, the beds were hard and electric wires were hanging out from a hole in the wall: - very dangerous if we had children!
2.Not located near a beach.

Positive:
1.Nice balcony
2.Good breakfast, including Greek yoghurt and honey.
3.We had our own fridge in the room and we used it to store grocery and water.
4.The service on the hotel was nice! We had to leave before breakfast and then the staff offered to put some sandwiches in our fridge (We talked to the reception the day before departure).
5.The pool area was nice and on two occasions we were the only ones in the pool area.
6.Free parking outside the hotel.

The beach in Skopelos is very small, so we recommend that you rent a car. We can especially recommend limonari beach and limonari taverna. This small taverna had very good food. The sunbeds are free for all taverna guests. We also recommenda trip to the Mamma mia church. Skopelos is a very beautiful and green island with crystal clear water :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
10  Thank cecilia_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

After reading lots of reviews on Trip Advisor and finding we had left it very late to book any decent hotels mentioned for Skopelos, we had to settle for the Ionia. It was within our budget and its own website made it seem quite nice. We arrived in the middle of the night after travelling for over ten hours by bus and boat, and found the hotel was at the top of a very steep hill that cars could not access. That's part and parcel of staying in some of these older cities, but it would have been nice to know that before we arrived. Check in was painless, but the room was very old, dated and tiny, and not overly cheap for the very poor quality. Breakfast consisted of bread, ham, cheese and cereals and again was fairly ordinary considering we had paid less for far better accommodation and breakfast on other similar Greek islands. Staff spoke quite good English and were helpful with giving us directions. They did have free wi-fi but it was only accessible in the main reception area, not in the rooms. The pool is fairly small and was frequented by loud little kids and next-to-naked seniors on our visit, so we didn't stay long there. We hired a car for the time we were there and drove around the island, which is absolutely beautiful. My tip? Book well in advance for the two or three hotels on the island worth staying at.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seewhatsoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I chose the Ionia based on fellow TA reviews and have to register our disappointment caused by a few frustrating aspects.

If you are offered the keys to room 114, don't accept them. The room is immediately to the left of the stairs up to reception and shares a partition wall with the hotel laundry beneath reception. The constant drone of a tumble drier throughout the night was confirmation of this.

We challenged reception on the size of the bathroom which had a huge sink which you had to tuck your knees under to be able to sit correctly on the toilet and then rest your elbows on the sink. It's only redeeming feature would be if you were suffering from sickness and diarrhoea! We were told that every bathroom was the same but a number of our fellow guests said that this was not the case.

Whether by the pool or the bar, our eardrums were assaulted by round the clock disco anthems and rap music. A number of us asked for some Greek music which eventually happened after a couple of days. Breakfast lacked imagination with no variation throughout the stay.

A couple of the wooden slats which supported the mattress fell onto the floor which we replaced ourselves. In doing so, we noticed that none of them were attached to the bed but just balanced.

Due to having to catch the ferry back to Skiathos at 07:15, we were due to be picked up at 06:30, only to find reception locked and no one on duty. We were issued with TV and air conditioning remote controls on arrival which we were unable to return on departure, so we left them on the floor outside reception with our room key. A couple of our fellow departing guests' passports were still in their safe deposit box which they couldn't access as a result. Fortunately, the transfer driver rang the owner to open up reception so they could retrieve their possessions before the ferry sailed.

There was no doom and gloom away from the hotel as Skopelos is a lovely island with friendly people and splendid scenery, whilst Mamma Mia! Fever still grips the island continues to generate revenue through the number of visitors.

We found an excellent place to eat which was recommended to us by the Dolphin rep who met us on arrival, as there were no Thompson reps on the island. Her recommendation was not just the big sell as we found her there with her family. I will detail this restaurant separately.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jthain58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I am not sure how this hotel can be classified a a 3 star hotel. I am greek, and i have stayed in better rented rooms rather than that. The room was terrible, the bed and pillows was so hard as if they were made out of stone, the bathroom facilities were broken! Having a swimming pool, and including breakfast can not justify the 60 euros per day.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antmatsoukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Agree with most of what previous reviews have said:
First the good points:
1) Fantastic location within 1 mins walk of town and 5 of harbour. To get to the hotel from the ferry. With sea behind you cross road and walk up narrow lane to the right of the children's playground. Walk up the hill (you will pass a shop selling rugs on your left) keep going up the hill until you reach a T junction, turn right, at the next T junction turn right again and the hotels is about 50m on your right. Takes about 5 - 10 mins, there are no steps so easy to tow a suitcase. if you prefer you can take a taxi (50m on left from port entrance) but be prepared to wait, we were charged 5€.
2) Lovely pool, very welcome on a hot day and we had no problem getting a sun bed and there are plenty of seats in the shade.
3) Very helpful staff, especially Alexandra

Not so good:
1) Yes the beds were hard but softened by laying the duvets under the sheet, but again comfy beds are down to personal preferences anyway.
2) Breakfast was very basic but it was enought to start the day off and the quality of the tavernas for later in the day made up for it.

As for eating out we only had time for 2 meals, we thought the sea front places were very hot and noisy. We had a very good meal at Annas, lovely courtyard setting, its about 5 mins walk from hotel. (look out for signs as you wander around Skopelos town). A little bit more expensive than most places (they don't sell wine by the carafe but we had a very good bottle of rose for 13€) Also try Alexante very extensive menu. (from the hotel turn right and then left, its about 1 min away).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SRewse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews