We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flippin' Philippion”
Review of Hotel Philippion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Philippion
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Reviewed 3 August 2017

It is early August and peak season. The pool has been closed for a day and a half due to "ph problem". The water looks green and it has had "medicine" put in it, presumably to kill the algae.
I am not sure I want to go in it.
The hotel itself was probably good in its day, but now tired. Aircon is free and works well. Breakfast buffet is a mixture of continental style and eggs, ok for about 5 quid a day I suppose.
It is very isolated and you will need a car. First shuttle bus to town during the week is at 4.30pm, last back is 11.30pm. Takes about 15 minutes, definitely not walkable. Nothing else around to walk to.
This is not the first review to mention a problem with the pool, you have been warned.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Leifer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017

We stayed in this hotel for 10 days in March 2017. It is a bit outdated and need refurbish, I agree. But there was an amazing view from every room, rooms were clean and taken care of every day, food was brilliant, traditional and quite big choice. Staff was also very nice and helpful.
nice outside gardens ideal for having coffee and getting some tan.
there is a bus running to city and then back from city couple of times a day; also you can take a taxi for less than 10€ (during the day; at night around 12-13€).
wifi was working well, although it was not working in some rooms.
i recommend this hotel as it was a good choice; food was nice and we had a great time there

Room Tip: I think rooms on the third floor have the best view; however we stayed on the first floor and view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank zur3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

The hotel is situated quite far from the city, on a hill, but you have the hotel shuttle if you need to get there. I had gorgeous view of the sea. The rooms were big and the breakfast very tasty!
It could use some refurbishment, though, since it seems stuck in another era, but all in all a good experience.
The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IGS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Hotel located in a very nice place; surrounding by the trees, looking at the Thessaloniki from a higher place. It's far away from the city center and very quiet. There is hotel's shuttle or you need your own car to reach there. It is an old hotel which needs refurbishment.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank gonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed one night in September 2016. The location was very good, nice surrounding and view to the town. Parking for cars available and safeguarded by a policemen. The staff at the reception is very helpful. Rooms are OK. The infrastructure needs some update. Breakfast is fresh and tasty.

Room Tip: ask for a view ever the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekrem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
5.1 km away
Rotonda Hotel
Rotonda Hotel
#31 of 58 in Thessaloniki
282 reviews
3.2 km away
Byzantio Hotel
Byzantio Hotel
#34 of 58 in Thessaloniki
50 reviews
4.0 km away
Telioni Hotel
Telioni Hotel
#45 of 58 in Thessaloniki
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hotel Nea Metropolis
Hotel Nea Metropolis
#42 of 58 in Thessaloniki
190 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Kinissi Palace
Hotel Kinissi Palace
#36 of 58 in Thessaloniki
146 reviews
3.9 km away
Davitel Tobacco Hotel
Davitel Tobacco Hotel
#26 of 58 in Thessaloniki
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Thessaloniki

Been to Hotel Philippion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philippion

Address: Antheon | Lofos Seih Sou, Thessaloniki 56610, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range: $78 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Philippion 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Philippion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing