We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fun taste of Santorini living.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of OdysseysHouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
16 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
TVTravelG...
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dishonest Hotel Owner and Deceptive Description”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in November 2016
13
people found this review helpful

Victoria: housekeeper
Odysseas Agalakis: Hotel Owner

I was volunteering in 3 different countries (England, Germany, and Greece) for refugees. At the end of the 3 months, my husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a vacation in Santorini, Greece. As an unpaid volunteer, I was looking for a budget option, but also a clean and hygienic hotel near the beach.

We booked Odysseys House from 5-8 November, 2016. We found a great deal on Orbitz and the photos looked magnificent. We were thrilled to go on our much deserved vacation.

Unfortunately, on arrival, we discovered the owner of Odysseys House was deceptive and dishonest in the Orbitz listing of the hotel’s photos, the description, and the charges.

1. The listing clearly states that airport pickup is round-trip per person 5 euros. However, after booking the hotel, the owner emailed us that the airport pickup will be 20 euros one-way.
2. The listing shows photos of the hotel we booked as a full home with multiple bedrooms, a blue tiled large bathroom with tub, a living room with a sofa, and a full kitchen with stainless steel appliances. However, when we arrived, the housekeeper gave us keys to a loft in the attic of the house. The loft had a small kitchenette, a bed (which was just a mattress) which could only be reached by unstable stairs, a small cramped and very basic bathroom which was so small that the shower head was on top of the toilet!, and the drawers and cabinets were filled with the owner’s personal items, documents, medications, creams, etc.

When we told the housekeeper that we did not book a loft, and that we booked the full home with multiple bedrooms, she asked for proof. I showed her my booking confirmation as well as photos of the description of the booking we made.

After several hours, the housekeeper came back and gave us keys to the actual multiple-bedroom home we had booked. However, the owner also visited and screamed at us aggressively saying that we do not deserve this multiple-bedroom home because she usually rents it out for more money. The owner said that she double-booked this multi-bedroom home and now she has to throw us out to accommodate another married couple that is arriving the next day. She told us that we have to take the small loft in the attic.

The owner, from the moment she walked into the home, was aggressive and foul with her language towards my husband and me. We were stunned at her behavior and her language.

My husband and I explained to her that we will not leave the multi-bedroom home and shift to the small Loft in the Attic. We told her that it wasn’t our fault that she double-booked her hotel. We told her that if double-booked, we recommend that she notify her incoming guests immediately before they land tomorrow.

The photos I am attaching include:
1. Confirmation of our hotel booking
2. Hotel statement of airport round-trip transportation at 5 euros per person
3. Email from hotel owner increasing airport transportation cost and making it a one-way cost.
4. Photos the hotel listed on Orbitz (very deceptive)
5. Photos we took of the small Loft in the Attic of the home that the housekeeper tried to convince us to stay in.

Additionally, this hotel is not in main Santorini. From the hotel to the main beach city center, downhill, it is a 25 minute walk. From the main beach city center back to the hotel, it is uphill, and it is over an hour walk. My husband and I are both healthy and fit, and that is the amount of time it took us to walk.

Get a hotel in the main beach city center area—that is where the main bus station is, all the restaurants and cafes, access to the beach, shops, sightseeing shuttles. There is nothing around this hotel. Do not book this hotel. We will never stay in this hotel ever again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jrtronrud
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fun taste of Santorini living.”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were certainly more than impressed with the location of this house. Our initial expectations were that we had rented a large space for our family of 9 adults at the sacrifice of location. The reality was that we had found a real gem of a home in a great location. Located at the north entrance into the main pathways to the old city we had easy walking access to everything we desired. This truly was a wonderful surprise that I had not seen in any other review. As for the overall experience I would say this is a lovely island home. The main house has 3 bedrooms and one bath. The Sofitas on the roof are a pair of one bedroom, one bath rooms. Thus creating the 5 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. They were nice bedrooms to sleep however once you shower in the main home the bedroom showers will feel cramped. In summary, you may not have ALL the comforts of home but this comes really close for the price. I would certainly recommend this to anyone that is looking for accommodations for a larger group.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Many thanks for your kind words
We would be extremelly happy to have you again in our house

All the best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulinecu...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“great location very good accomodation”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

my daughter and her family had the main villa very spacious and well equipt I had a the flat upstairs very comfortable good shower very adequate for me the area is lovely odyssey very friendly he very kindly gave us a lift to my nieces wedding no charge we had a great holiday in santorini

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
thank you
Respectfully
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie5454
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worked out ok”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The location was convenient and the house was adequate and a reasonable price. This was not as advertised though there is only 3 bathrooms if you book for 10 and then 2 of these are separate upstairs rooms outside the house. There are 3 bedrooms with 1 bathroom in the main house. The barbecue does not work and the dishwasher only warms up. We were however looked after very well by Vana who came in every day. All in all we felt it was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alibarbar...
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
790 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
“Deceptive advertising & mold ”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this property based on a low price for a 5 BR home which would sleep 10 people-which escalated after we made the booking for only 3. We paid 150 per night which had to be paid in advance.
What is not explained is there are 3 separate bookable apartments. I even asked for clarification and the owner said we would have the "whole house." What we had was the downstairs 3 bedroom unit, while other noisy guests got the upper 1 br lofts. You can hear the washing machine, talking, walking, etc through the ceiling.
There is one king bed, which is quite comfortable as long as you don't move. The sheets are not big enough. The other beds are doubles and are quite firm.
The bathroom, living room,and at least one of the bedrooms
has a serious mold problem. There is a snail living on the bathroom wall. Though the unit seemed clean on our arrival, the floor made our socks black and there was no cleaning supplies.
The kitchen is very nice with good working appliances. Though they are with German or Greek words, we were able to use YouTube to find out how to use them. There were no hot pads or dish towels.
There is a washer, though it left our clothing smelling rancid. The drying racks are attached to the upstairs lofts. It would have been helpful to have o e in our unit.
The wifi is the best we had throughout Europe- we could even watch Amazon videos.
The location is very convenient for someone not wanting to rent a car- you can get on the walking trail across the street,and go to Fira or Oia. We rented a car and were able to park at the house.
I would not recommend anyone renting if you have allergies to mold. We had little contact with the owner during our visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thanks for your comments
According to the daily rate you afford this is the best choice of tho whole island
Wishing you next time to find what you really like and enjoy it better
during your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing