We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location .luxury dining room and barbecue tavern”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“superb location .luxury dining room and barbecue tavern”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Even in late Fall this hotel is a delight.Large fireplace near the lobby area and a huge dining room with a piano bar.The rooms are large and modern.The breakfast buffet is a real treat for continental tastes with the local pastries and honey.I will go back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    225
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
365
425
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, AZ
Level Contributor
223 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Don’t be fooled by the Best Western name; thinking it might be a run of the mill hotel, it’s superb. We stayed here for one night to visit the ancient site of Olympia. The hotel’s location is perfect for the visit. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and the staff was friendly and most helpful. The room was spacious compared to many European hotel rooms we’ve stayed in. It had everything you would want, including large flat screen TV, mini bar, large bathroom, sitting area, large comfortable bed, and a nice view from the small balcony. The restaurant was very nice and reminded us of the restaurants you find in the Paradores of Spain. We were here in December so there were not many guests. The hotel has a large and beautiful swimming pool, but December is not the time for taking a dip. It seems that the hotel probably caters to large tour groups during the high season, but that was not an issue for us. The staff was warm and hospitable and made you feel welcome and secure. The site itself was simply amazing and we were fortunate to have nice weather for photos. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to ancient Olympia.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is one of the best hotels I have been to in Europe (for the price, of course). It has delightful rooms with terraces, it is in a beautiful place, the service could not be better and, for me as a swimmer, the swimming pool is of a decent size. I was alone in it at middday, after visiting the magnificent site. Also, the restaurant was beautiful, in an open air terrace that smelled of jasmine and the food was fine. The breakfast was almost ridiculously varied and abundant and very good (especially fruit and yogurt were lavish)

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool but not right ON it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagaPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,109 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,654 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I visited Olympia in mid-September in 100+ degree weather. Upon arrival at the Hotel Europa my group and I were hot and tired. We had spent much of the day at Delphi climbing the ruins on the slopes of Mt. Parnassus. So when we discovered our hotel high on a hillside in a garden setting we were ecstatic. We were assigned our rooms quickly and headed for the hotel's Olympic sized swimming pool with poolside bar and taverna - just what we needed to revive us. This pool is splendid, deep, and altogether refreshing. There are plenty of poolside lounges, tables, and other amenities. The garden surrounding the pool is filled with flowering plants, fruit trees, and inviting plantings.

My room was #203 with a terrace overlooking the garden and pool. The room is split level with the bed and bath on the upper level and the sofa and writing desk three steps down. Lighting in the room was good and included indirect lighting above the wooden joists in the ceiling. The color scheme was refreshing with white painted walls, blond woodwork, and grey floors. Drapes were soft yellow sheer jacquard and bedding all in white. Sheets were ironed. Honestly, this touch made me feel like the Duchess of Windsor. The bath was richly appointed with a black and white marble vanity, slate-like floor, and excellent hot water with strong water pressure.

The room included amenities like refrigerator and mini bar, blow drier, and safe. The public rooms are spacious and comfortable. The main floor included a large reception area and computer stations adjacent. A few steps down to a busy taverna where Constantine made excellent drinks and shared stories with us about his life in Greece.

One floor above reception housed a very large dining room where we enjoyed buffet dinners two evenings. Food was plentiful with a variety of choices including several meat dishes, wonderful salads, and six or eight side dishes that included superb Pastitsio and Moussaka. Breakfast was also served in this room and included scrambled or boiled eggs, very good bacon, mouthwatering croissants and superb fig jam.

The morning of our departure found us sorry to leave this wonderful hotel. This was one of the most enjoyable places we stayed in Greece. The hotel's location is a bit isolated from town. It's not within walking distance, a minor drawback when you consider the pool and other amenities here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I recently visited Olympia and decided to stay in Best Western Hotel - mostly thanks to all reviews I read in TA.
I confirm whatever it has been said: excellent location on top of the hill, nice and spacious rooms all with view to the big swimming pool and I strongly recommend the restaurant ! Do not miss it.
Breakfast full of home made cakes and marmalade .... so ... a good choice overall.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ursulapola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.3 km away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
368 reviews
0.4 km away
Olympion Asty
Olympion Asty
#2 of 15 in Olympia
280 reviews
1.1 km away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
436 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
450 reviews
1.9 km away
Amalia Hotel Olympia
Amalia Hotel Olympia
#7 of 15 in Olympia
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Drouva 1, Olympia 270 65, Greece (Formerly BEST WESTERN Europa Hotel)
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Olympia
#1 Family Hotel in Olympia
Price range (per night): $124 - $166
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel is set among the enchanting landscape of Ancient Olympia. It is ideally located to visit the important sites of the area and enjoy the natural beauty of the mountain and coast of West Peloponnese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympia
Olympia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing